Skip to main content

WRTG 3030 Radical Science Writing (Long) - The History of Western Science: Getting Started

A guide for understanding the history of western science using original materials found in CU's Special Collections and Archives.

WRTG 3030

About this Guide

This library guide for WRTG 3030: Radical Science Writing focuses on providing an introduction to the history of western science using materials that can be found in the CU Boulder Libraries. These include rare publications and first editions of books in the history of science, unpublished documents (such as letters) relating to local science, and US government publications. Use the tabs at the top to navigate by time period. The guide also includes many images, videos, and links to digitized copies to highlight the texts and images of actual scientists.

About CU's History of Science Collections

The University of Colorado Boulder Libraries' Special Collections and Archives holds a strong collection of history of science materials. Much of this is tied to CU's history, with its strong tradition of scientific activity, but has been supplemented with major important donations and targeted acquisitions. Today, we continue to build this collection through new acquisitions to support research and instruction on campus and beyond. To find additional materials held in our Special Collections and Archives, search the following two databases:

Library Catalog Advanced Search

  • This link takes you to a library catalog advanced search. The best way to find additional relevant books here at CU is to run this advanced search by keyword and limit the search with a date range to find historical copies of history of science books. For example, put in Newton as a keyword and limit the date range between 1680 to 1720. The second option to see only Special Collections books is to search a keyword and limit the "Location" to Special Collections.

Archives Database

  • This link takes you to our archival repository. Here, you can browse finding aids to our unpublished collections. Many deal with history of science and include documents such as field notebooks, photographs, research notes, etc.

COVID-19 Information for Library Services

CU Boulder affiliates: access facilities during open hours with your BuffOne Card.
 
Latest updates and information about collections, services, loan periods and returns.