Skip to Main Content

Research & Innovation Strategies

NACO for copy cataloging

Be sure to submit the following for NACO work, before completing your editing in the OCLC record:

Personal names:

  1. Compound surnames (i.e., person uses two last names, or you suspect a middle name may be a last name)
  2. Names that present a conflict in our database (two people with the same name and access point)
  3. Variant names found on piece
  4. Names for which there is an authority record, but you suspect that the person associated with the piece is not the person represented in the authority record.

Uniform/Preferred tItles:

Translations of single original titles. Do not submit uniform titles with "Works" or "Selections."

Corporate names:

All corporate names, including conferences, that do not have an authority record.

NACO for NACO catalogers

General Documentation

NACO (Name Authority Cooperative Program) - Links to the main page of the Library of Congress for NACO and includes documentation & updates, resources, FAQs, etc.

NACO best practices for the 024 field

NACO Participants' Manual, 4th Edition

NACO training modules

NACO series training

Descriptive Cataloging Manual Section Z1 and LC Guidelines Supplement to MARC 21 Format for Authority Data

H 405 Establishing Certain Entities in the Name or Subject Authority File

PCC Guidelines for the Application of Relationship Designators in NACO Authority Records

ALA-LC Romanization Tables

Summary of Programmatic Changes to the LC/NACO Authority File: What LC-PCC RDA Catalogers need to know (to assist in evaluating and re-coding NARs created using pre-RDA rules)

Describing Persons

Metadata Best Practices for Trans and Gender Diverse Resources

Revised Report on Recording Gender in Personal Name Authority Records

Compound Surnames: IFLA’s Names of Persons Service 

Literary Author Numbers

LC/NACO Practice for Creating NARs for Persons Who Use Pseudonyms

Undifferentiated Personal Names (DCM Z1 008/32)

Find a Grave (useful for finding birth and/or death dates)

Authority Control FAQs for Catalogers Contacting Creators/Contributors

Describing Corporate Bodies

MARC Authority 046 Subfield Values for Corporate Bodies and Conferences ($q, r, s, t)

RDA Refresher Training at LC : Special Topics : Conferences (last updated in 2012)

Government-Designated Parks, Forests, etc.

Indigenous Tribal Entities Recognized by the U.S. Government

Describing Families

Family Search (free if you create an account)

Describing Places

GNIS (prefer for U.S. place names, use conventional form if available)

Geoscience Australia Place Name Search (use for Australian place names)

Canadian Geographical Names Database (use for Canadian place names)

Geographic Names Server (GNS) (use of Great Britain place names as well as place names in other locations)

New Zealand Gazetteer (use for New Zealand place names)

Bounding Box Tool

Describing Works and Expressions

PCC Policy on Compilations of Works by One Agent

FAQ on Authorized Access Points for Collections of the Works of Individual Agents and Works of Unknown Responsibility that Purport to be by an Individual Agent

Constructing Authorized Access Points for Works and Expressions

Authorized Access Points for Complete Works and for Selections (MARC Coding examples)

Look Up Identifiers:

Orcid

VIAF

ISNI

Wikidata

PCC Home Page: https://www.loc.gov/aba/pcc/

PCC Strategic Directions 2023-2027: https://www.loc.gov/aba/pcc/about/PCC-Strategic-Directions-2023-2027.pdf

PCC Guiding Principles for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion for Metadata Creation:    https://www.loc.gov/aba/pcc/resources/DEI-guiding-principles-for-metadata-creation.pdf

NACO Home Page: https://www.loc.gov/aba/pcc/naco/index.html

NACO Advisory Group: https://www.loc.gov/aba/pcc/naco/NACOAdvisoryGroup.html

  • a PCC group that monitors PCC listserv discussion of NACO-related topics, and provides input when a NACO-related topic appears to be unresolved, unanswered, or ambiguously answered, in routine PCC listserv discussion.

BIBCO Home Page: https://www.loc.gov/aba/pcc/bibco/index.html

CONSER Home Page: https://www.loc.gov/aba/pcc/conser/index.html

SACO Home Page: https://www.loc.gov/aba/pcc/saco/index.html

 

  • PCC- Program for Cooperative Cataloging
  • NACO- Authority Cooperative Program
  • BIBCO- Monographic Bibliographic Record Program
  • CONSER- cooperative Serials Program
  • SACO- Subject Authority Cooperative Program
  • CDS- Cataloging Distribution Service
  • NAR- Name authority record
  • AAP – Authorized access point
  • VAP – Variant access point
  • BFM - Bibliographic file maintenance
  • LC-PCC PS: Library of Congress-Program for Cooperative Cataloging Policy Statement
  • LCNAF - Library of Congress Name Authority File

 

Compiling PCC Statistics - link to Sharepoint document for instructions on compiling statistics

PCC statistics are compiled and reported in the PCC Directory monthly for these categories:

NACO Statistics

  • New NAR

  • New SAR

  • Changed NAR

  • Changed SAR

(Note: beginning January 2020, we ceased collecting LCSH headings stats)

BIBCO Statistics

  • New BIBCO records

  • Changed BIBCO records (only existing BIBCO records with “042  pcc”)

CONSER Statistics

  • New CONSER records
  • Changed CONSER records

 

Stats reported - a local spreadsheet summarizing the statistics reported each month

 

Other links/resources for: PCC Statistics

Google form for submitting local PCC stats.

Google spreadsheet for total local PCC stats

CONSER stats - local link to current year's CONSER stats

Guidelines for entering statistics in the PCC Directory

PCC Directory for entering PCC stats

PCC Statistics (totals for BIBCO, CONSER, NACO, SACO)

 

 

 

 

NACO policies

When Should an Authorized Access Point Be Changed, 2016

Series authority records: suggested local guidelines, 2013
Guidelines for Reporting NACO BFM
Responsibilities of Fully Independent Members of the Program for Cooperative Cataloging

LCCN assignment spreadsheet - use when authorizing CONSER records. New list received each calendar year.