Research & Innovation Strategies

Abbreviations list

The abbreviations list provides common abbreviations in various languages. These are useful for identifying the appropriate abbreviation in the volume field of an item record.

Accompanying material

May include books with maps, charts, etc. in pocket. Add |e to the 300 field and add a 500 note if necessary to describe the material. Mark each accompanying piece with the call number in pencil. If there are a lot of pieces, put a note in the book asking Marking to put the call number on the pieces. Exception: Do not mark maps going to the Map Library. Insert a flag for Marking indicating that maps are not to be marked, nor pockets created for them.

Added copies / multiple copies

Monographs: Add an administrative note in the Instance (“Edit Instance”) with the regular text string of date, catlvl, cat. If the added copy has a different call number than the other copies, create a new holdings (location) record to attach the corresponding item record. Even if the call number is different, the item should be given the next sequential copy number.

Serials: no stats need to be recorded for added copies. Make sure there is a corresponding check-in record/holdings statement with the correct call number for added locations.

Added copy when SPC or GOV item exists

If there is already a c.1 in Special Collections or Gov Info., for our copy, create a new holdings (location) with the Library of Congress classification. Add the new item record there to that holdings record. Make it a Copy 2 (“c. 2”). If SPC, they will insert their assigned call number into the holdings record.

Adding volumes to a set

Current procedure is here. IF items need to be moved to different instances, give to the general collections cataloging section head.

Acquisitions places added volumes on the added volume shelf and places the volume number in the item record if it is easily identifiable.

• Add the ISBN of the added volume to the bib in an 020.

• 300 field will usually have "v." or "volumes" instead of page numbers

• Add the the volume title in the 505

• Make any necessary series added entries for the volume in hand (490s, 8XXs)

• Add an administrative note in the Instance (“Edit Instance”) with the regular text string of date, catlvl, cat. 

Artist's books

Books produced by artists and intended as visual objects, and works about such books (not mass-produced books) are considered artist's books. [In the past they have come to us with orange flags inserted.] Holdings record: Most are classed under N7533.4, by special artists, A-Z, Individual artists' books, cuttered by title, A7-Z6. Add subject heading: 656 _7 Artists books |2| lcgft. Item record: Location = artst. Place a Preservation slip in the item and note "Artist's book" on the slip.

Backstage - Sending previously cataloged records to Backstage

Occasionally, a bib record that was previously cataloged needs to be sent to Backstage again. This should be done any time a heading is changed in a bib record to match an authority record in the LC/NACO file, and it is the first use of the heading in our catalog. The bib record must go to Backstage again, so the authority file will get added to our Master File, and if appropriate, sent to us. If several bibs were changed, only one of them with the new heading needs to be sent. Add a new administrative note in Edit Instance Records with the date and text string which should add the bib to that month's list of current cataloging records to be sent to Backstage again.

Barcodes

If there is text or illustrative matter on the flyleaf that the barcode would cover, put it on the following page.

Bibliographies

Use the Z classification rather than the specific subject area classification for all bibliographies. LC usually gives the specific base subject area classification in a second subfield "a" which you delete locally. Example: Z8288|b.B765 1985|aPS3511.A86

Book jackets

Revised 12-19-19; 2-19-19*

Retain dust jackets for all books, with the exception of shelf-ready books, which should only be retained if they meet the criteria below. 

• Keep the jacket on the book if the jacket has a correct call number label on it, and put it on the newly cataloged books cart. (If you find that the call number on the jacket is incorrect, use a call number change slip as usual.)

• Keep jackets on books for: Art/Arch, Children Young Adult, Graphic novels, Music, SPC/ARV, Asian, and all non-roman alphabet languages (such as Arabic and Russian).

• Catalogers may decide to keep book jackets from other collections. Some examples for keeping jackets: if you suspect the book is valuable, or that it could become rare one day, or the jacket is decorative or artistic in some way, or if information is on the jacket that a reader might find useful. 

If retaining a jacket for one of the above reasons, leave the jacket wrapped on the book (otherwise toss it if not retaining). If retaining a jacket that lacks a call number label, be sure to put it on the "newly cataloged books" cart so Marking can add the call number label. You do not need to put them on the Preservation shelf. Marking will flag them for CoLibri covers.

Preservation reserves the right to make the final decision on keeping dust jackets.

(*Prior to 2-2019, jackets were not retained, except in the cases noted.)

Classics Library

A project for cataloging donated items to the Classics Library in Eaton Humanities. Add their holdings to FOLIO. Items do not “Circulate” on FOLIO. Please see Classics Library procedures for more information. 

CU Author materials

Some CU Author materials are to be expedited in the cataloging process. These have a "CU Author" flag inserted. Please catalog as usual using appropriate block locations for classification, and retain any jackets. Add a 7300_ locally in FOLIO with the text “CU Boulder Author Collection.” Put the item on the "Rush/Hold" shelf in Preservation when done cataloging. When they come off display, Acquisitions will relocate them to the appropriate location originally designated by cataloging. (Acquisitions workflow chart)

CUAM exhibits

See link to Museum items procedures for Art items temporarily located at the C.U. Art Museum.

Deleting records from FOLIO

To "delete" an instance from FOLIO:

• Instance: Actions>>Edit Instance. Check the box for “Suppress from discovery” and “Staff suppress.”

• Add an Administrative note that says “FOLIO_Batch_Delete”

• Instance: “edit MARC bibliographic record.”

• add a 948 field: 948_ _ delete

(The word, “delete,” above is case sensitive.)

Please note, if there are order records attached to the instance record, you will need to transfer the item with barcode to the correct instance and note the HRIDs. Send an email to Acquisitions to move the order to the Instance where the item now is attached (otherwise, the bib won't be deleted.) 

Engineering Popular Science Collection, Loc. = engpop

A popular science collection located at the Gemmill Library with location = "engpop" and for which jackets are retained. Acquisitions puts notes in order records to this effect. (Acquisitions will also note location on a flag.) Classify according to subject with the understanding that some classification may be out of block for the eng location.

English Language Literature, Contemporary

See the English Language Literature procedures document for the following call number spans: PR6000-6090, PR9080-9680, PS3500-3599.

Enhanced contents notes, local 505 |g and |t revisions.

Searching by title may retrieve an article in a larger book. Our practice is to insert a |g| before the article in a title, followed by a |t| before the word following the article in the MARC in FOLIO only. For original records in OCLC, the entire title remains in |t|. For detailed instructions, please refer to the "Guidelines for Enhanced Contents Notes" on pages 27-30 of the Reference Pages document in Sharepoint.

Errata slips

Insert a Preservation slip in the book where the errata is to go. Write "Tip in errata" on the slip, and add a 500 note to the bib record: Errata slip inserted. Do not attach it with paper clips, etc.

Government publications

If you find a government publication in the regular cataloging workflow, refer state or federal documents to Dresha Schaden and international documents to Hollie Bellinger.

Literary authors & the ML410 class

ML410, is used to class biography of composers, including discussions of composers' compositions from a historical or biographical perspective. Search by author or subject. Use the same class and cutter number we have already used to avoid split files. If there is already a split file, go with the number and cutter LC has used or the most recent record.

PASCAL

For titles going directly to PASCAL, Holdings location will be “PASCAL” and when finished cataloging, place item with books going to Marking. If item does not need a call number label, place item on carts for PASCAL in RDS.

See PASCAL instructions for the workflow in FOLIO.

Reference items - blue flags

Insert a blue "REF SPECIAL HANDLING," flag in all items with a Norlin Reference Location so shelvers will know to separate them from regular stacks. This is especially important for revolving titles so that someone knows when to pull older editions. These flags are in the supplies drawer of flags and are used for Norlin Reference only, not branches. [may need updating for FOLIO workflows]

Rush/Hold shelf items

All items on the Rush shelf are high priority and if possible should be cataloged the same day. Green flags have the information handwritten by Acquisitions on who is requesting the item. Put the item on the "Rush/Hold" shelf in Preservation when done cataloging with the flag clearly visible.

Sets and added volumes

See "Adding volumes to a set" above.