Research Guides: Ethnic Studies: Start Here: Start Here

Recommended Databases

Recommended:

Primary Sources:

AnthroSource
Contains articles from American Anthropological Association (AAA) publications including journals, newsletters and bulletins. It has the current issues for many of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications, and a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals through 2003.
eHRAF World Cultures
In-depth information organized by cultures. Focuses mainly on pre-industrial cultures from around the world and on North American immigrant groups.
Abstracts in Anthropology
Coverage from 2001 to the present. Earlier volumes are available in print
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (EBSCO)
Index of works about American Indians from 1500 to the present.

Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO)
Scholarly articles in the fields of addition studies, anthropology, criminology, economics, family studies, gerontology, ethnic studies, political science, psychology, social work, and urban studies. Includes the following collections: Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson), Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson)
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Abstracts and citations to international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Sociology (Oxford Bibliographies Online)
PsycINFO (ProQuest)
Useful for human computer interaction. Covers psychology and psychological aspects of medicine, psychiatry, anthropology, business, law, and similar disciplines.
IBSS International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest)
References and abstracts for social science research.

ComAbstracts
Index of the primary professional literature of the communications field with links to full text.
Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Comprehensive research resource for communication and related disciplines.

Humanities Source Ultimate (EBSCO)
Full-text articles and indexing of academic journals covering a broad range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences. Includes the following collections.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science)
Citation information for scholarly journals.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Essential international index to works about language and literature, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Includes the following collection: MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Film & Television Literature Index (EBSCO)
Bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications.