RDS Cataloging Manual (folders of policy and workflows)
General guidelines for monographic adaptive cataloging
Perform all basic adaptive cataloging using the OCLC Connexion client. Limit your bibliographic MARC work in FOLIO to any fields that are not present in OCLC, fields we decide to remove but need to remain in the OCLC original, and adding fields specific to local use.
Basic copy cataloging procedures follow below. Monographic print materials arrive to the RDS from Acquisitions. Catalogers locate and edit records in OCLC Connexion client to overlay the instance in FOLIO. (Detailed procedures by MARC field can be found on the MARC local treatment tab at the top of this page.)
1. Search FOLIO for record and verify
3. Editing in OCLC Online Save File
4. Local editing in FOLIO
5.Post cataloging processing - Marking/Preservation
1. Search FOLIO for record and verify
In FOLIO, search for the OCLC record that was downloaded by Acquisitions and has the barcode and order attached. Look at the record in FOLIO, but keep in mind that you will still need to search OCLC to determine if the record in FOLIO is the best match for the item in hand.
2. Search OCLC for record (see also OCLC Connexion client training, click on link to Basic Bibliographic Searching)
To be used for copy cataloging, a record must match the item you have in hand in form, content, and publisher. You’ll need to determine if there is a matching record in OCLC, or if there is no matching record. If there is no matching record, a new record will need to be created by an original cataloger.
Differences in form (print vs. microfilm vs. ebook) require a new record. Differences in content can involve revisions (true new editions) or differences in layout (including different number of pages and size for a paperback edition of the same text). Even if the same text is reprinted exactly, a different publisher will require a different record. In any situation requiring a new record, you can put the item on the Original Cataloging shelf. (See OCLC's When to input a new record.)
These are the basics of what needs to match on a record in order to use it in copy cataloging.
Check 245 title and statement of responsibility for match (punctuation need not match).
Check 250 for edition.
Check imprint, 260 or 264 $b and $c, to be sure publisher and date are the same. Place of publication can vary, but publisher and date must match your item.
Check 300 $a for a match in the number of pages. Illustrations and size in 300 $b and $c needn’t match precisely, though you may consider size in case of doubt.
If there is a 490 for the series statement (490) in the record, verify that the statement on the item matches the record. It may be paired with 8XX or not.
Once you find a matching bib record for the item in OCLC, save it to the Online Bibliographic Save File (Ctl + Alt + v). Make a note of the Save File number so you can easily locate it.
3. Editing in OCLC Online Save File
To locate the record you just saved to the Online Save File, use Ctl + F3. To locate the record, you can use the Save File number, search by title, or search by “My Status” (if needed, we can show you how to set this).
When editing a record in OCLC, use the MARC local treatment tab on this page as a guideline.
In general, you will be verifying, correcting, or adding MARC fields to the OCLC record in the Online Save File.
Determine that the title, other title information, and statement of responsibility have been transcribed correctly. Make any needed corrections.
Look at all of the access points to make sure they are spelled correctly and check that the MARC coding is correct.
Add a bibliography (504) note if missing.
Add tables of contents in a 505 if they will add value. (If adding, these can often be copied from a publisher web site and edited.)
Check classification and if none, add an appropriate Library of Congress Classification number.
Checklist for finishing the record in OCLC:
When done editing:
Control headings (Edit/Control headings). Search in authorities as needed to verify headings.
Check spelling (Tools/Check spelling)
Validate the completed record (Edit/Validate).
Actions needed for overlaying, replacing FOLIO instance bib records:
If you have edited a complex, copied record and have added value or made a significant change, then Action/Replace record in OCLC. Once that is replaced, copy the OCLC number. In Inventory in FOLIO, with the matching Instance record open, pulldown Actions menu and select "Overlay source bibliographic record", paste the OCLC number in the OCLC identifier field and click "Import" button.
In FOLIO instance record:
ACTIONS pulldown>>Edit Instance. Enter today's date for "Cataloged date"; select "Cataloged" from "Instance status term" pulldown; select appropriate "Statistical code" from the pulldown ARL code; input text string into the Administrative note field (date:YYYYMMDD catlvl:X cat:XXX). "Save & close."
CAT LEVEL. Typically you’ll type in “a” for copy cataloging or “p” for complex copy cataloging. (See CAT LEVEL codes slides 3 and 4 for definitions.) Other codes we use are n=PCC o=original. Acquisitions may use "k" and "x".
Use VuFind or FOLIO Inventory browse call number to check the Libraries' shelf list to make sure the call number isn't a duplicate and fits correctly. In the Instance, select "View holdings" button. Actions>>Edit. Make sure the "Permanent" holdings location is correct, if not select it. "call number type", select appropriate type from dropdown. Paste the call number into the field "Call number" with correct spacing and punctuation for the spine call number. "Save & close."
Revise call number locally if needed. In Instance, Actions>>Edit MARC bibliographic record and change the 050 to an 090 with the call number we are using. Save & close."
In FOLIO item record:
Back in the Instance, click on the bold Holdings with location and call number and a down arrow. You will see a barcode which you can click on to open the item record. Actions>>Edit.
If there is not a barcode yet, scan that into the field.
"Material type" is a dropdown, select the appropriate type. Enter "Copy number". If there are more than one piece, enter "Number of pieces" and briefly describe pieces in "Description of pieces". If item is part of a set, enter "Volume" with corresponding piece numbering.
Make sure "Permanent loan type" is set.
"Save & close."
5. Post cataloging processing - Marking/Preservation
When done cataloging, sort materials as follows for Marking/Preservation.
Cart:
Newly cataloged and remarks: All newly cataloged books go to Marking on this cart. This includes older items that need spine label changes, shelf-ready items with correct spine labels, and shelf-ready items with call number revisions. For revisions, use a "Please change call number to" flag and write the new call number, including location prefix, on the slip.
Shelves:
Preservation: Place on this shelf any item that needs Preservation attention. Preservation items include books with accompanying media, tip-ins, items needing repairs, pockets, or a box. Use a "For Preservation" flag and note the problem on the slip. This shelf is on the far right as you face the wall shelving in N110, above Rushes.
Rushes: Any items cataloged from this RDS shelf should be walked down to Marking and placed on their "Rushes & Holds" shelf.
Media: Any media cataloged should be walked to Marking and placed on their "Media to be Marked" shelf (above "Rushes & Holds" shelf).
MARC fields - Monograph (m) and/or Serial (s) instructions
For more information on a field and field values, click on the hyperlinked field name in OCLC's Bibliographic Formats & Standards.
| Type | m/s | Type of record |
"a" for published material. |
| BLvl | m | Bibliographic Level | "m" for monograph |
| BLvl | s | Bibliographic Level | "s" for serial |
| S/L | s | Entry convention | "0" for successive entry, occasionally "2" for integrating resources; do not use records coded '1 |
| Desc | m/s | Descriptive form | "i" if RDA, or "a" if AACR2, depending on rules used. |
| ELvl | m | Encoding level | should be an “I” since we’re making full-level records. (Do not change it to "I" if the field is blank or "8.") |
| ELvl | s | Encoding level |
If less than blank, consider authentication? |
| SrTp | s | Type of continuing resource | usually "p" for periodical or blank |
| Cont | m | Contents | check to confirm accuracy of contents. Such as adding "b" for bibliography and "c" for catalog. |
| Cont | s | Contents | relatively rare in serials |
| Ills | m | Illustrations | add "a" if illustrated |
| Biog | m | Biographical Info. | Fill in if biographical info. present |
| Indx | m | Index | "1" if item has an index. (Leave as "0" if no index.) |
| Freq / Regl | s | Frequency and Regularity | should correspond to 310; may use "no attempt to code" if needed |
| DtSt | m | Type of Date | "s" for single date, "t" for publication and copyright date, "r" for reprint/original date. Verify, correct, or add. |
| DtSt | s | Publication status | "c" for current; "d" for ceased; "u" for unknown |
| Dates | m | Date 1, Date 2 | DtSt and Dates fields work in conjunction. Note order of dates if multiple. |
| Dates | s | Date 1, Date 2 | both fields must be populated; "9999" for current publications |
| Lang | m | Language of item | Verify, correct, or add language of the item. |
| Ctry | m | Country of publication | Verify, correct, or add country of publication. |
| 007 | m | Physical description fixed field | Not typically used for print books, use of 007 dependent on bib record type |
| 020 | m | ISBN | Verify, correct, or add. No need to add parenthetical information such as "(pbk)," but retain it if it's already there. |
| 022 | ISSN | ||
| 040 | Cataloging source | Leave as is for a copied record. ("COD" appears in $a if we created the record. "COD" appears in a later subfield if we replaced it.) | |
| 041 | Language(s) of item | Verify. Only use 041 if the Lang fixed field is insufficient to convey the language(s) of the item. Always use the 041 for translations or multilingual items. | |
| 050 _4 or 090 | Classification | If 050 04 is present in master record, do not revise it. (If revision is needed, do this locally in Sierra). Add if no LC class number present. Check that call number is in the correct subject area and correlates with the subject headings on the record. Add date of publication if not present. | |
| 100, 110,111 | Main Entry: Personal/Corporate/Meeting Name | Check for authorized form and control heading. If no AR, see NACO work instructions for when to put on NACO shelf. Add relationship designator in $e if record is RDA. Accept unless obviously wrong. (Editors are added entries in (7XX), not 1XX). | |
| 130 | Uniform Title | Any conflict with the title proper must be resolved with the use of a qualifier in the 130. Note that different formats of the same work (e.g., online and print versions) should have the same work AAP. Do not qualify with (Online). AR's are not needed for 130s. | |
| 222 | s | Key Title | A unique name assigned to a resource by an ISSN registration agency. Do not edit or delete. |
| 240 | Uniform title | Verify form of entry and all subfields. If a translation of a single original title is unsupported by an AR, put on the NACO shelf for one to be created. Only 1 language in $l is allowed in RDA. | |
| 245 | Title statement | Check title, remainder of title, and statement of responsibility for accuracy. Transcribe exactly as on the resource. If main entry present (1XX ), first indicator = "1" (245 1_). If no main entry, first indicator i= " 0" (245 0_). Second indicator = number of non-filing characters (i.e., 246 14 for The sourcerer’s apprentice). Under RDA, no limit on the number of names, and no $h is allowed. | |
| 246 | Varying form of title | Alternate title to be used if appropriate (include variations important to access, e.g. spine titles, spelled out forms of words or symbols). Do not use initial articles. | |
| 247 | s | Former Title (latest entry records or Integrating Resources) | Acceptable in new cataloging for Integrating Resources only. Do not use latest entry records for serials. |
| 250 | Edition Statement | Verify, correct, or add if appropriate. Edition number must match. Must be transcribed exactly as on the resource; abbreviations used only if found on the resource. | |
| 264 or 260 | Production, Publication, Distribution, Manufacture, and Copyright Notice | Check publisher location, name, and date of publication. Match any form of the publisher name. Date must match. Can retain existing 260, or change to 264 if editing. Supply additional 264's as needed under RDA. | |
| 300 | Physical Description | Verify, correct, or add. Accept ill. for illustrations. Fill in for C.I.P. records. Under RDA, spell out terms with the exception of "cm" | |
| 310/321 | Current/Former Frequency | Use $b for dates if multiple frequencies. Do not use "frequency varies" in new cataloging. Fixed fields for freq and regl should match 310. See http://www.oclc.org/bibformats/en/fixedfield/freq.html for common frequencies and their appropriate coding | |
| 336 | Content Type | Verify, correct, or add for RDA records. | |
| 337 | Media Type | Verify, correct, or add for RDA records. | |
| 338 | Carrier Type | Verify, correct, or add for RDA records. | |
| 362 | m | Dates of Publication and/or Sequential Designation | Include if resource is part of a series. If so, enter series title and volume info. as it appears on the resource. Trace it in 830 for authorized form of series title. (If no series authority record, put it on the NACO shelf.) |
| 362 | s | Dates of Publication and/or Sequential Designation | Prefer unformatted (2nd indicator 1). Combine began with and ceased with in same 362, separated by a semicolon. Questionable information is acceptable, e.g., Began in 1992? |
| 490 | Series statement | Verify, correct, or add. This should reflect the form of the series statement as it appears on the item. If traced, use with 800-830. When there is a 490 with first indicator 0 and a corresponding 830 change the first indicator in the 490 to 1. | |
| 5XX | Notes | Verify. Use judgment when adding notes if appropriate. If necessary, supply: source of title note, bibliographical references note, index note, literary form, quoted notes, date clarification or any other useful note. Used for notes for which a 5XX has not been defined. | |
| 504 | m | Bibliography, Etc. Note | Verify. Add if missing and there are bibliographic references (and possibly an index). If only an index, use a 500 "Includes index" note instead. Insert pages only if references are limited to those pages (e.g., Includes bibliographic references (pages 346-360) and index.) |
| 505 | m | Formatted Contents Note | If there is a meaningful table of contents, or discernable and distinct contents headings in a book, you may add a 505 contents note. Supply for collections/sets, compilations, or for multi-part items with separate titles. If multiple titles/authors, enhance the 505. (Do not use $g in OCLC for initial articles; just add locally.) Do not use field 505 in serial records. |
| 515 | s | Numbering peculiarities note | See Notes for Serials Cataloging for examples and inspiration |
| 530 | Additional physical form available note | Delete locally, "Also available online." (Do not change the master record.) | |
| 730 [prev.545] | m,s | CU Boulder author | See Acq. workflow: CU Author CD/Acq Workflow Receiving adds "730 0 _CU Boulder Author Collection" or if retroactive identification of a CU author, Arthur or a cataloger adds the 730. |
| 588 | s | Source of Description Note | Always update 588 LIC when making updates to a serial record. |
| 590 | Local note | Local notes about CU copy of an item. | |
| 6XX | Subject added entry | (600, 610, 651, 655) Check subject headings and use judgment in determining if any additional headings need to be added, or existing headings revised or reordered. In general, don't delete subject fields (unless they are "fast" headings in a new, derived record). If headings are in languages other than English, only retain the foreign language headings if they match the language of the resource. Deleting these is a local procedure only; do not change the master record. If any appear incorrect, or require additional headings, you may add those. If no AR, see NACO work instructions for when to put on NACO shelf. Retain MeSH and NAL headings. | |
| 655 | Genre form | Retain LC Genre/Form headings. If adding, use LC genre/form terms ( $2 lcgft). Delete any non-LC Genre/Form terms locally only. Do not change master record. | |
| 655_1-6 | Genre form | Delete locally. Do not change master record. | |
| 655_7 | Genre form | Retain $2 lcgft, gsafd, and any RMBS terms ($2 rbxxx). Use 655 _7 $ local only for CU Boulder theses and dissertations. Delete all others locally. Do not change master record. | |
| 7XX | Added entry |
Check if added entries needed for editor, corporate entities (usually not added entry if they are already named as publisher). Check for authorized form and control heading. If no AR, see NACO work instructions for when to put on NACO shelf. RDA relationship designators in $e may/may not be present. Accept these unless obviously wrong. |
|
| 730 | Added entry, uniform title | Control heading. Verify form of entry and all subfields. AR's are not needed for 730's. As of 10/2022, use 730 locally for collection titles (formerly in 793) to make them searchable in EDS. The new 730 collection titles should always have 1st indicator 0 (730 0_) and no initial article (e.g., "The"). | |
| 780/785 | s | Preceding entry/Succeeding entry | |
| 830 | Series added entry - uniform title | Check for authorized form and control heading. Examine the Series Authority Record for form of heading, tracing treatment and numbering. Verify, correct, or add relevant subfields. If no SAR, put on the NACO shelf. (Must have a 490_1 for 830 to be present.) If a serial analytic, look at the checkin record and the authority record in Sierra for additional or local treatment decisions (usually "class sep"). | |
| 856 | Electronic location and access |
Locally, delete all 856 fields in records for textual print materials, with the following exceptions:
Optionally, for items with 856 fields that link to a table of contents, you may copy/paste TOC information to create a 505 in the OCLC and/or local record. Note: 856 may be handled differently for government documents, maps, ebooks, etc. See those specific procedures. |
Subfield $0
In OCLC records, $0 is an authority record control field used for linked data. You may see $0 in headings (such as 65X, 7XX, 830, etc.). When you control the heading in Connexion, the $0 disappears from the record display. Please do control the heading. Although the $0 no longer displays, it is retained in the background in the authority file. We'll be seeing more of these as we move toward Linked Data.
As of September 2015, $0's were removed from the loader, so you should not see $0's in our catalog's records.
You can read more about $0 in MARC 21 bibliographic control subfields.
Questions to consider if a publication could be reasonably cataloged as both a monograph or a serial:
(From Laura Wright's Serials & Series Authority Records presentation.)
There is not always one right answer.
When should a title be referred to Serials cataloging?
(From Laura Wright's Serials overview presentation.)
Conferences
If you have the proceedings of a conference, consider whether it might be a serial. Search for a serial record in Sierra. Search OCLC for a serial record.
The following conditions may indicate you have a serial:
Also, any high number of a conference (e.g. Tenth Annual Conference of ...) is suspect.
When in doubt, refer such items to Serials cataloging.
Series, sets procedures (February 2025)
Series - detailed description of Series Authority Records
Analyzed serial treatment change [not currently doing these, February 2025]
Standard format for inputting volume information in item records
Ways to abbreviate volumes/parts in sets use these abbreviations.
Books with media (full documentation)
Links to procedures on cataloging print monographs accompanied by sound recordings, video recordings, or other media.
Graphic novels that have been ordered for academic departments should be processed according to the procedures specified for those specific funds or locations. For example, the general collection graphic novels detailed in this document are processed differently from those ordered for a special collection, such as the Lebowitz Collection, which has its own procedures. Additionally, if the material has been ordered through a juvenile collection fund, follow the Juvenile Materials guidelines unless otherwise instructed. (See “Juvenile Collection Graphic Novels” on page 9 of the following document for procedures.)
Graphic Novels Guidelines - use this for full instructions on cataloging graphic novels
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Graphic Novels—some notes
Fields to include:
Fixed—contents=6
Fixed—audience—if juvenile add
336 __ $a still image $b sti $2 rdacontent
Summary 520—in language of resource
Genre heading: 655 7 Graphic novels. $2 lcgft
Subheading for 650s: $v Comic books, strips, etc.—
If item is also juvenile add duplicate 650 with subheading $v Juvenile fiction or $v Juvenile literature.
Call #s:
Nonfiction: class in regular call #
Fiction:
If item is part of a comic series (check Amazon) class in PN6728 and cutter to comic series, i.e. Batman= PN6728.B36 (check Vufind). (1st cutter for batman, 2nd cutter for author)
If item is a one-time title by author class in PN6727 for U.S. authors i.e. PN6727.G35.B66 (1st cutter for author, 2nd for title)
If author is not from U.S. check Classweb. There are #s for some countries (i.e. France=PN6747); those not listed go to PN6790 with a cutter we have used for that country (or create one if necessary) (search Vufind by call #). Cutter by author then title.
Juvenile graphic novels: PZ7.7
jvf 05.21.24 rev. 9.24.24
Juvenile Works (CYA Children and Young Adult)
Target Audience
Code Fixed field 008, Choose one of the following codes. A j coding is sufficient if the primary age is not known.
|
j |
Juvenile. The item is intended for children and young people, approximate ages 0–15 years. Use when a more specific code for the juvenile target audience is not desired. |
|
a |
Preschool. The item is intended for children, approximate ages 0–5 years. |
|
b Primary. The item is intended for children, approximate ages 6–8 years. |
| c |
Pre-adolescent. The item is intended for young people, approximate ages 9–13 years |
|
d |
Adolescent. The item is intended for young people, approximate ages 14–17 years |
Medal and Honor Books
If a book has won an award, note this in a 586. Add awards or honors note if the book has actually won the award, not nominated. These often have gold medals on their jackets.
Languages
Use a PZ number literature in languages other than English, starting at PZ10.72, i.e. PZ 73 for works in Spanish. Bilingual books are classified for the lesser-known language and are not considered to be translations.
Fiction
Use PZ call # for flat picture books. Use author’s # for thick young adult literature.
Non-Fiction
Juvenile non-fiction receive regular LC subject class numbers. Sometimes there is a specific classification number for juvenile works on a subject, i.e.
QC806.6 Juvenile works on geophysics
QL676.2 Juvenile works on birds
Dust Jackets
Keep dust jacket and add blue Colibri flag.
Notes
Add Summary (520) in the language of item.
Add 521 1_ Ages and 521 2_ Grades (Get info from Amazon at bottom of page) i.e. .
521_1_$a Ages 4-8
521_2_$a Grades Preschool-1
Canadian young adult. Change PS#s to PR9199.4. fit in LC cat and locally.
Genre Heading
If not present, locally add 655 7 $a Juvenile works. $2 fast $0 (OCoLC)fst01411637
Also acceptable: 655 7 $a Juvenile works. $2 fast
Graphic Novels
Class in PZ7.7
add 2nd subject heading with $v Comic books, strips, etc.
Preferred heading: $a Caterpillars $v Comic books, strips, etc. $v Juvenile fiction.
Acceptable (2 headings): $a Caterpillars $v Juvenile fiction AND
$a Caterpillars $v Comic books, strips, etc.
Call Numbers
If alphabetical cutter present, locally change it to numeric i.e.
050 00 PZ7.A413 $b Mg 1985 ààà 050_4 PZ7.A413 $b M45 1985
Canadian young adult. Change PS#s to PR9199.4. fit in LC cat and locally.
Local note: for better shelf organization:
Picture books are classed in PZs
Young adult (wiider books) are classed in the author's # (PSs)
LCC Schedule
Juvenile Belles Lettres—American and English
5 Collections
6 Early to 1860/1870
7 General juvenile belles lettres, 1870- (Includes animal stories & picture books)
7.5 Novels in verse (Does not have to be in rhyme)
7.7 Graphic novels
8 Fairy tales (Includes juvenile editions of Arabian nights)
8.1 Folklore, legends, romance (includes Arthurian romance)
8.2 Fables (includes Aesop in English versions for children)
8.3 Nursery rhymes and stories in rhyme
8.3.M85 Mother Goose
10.4 Sign language and Braille
PZ10.3 Do not use—use PZ7 instead
10.5 Polyglot
PZ7-8.3 Includes retellings of foreign language titles AND translations from English into other languages
Subject Headings
For fiction, use LC subject heading (650_0) with the subdivision: $v Juvenile fiction.
For non-fiction, use an LC subject heading (650_0) with the subdivision:$v Juvenile literature.
Free Floating Subdivisions
These may be used under topics and names of persons and places. Do not be concerned with adding them; just know they are o.k. if you see them:
|v Juvenile drama
|v Juvenile poetry
|v Juvenile humor
Some Subject Headings of Interest
650 0 High interest-low vocabulary books
(books with limited vocabulary for older children and adolescents)
650 0 Upside down books
650 0 Toys and movable books
650 0 Fables
650 0 Stories without words
650 0 Science fiction
650 0 Legends. (Can also use after people or medieval legends:
Grail |v Legends, Crockett, Davy $v Legends)
650 0 Fantasy (Modern stories of imaginary worlds)
Other Info
Alphabet books
For a prose story use PZ7 and the following subject heading:
650 0 Alphabet |v Juvenile fiction
For a rhymed story use PZ8.3 and the following subject heading:
650 0 Alphabet |v Juvenile poetry
For letters and pictures use PZ7 and the following subject heading:
Readers
LC tends to classify these in PZ7 now, but did not in the past. Don’t change LC-assigned numbers, but for member copy, use PE1119 or 1121.
For primary readers (grades 1-3) use PE1119 and the following subject heading:
650 0 Readers (Primary)
650 0 English language |v Alphabet |v Juvenile literature
Readers from other countries: Use PE1119 or 1121 and add 2 subject headings.
650 0 English language |x Study and teaching |z France or
650 0 English language |x Study and teaching |v French speakers (if language specified)
AND
650 0 Readers (Primary) or
650 0 Readers (Elementary)
Grimm's Fairy Tales
Use subject heading: Fairy tales.
For complete collections use: PZ34.K5713 [date] (no second Cutter)
Enter under the following uniform title:
130 0 Kinder- und Hausmarchen. #l English
Give added entries for both brothers Grimm.
700 10 Grimm, Jacob,|d1785-1863
700 10 Grimm, Wilhelm,|d1786-1859
For selections use: PZ34.K57513 [date] (no second Cutter)
Enter under: Kinder- und Hausmarchen. #l English. #k Selections
Give added entries for both brothers Grimm.
For individual tales retold by various authors, classify by the reteller's number in PZ8. Give added entries for both brothers Grimm plus a 730 uniform title.
Mother Goose
Use PZ8.3.M85 and make a second Cutter for comp., ill., etc.
090 PZ8.3.M85 $b C67 1913
Enter under the uniform title, Mother Goose
130 0 Mother Goose
700 1 Cory, Fanny Y. , $e illustrator
Aesop's Fables
If retold, put under the author number for the individual author and make that author the main entry. Make an added entry for Aesop. Make an added entry uniform title for Aesop's fables.
100 1 Ogilby, John $d 1600-1676
240 10 Aesop’s fables. $l English
700 00 Aesop
If not retold (there is just an illustrator in this case), enter under the uniform title: Aesop's fables. Make an added entry for Aesop and for the illustrator.
130 0 Aesop’s fables. $l English
700 00 Aesop
700 1 Rayevsky, Robert. $e illustrator
02.19.25 jvf rev. 4.8.25
link to current cataloging resources in FOLIO