Handling Materials from the Rare Books and Archives Collections
1) Materials from the Rare Books and Archives collections should only be worked on at your workstation or in a workspace in Rare Books or Archives.
2) When handling Rare Books and Archives materials at your workstation, all food and liquid should be stored in such a way that no contact may be made with the items, such as in either your metal storage unit or the staff breakroom.
3) When handling Rare Books and Archives materials at your workstation, ensure that your desk is clean and free of any food, liquid, or other substances that might damage the materials.
4) When you leave work for the day, please make sure the materials are secured in a locked area.
Resources for cataloging special materials
DCRMR: Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (RDA Edition)
Descriptive standards for cataloging rare materials (~pre-1800). Currently in a minimally viable status and only applies to books, but the intention is for this to eventually cover all formats.
DCRM(MSS): Descriptive Cataloging of Rare Materials (Manuscripts)
Descriptive standards for cataloging manuscripts.
Controlled Vocabulary for Rare Materials Cataloging
Controlled vocabulary developed specifically with rare materials in mind, but can be used for any material. Replaced the previous six RBMS controlled vocabularies.
Rare Books and Manuscripts Relationship Designators
Controlled vocabulary of relationship designators developed for rare materials. Replaced the previous RBMS Relationship Designators list.
Database of Latin place names found in pre-1801 book imprints matched to their RDA-appropriate place names.
Database of personal and corporate names and places, including variants, found in imprints before the middle of the nineteenth century.
Standard Citation Forms for Rare Materials Cataloging
Database of standardized forms for citing bibliographies and catalogs in 510 fields.
Copy cataloging project procedures for SPC
SPC Inventory & MCSCAP procedures
Retrospective cataloging of SPC monographic materials being relocated offsite to PASCAL. Initially, these will be items that were placed in the basement from the general stacks.
Retrospective cataloging of SPC monographic materials for uncataloged ("uncat") items located in the SPC general stacks and in the SPC Annex on the third floor.
Incomplete list of SPC named collections and their required notes. Intended for use by catalogers working on specific SPC projects.
Western Federation of Miners collection procedures
These procedures are undated but still useful for cataloging items for this Archives collection.
Materials related to the creation of MARC records for archival finding aids.
SPC 001 global update - Procedures for globally updating and running report every 6 months to ensure that "spc" appears before the OCLC number in the 001 of Sierra bib records with bib Location that includes spc.
Superceded documentation
SPC Inventory procedures 7.16 - superseded by SPC MCSCAP inventory and Uncats procedures 4.18. Previous, 7.16, procedures concerned retro cataloging of monographs in SPC stacks.
In Folio Item record. Mark as
Withdrawn
Confirm
In Item record
Edit
Suppress from discovery
Add Statistical code
RECM (Record management): withdrawn
Suppress from discovery
Save & close
If this was only item in same Holdings location
View Holdings
Edit
Suppress from discovery
Save & Close
Return to Instance
If no other copies or instances
Edit Instance
Suppress from discovery
Open record in OCLC
Delete holdings
Stamp all withdrawn pieces with “Withdrawn by CU…” on second or so page inside.
Note: Many are items not in FOLIO but have note in a “bib record”. Be careful not to delete “slap” items with P#s in PASCAL Reading Room.
Check “bib record” and delete fields with the note referring to the deleted RAD item.
Place the withdrawn piece on the turquoise cart in front of Juleah’s office.