If you have questions about research in LGBTQ+ Studies, recommendations for this guide, or purchase suggestions for the collection, please contact Katerina Allmendinger, liaison librarian for Women & Gender Studies and LGBTQ+ Studies.
Welcome! This guide shares library resources on LGBTQ+ Studies and related fields. It is intended for students and other researchers looking for resources and search strategies that address the interdisciplinary and intersectional nature of LGBTQ+ Studies, or Queer Studies.
The guide is primarily organized by type of resource:
Looking for current issues of magazines and newspapers? We have online access for many titles! See more on the Primary Sources page.
For more about the Pride Office and other CU Boulder resources by and for the LGBTQ+ community, see our LGBTQIA+ Pride Month Guide.
Listed here are additional research guides focusing on particular collections or libraries.
These resources on the Overview tab offer a wide range of formats across multiple disciplines, including search of scholarly journal articles, books and ebooks, and newspapers and magazines, with OneSearch being the broadest and most interdisciplinary, and Gale OneFile: Gender Studies the most specific to LGBTQ+ Studies and related topics.
Brown Trans Figurations : rethinking race, gender, and sexuality in Chicanx/Latinx studies by
Honorable Mention for the National Women's Studies Association's 2021 Gloria E. Anzaldúa Book Prize 2021 Finalist Best LGBTQ+ Themed Book, International Latino Book Awards 2022 John Leo & Dana Heller Award for Best Single Work, Anthology, Multi-Authored, or Edited Book in LGBTQ Studies, Popular Culture Association The Alan Bray Memorial Book Prize, GL/Q Caucus, Modern Language Association (MLA) 2022 AAHHE Book of the Year Award, American Association of Hispanics in Higher Education Within queer, transgender, and Latinx and Chicanx cultural politics, brown transgender narratives are frequently silenced and erased. Brown trans subjects are treated as deceptive, unnatural, nonexistent, or impossible, their bodies, lives, and material circumstances represented through tropes and used as metaphors. Restoring personhood and agency to these subjects, Francisco J. Galarte advances "brown trans figuration" as a theoretical framework to describe how transness and brownness coexist within the larger queer, trans, and Latinx historical experiences. Brown Trans Figurations presents a collection of representations that reveal the repression of brown trans narratives and make that repression visible and palpable. Galarte examines the violent deaths of two transgender Latinas and the corresponding narratives that emerged about their lives, analyzes the invisibility of brown transmasculinity in Chicana feminist works, and explores how issues such as transgender politics can be imagined as part of Chicanx and Latinx political movements. This book considers the contexts in which brown trans narratives appear, how they circulate, and how they are reproduced in politics, sexual cultures, and racialized economies.
Queer Indigenous Studies by
"This book is an imagining." So begins this collection examining critical, Indigenous-centered approaches to understanding gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, queer, and Two-Spirit (GLBTQ2) lives and communities and the creative implications of queer theory in Native studies. This book is not so much a manifesto as it is a dialogue--a "writing in conversation"--among a luminous group of scholar-activists revisiting the history of gay and lesbian studies in Indigenous communities while forging a path for Indigenouscentered theories and methodologies. The bold opening to Queer Indigenous Studies invites new dialogues in Native American and Indigenous studies about the directions and implications of queer Indigenous studies. The collection notably engages Indigenous GLBTQ2 movements as alliances that also call for allies beyond their bounds, which the co-editors and contributors model by crossing their varied identities, including Native, trans, straight, non-Native, feminist, Two-Spirit, mixed blood, and queer, to name just a few. Rooted in the Indigenous Americas and the Pacific, and drawing on disciplines ranging from literature to anthropology, contributors to Queer Indigenous Studies call Indigenous GLBTQ2 movements and allies to center an analysis that critiques the relationship between colonialism and heteropatriarchy. By answering critical turns in Indigenous scholarship that center Indigenous epistemologies and methodologies, contributors join in reshaping Native studies, queer studies, transgender studies, and Indigenous feminisms. Based on the reality that queer Indigenous people "experience multilayered oppression that profoundly impacts our safety, health, and survival," this book is at once an imagining and an invitation to the reader to join in the discussion of decolonizing queer Indigenous research and theory and, by doing so, to partake in allied resistance working toward positive change.
LGBTQ+ Affirmative Psychological Interventions by
This book presents descriptions of interventions, results of empirical research, and theoretical contributions developed by Latine/x psychologists based on affirmative approaches aimed at promoting acceptance and understanding of LGBTIQ+ people. Contributions in this volume bring together the work of Latine/x scholars, practitioners, and activists across five Latin American countries or territories (Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Mexico, and Puerto Rico) and in the United States, in an effort to provide multicultural perspectives to LGBTIQ+ affirmative psychological interventions that highlight local, regional and national particularities. Chapters in this volume go beyond contributions made by applied psychology fields (e.g., clinical and counselling psychology), where affirmative orientations are predominantly located, and include contributions from other fields of psychological research such as social and community psychology. The book is divided in two parts. Chapters in the first part focus on the experiences of trans and gender non-conforming people, with emphasis on contemporary systemic issues that affect gender identity among Latine/x communities and those who do not conform to hegemonic narratives about gender. Chapters in the second part focus on sexual identity among Latine/x LGBTIQ+ people and their families and communities. Contributions in this part present discussions about sexual orientation (grouped in LG/LGB identities), sex and gender dissidence, and the inclusion of intersex. LGBTQ+ Affirmative Psychological Interventions: A Latine/x Perspective will be of interest to both researchers and practitioners in different fields of psychology - such as clinical, counselling, social, and community psychology - interested in a multicultural perspective to understand and develop LGBTQ+ affirmative actions to fight against the repathologization of individuals, groups, families and diverse communities.
The Medical Professional's Guide to Lgbt+ Inclusion by
The real-life scenarios are a unique feature of this book. While many offer information, this book is practical and requires active engagement with the material for the reader.
LGBTQIA+ Health Research Guide from UCSF Library - includes links to reports, data sets, and best practices and methodologies
Understanding and Teaching U. S. Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History by
Taking into account recent historic changes, this second edition updates the essays on the Supreme Court, same-sex marriage, the Right, and trans history. Authors of several other essays have taken the opportunity to add new material and references where warranted.
Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements by
Not so long ago hardly anything was said of the Lesbian Liberation Movement and the Gay Liberation Movement, indeed, the terms gay and lesbian were not even used if some other expression could be found. Today, by contrast, hardly a day passes when something important does not occur, and is carried by the major media and disseminated on more personal levels through blogs and the social media. If anything, there is perhaps too much "news" and not enough "information." Obviously, a book like this cannot keep up with the news, but it can do something equally important when it comes to information, by reminding us of the past and what has been going and just how fast events are moving. The Historical Dictionary of the Lesbian and Gay Liberation Movements covers the history of this movement through a cross-referenced dictionary with over 1000 entries on specific countries and regions, influential historical figures, laws that criminalized same-sex sexuality, various historical terms that have been used to refer to aspects of same-sex love, and contemporary events and legal decisions. Including a comprehensive chronology and bibliography, this book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone interested in learning more about the struggle for equality.
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
LGBTQ Americans in the U. S. Political System [2 Volumes] by
This comprehensive sourcebook covers the evolution of LGBTQ engagement in American politics, from the emergence of gay rights as a political issue in the early 1970s to the present day, when LGBTQ issues occupy a prominent place in politics.This work provides a broad and authoritative survey of the ways in which gay Americans are influencing the tenor and trajectory of U.S. politics at the local, state, and national levels. An encyclopedic section offers thorough coverage of all of the individuals, organizations, cultural forces, political issues, and legal decisions that have combined to elevate the role of LGBTQ people at the ballot box, on the campaign trail, in Washington, and in mayors' offices, city councils, and school boards across the country. Complementing reference entries are in-depth essays on the rising prominence of gay Americans as voters, candidates, public officials, lawmakers, and opinion leaders, providing further context for understanding their impact on modern U.S. political processes and institutions from the perspective of liberals and conservatives alike. Finally, the set includes a collection of important primary source documents that illuminate landmark events, examine gay policy priorities and preferences, and showcase the beliefs and experiences of prominent LGBTQ Americans in the world of politics.
Gender and LGBTQ Issues in Election Processes by
This book looks at issues on Gender and LGBTQ matters in political elections in both institutional and communication contexts. Examining wins and losses in elections and assessing accountabilities in those results this broad and international collection analyses how the issue of gender and LGBTQ identity is both factored into, and determines electoral success, not only in consolidated democracies such as the United States, New Zealand, and Norway, but also in a country facing an undemocratic turn such as Poland. . Does raising the subject of gender and LGBTQ issues affect electoral processes? Are there countries where gender and LGBTQ issues are more likely to be instrumentalised in the electoral process? Can common patterns between countries be detected? This book seeks to answer these questions and center gendered issues through a range of topics including party loyalty, voter participation, gendered media coverage, and discourses on electoral defeat, and leadership. This book is suitable for students and scholars in LGBTQ Studies, Politics, Social Sciences and Gender Studies.
An Introduction to Queer Literary Studies by
An Introduction to Queer Literary Studies: Reading Queerly is the first introduction to queer theory written especially for students of literature. Tracking the emergence of queer theory out of gay and lesbian studies, this book pays unique attention to how queer scholars have read some of the most well-known works in the English language. Organized thematically, this book explores queer theoretical treatments of sexual identity, gender and sexual norms and normativity, negativity and utopianism, economics and neoliberalism, and AIDS activism and disability. Each chapter expounds upon foundational works in queer theory by scholars including Michel Foucault, Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick, and Lee Edelman. Each chapter also offers readings of primary texts -ranging from the highly canonical, like John Milton's Paradise Lost, to more contemporary works of popular fiction, like Stephen King's 'Salem's Lot. Along the way, An Introduction to Queer Literary Studies: Reading Queerly demonstrates how queer reading methods work alongside other methods like feminism, historicism, deconstruction, and psychoanalysis. By modelling queer readings, this book invites literature students to develop queer readings of their own. It also suggests that reading queerly is not simply a matter of reading work written by queer people. Queer reading attunes us to the queerness of even the most straightforward text.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States by
In this two-volume work, hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries survey contemporary lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, and queer American literature and its social contexts. Comprehensive in scope and accessible to students and general readers, Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States explores contemporary American LGBTQ literature and its social, political, cultural, and historical contexts. Included are several hundred alphabetically arranged entries written by expert contributors. Students of literature and popular culture will appreciate the encyclopedia's insightful survey and discussion of LGBTQ authors and their works, while students of history and social issues will value the encyclopedia's use of literature to explore LGBTQ American society. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and lists additional sources of information. To further enhance study and understanding, the encyclopedia closes with a selected general bibliography of print and electronic resources for student research. Hundreds of alphabetically arranged entries discuss authors, literary works, movements, genres, and social issues An alphabetical list of entries offers a quick survey of the encyclopedia's contents A guide to related topics quickly and conveniently directs readers to entries likely to interest them Bibliographies for specific entries help students find sources of additional information on specialized topics A selected, general bibliography directs students to the most helpful print and electronic resources on contemporary LGBTQ American literature
LGBTQ+ Literature in the West by
A survey, within one volume, of the history of critical responses to LGBTQ literature from the beginning to the present day, this book explores changes in attitudes, literature and criticism over a period of two and a half thousand years. For various reasons it focuses on literature of 'the West', trying to give readers a clear sense, within a relatively short compass, not only of the development of 'queer' literature (perhaps the most encompassing of all terms) but especially of critical responses to that literature, notably during the past century and particularly the past fifty years. All in all, this book offers a roadmap to much of the excellent scholarship concerning LGBTQ literature that has arisen in the last half-century - an era of unparalleled interest in the topic and an era that has moved the topic from the distant sidelines of literary study to a place ever closer to the center of things.
Love Is Love Is Love : Broadway musicals and LGBTQ politics, 2010-2020 by
The politics of Broadway musicals matter a great deal more to U.S. American culture than they appear to mean, and they are especially important to mainstream politics surrounding sex, gender, and sexuality. Love Is Love Is Love looks to the Broadway musicals of the past decade for help understanding the current state of LGBTQ politics in the United States. Through analyses of Promises, Promises, Newsies, Hedwig and the Angry Inch, The Color Purple, and Frozen, this book attempts to move past the question of representational politics and asks us instead to think in more complex ways about LGBTQ identity, what LGBTQ politics are, and the politics of Broadway musicals themselves. Producing new, complex readings of all five of these musicals, author Aaron C. Thomas places each of them within the context of the LGBTQ politics of their day. Some of the issues the book treats are controversies of casting, the closetedness and openness of musical theatre, LGBTQ identities, adaptation from movies into musicals, and the special power of the musical form by examining how these shows differ from the books and movies on which they're based. Love Is Love Is Love places contemporary LGBTQ political tensions and conversations in a new light, making this an essential companion for students and scholars of contemporary theatre, musical theatre, cultural studies, Queer studies, and gender studies.
The Oxford Handbook of Queer Cinema by
The term "queer cinema" is often used to name at least three cultural events: 1) an emergent visual culture that boldly identifies as queer; 2) a body of narrative, documentary, and experimental work previously collated under the rubric of homosexual or lesbian, gay, bisexual, and trans(LGBT) cinema; 3) a means of critically reading and evaluating films and other visual media through the lens of sexuality. By this expansive account, queer cinema encompasses more than a century of filmmaking, film criticism, and film reception, and the past twenty-five years have seen the idea of"queer cinema" expand further as a descriptor for a global arts practice. As the first of its kind, The Oxford Handbook of Queer Cinema treats these three currents as art and critical practice, bringing the canon of queer cinema together with a new generation of makers and scholars.The Handbook's contributors include scholars who research the worldwide canon of queer cinema, those who are uniquely positioned to address three decades of its particular importance, and those best positioned to ponder the forms it is taking or may take in our new century, namely digital media thatmoves in new circuits. In eight sections, they explore the many forms that queer cinema takes across time, discussing narrative, experimental, documentary, and genre filmmaking, including pornography. Likewise, although the study of cinema and media is not restricted to a single method, chaptersshowcase the unique combination of textual analysis, industrial and production history, interpretation, ethnography, and archival research that this field enables. For example, chapters analyze the ways in which queer cinema both is and is not self-evidently an object for study by examining filmsthat reinforce negative understandings of queerness alongside those that liberate the subject; and by naming the films that are newly queered, while noting that many queerly-made texts await discovery. Finally, chapters necessarily assert that queer cinema is not an Anglophone phenomenon, nor is itrestricted to the medium of film.
Materials by and about LGBTQ+ people are sometimes described in library and archives collections using outdated, inaccurate, and offensive, or simply incomplete terms which can make for a challenging search process.
it can be helpful to browse The Homosaurus to understand connections between terms and to find synonyms you might use. Some content in this section is adapted from the work of Gina Bastone at the University of Texas Libraries and Stacy Reardon and Jennifer Dorner at the UC Berkeley Libraries.
