Maps are cataloged at the Map Library. Atlases are cataloged in RDS, after receiving they are placed on the labeled cataloging shelf along the east wall in N110. If you have questions about whether something should be cataloged as an Atlas or Book, please consult one of the Gov Doc catalogers or your supervisor.
Cartographic Materials catalogers in RDS - Dresha Schaden (Maps & Atlases), Hollie Bellinger (Maps, Historical Maps)
Map Library contact - Naomi Heiser
Links to selected cartographic cataloging tools and resources
MARC Geographic area codes used in 043
Bounding Box Tool - may be used to outline an area on a map to generate the latitude and longitude of a map for the MARC 034 and 255 fields of a catalog record
Map Librarians’ Toolbox (WAML) some useful and some outdated links
Cataloging maps defensively / OCLC - (ppt slides) shows ways in which careful map cataloging can prevent incorrect merging of records by OCLC’s Duplicate Detection and Resolution (DDR) software.
LOCAL PROCEDURES
AMS map "series"
In cataloging AMS maps, the Map Library follows the Library of Congress treatment indicated below in the authority record for the Series (Standard map series designation system).*
OCLC ARN: 1328653 "Series (Standard map series designation system)"
667 The standard map series designation system is not a true series, but rather an internationally coordinated system for identification and control of series mapping produced by participating civil and military organizations. ...
667 Record the standard map series designation in a varying form of title (246 field) preceded by the standard, invariable introductory phrase: "Standard map series designation." The designation is normally recorded in the form in which it appears on the chief source; however, if either the English form of the term "series," or its equivalent in the language of a non-English title proper, does not appear on the chief source preceding the numeric or alpha/numeric portion of the designation consistently supply the missing term(s) utilizing a parallel title construction when appropriate. In constructing such entries omit brackets and close up spaces between alpha and numeric designations. For example: 1) Standard map series designation: Series G922, 2) Standard map series designation: Series K717, 3) Standard map series designation: [Series] 1139, 4) Standard map series designation: [Serie] E961 = [Series] E961, 5) Standard map series designation: Serie J921 = [Series] J921, 6) Standard map series designation: Series K031M, 7) Standard map series designation: Series DCGID.
*Be sure to include AMS edition information in the edition statement (250) and other pertinent AMS information in a Notes field.
For example, the 246 typically looks like this, where the "series" number is to the right of AMS :
Ex: 246 1_ Standard map series designation $a [Series] AMS M981
For complete examples of how this has been applied in our cataloging records, see the following bibs in FOLIO:
b10752454
b10855273
Local treatment of AMS map that has no number
If it is an AMS map (you will often see this spelled out elsewhere on the map) and it has no AMS "series" number, locally insert:
Ex: 246 1_ Standard map series designation $a [Series] AMS
Use this treatment as long as the map has an AMS edition number. Just leave there area after AMS blank where there would be a "series" number. For a FOLIO bib example, see: b10042665
Local treatment of AMS map without acronym "AMS" on it
Typically, these are maps such as the city plan maps that have "Army Map Services" on them, usually in the margins of the map. So that these can be found in our catalog, insert the 246 locally in the FOLIO bib for maps without "series" numbers.
Ex: 246 1_ Standard map series designation $a [Series] AMS
Add a 500 note indicating where Army Map Services appears on the map. For example:
500_ _ "Army Map Services"--Lower right margin
Locally added MARC fields
Fields to be added after bringing record into FOLIO (Inventory / Actions / Edit MARC bibliographic record)
Colorado Historical Maps - When instructed to do so by Map Library, for maps in the Colorado Historical Maps collection, insert a local 730 note in FOLIO MARC record:
730 0 _Colorado Historical Maps Collection
(Rev. 10/11/2022. Changed to 730 0_ from u793 0_ to accommodate EDS; 6/20/2023 FOLIO. dh)
Map Library instruction - When instructed to do so by Map Library, insert a 590 note as follows in designated map records:
590 _ _Map Library instruction
Donated maps - donor information for maps donated as gifts:
541_ _Gift of [donor's first and last name]
700 1_[Donor last name, first name] $e donor
(Check OCLC authority record for donor's name.)
Archives maps - Notes are inserted in maps that were part of named collections originally housed in Archives and that are now part of the Map Library's collection.
Maps transferred from collections in the Archives should contain a local 561 note:
561_ _Transferred from the Archives, University of Colorado Boulder Libraries, July 2004 [map case__rack__map__etc.]
Collection names should be put in a local 561 note:
561_ _Charles A. Wolcott Papers
561_ _Edward Christopher Weatherly Papers
561_ _Hall, Babbitt and Thayer Collection
561 _ _Harrison Cobb Map Collection
561 _ _James F. Willard collection
561_ _John F. Campion Papers
561_ _Mary Phyllis Bullock-Webster Collection
561_ _Warren Hollingsworth McLeod papers
Note that Archives does not use Mr., Mrs., Ms., General, Doctor, or Professor in collection titles.
If you don't know a collection name, ask at the Map Library.