Skip to Main Content

Simmons Insights: Run Crosstab

Crosstab Overview

1A. Access Dictionary Search

  • Access the Dictionary Search. Open Simmons Insights and click on Dictionary Search in the upper right corner.

Dictionary Search Layout

The screenshot below describes the Dictionary Search page:

  • Select a Study: At the top of the page, choose the year and type of study you want to use
  • Search Bar: Nearly at the top of the page, enter text to search for a particular item. Note, correct spelling is crucial, and it will only bring back answers that contain the search term.
  • Dictionary/Variables Window: At the left of the page. It's where the data dictionary, or the variables and characteristics, for your segments, lives. Click on the > to expand the section down to the question level.
  • Answer Window: In the middle of the page. When the dictionary/variables window has been used to reveal the question, the answers to this question will appear in this window.
  • Coding Box: At the bottom of the page, the coding box is used, along with logical operators like "and," "or", "not", and so on, to create more complex targets. 
  • Columns: In the middle right of the page, also known as your target audience, the items from the dictionary about which you want to know more.
  • Rows: At the bottom right of the page, the items from the dictionary that define what you want to know about your target.
  • Bases: Towards the top right of the page. Bases enables comparison between different universes. Leaving the bases empty will default to Adults age 18+

Screenshot of Dictionary Search page

Getting Started

  • Access the Dictionary Search. Open Simmons Insights and click on Dictionary Search in the upper right corner.
  • Choose your study. The latest 6-month study is the default. At the top of the page, you may want to change the study to the most recent 12-month study to double your sample size.

 

2A. Add the Target Audience to Columns

  • Find the variables you want to use by scrolling though the dictionary/variables window on the left and clicking on the triangles to expand the section. You can also use the search bar, but spelling needs to be accurate.
  • To add women to the rows:
    • Click on Lifestyle Demographics,
    • then Demographics (Personal Information),
    • and then ? Gender.
    • When you click on an item with a ? you will notice the possible answers to the question appear in the answer box.
    • Click and drag Female to the columns box.

The "female" variable is in the columns box

 

2B. Add What You Want to Know About your Target Audience to Rows

  • We want to know which yogurt brands women eat. 
    • In the question/variables box on the left, scroll down to Food - Dairy,
    • then click on Yogurt & Smoothies,
    • and then click on ? Yogurt-Brnds Eaten/Drank Last 30 Days MoMo means "most often."
    • If you want to add all of these brands to the rows, click and drag ? Yogurt-Brnds Eaten/Drank Last 30 Days Mo to the rows. If you want to add individual brands, click and drag the brand to the rows. 

Screen shot of "All yogurt brands eaten most often" moved to the rows box

 

Combining or Excluding Variables for Columns and Rows

  • If you want to combine or exclude variables from your columns or rows, you will need to use the coding box. The definitions for the connector words are:

    • AND: Must have both variables. The target audience is women AND 25-49 years old.

    • OR: Must have at least one variable. The target audience is women OR any adult 25-49 years old.

    • XOR: Must have one variable only. The target audience is either women XOR 25-49 years old.

    • NOT: Must have only the first variable. The target audience is women NOT 25-49 years old.

  • If you want your target audience to be women AND are 25-49 years old,
    • click and drag Female to the coding box,
    • the click AND in the coding box.
    • In the questions/variables box, click on Age 
    • and find the answer with 25-49.
    • Click and drag 25-49 after the AND in the coding box.
    • Rename the target audience to describe it, like Female 25-49. 
    • Click on the icon with three vertical lines (third from right) to move the new target audience to columns.

Female AND 25-49 Variables in the coding box

 

2C. Run Crosstab

  • To retrieve the data, you need to run the crosstab.
  • Click on the right-facing arrow at the top right of the page. 

Screen shot of the white arrow with maroon boarder

After you click on the arrow at the top right to run your crosstab, you will have a page with your data.

3A. Private Eye

The Private Eye view is the easiest view for sorting the data.

  • Click on Chart Type
  • Click on Private Eye View

Screen shot of Chart Types and Private Eye is 1st

 

3B. Understand the Data

A screen shot of data in the private eye view

  • First four "Total" columns on the left: Everyone who was surveyed.
  • Sample: The number of people who took the survey who meet both the row and column criteria.
    • Of the people who took the survey, 131 people are women who have eaten Muller yogurt in the last 30 days.
  • Weighted: Expressed in thousands, the projected number of people in the U.S. who meet both the row and column criteria.
    • Of all the people in the U.S., 1,190,000 are women who have eaten Muller yogurt in the last 30 days.

The most important pieces of data are the Vertical, Horizontal, and Index.

  • Vertical: Percent of the column reached by the row. Higher percentages in the vertical means the target audience is very into the item in the corresponding row.
    • Of all the women in the United States, 1% of them have eaten Muller yogurt in the last 30 days.
  • Horizontal: Percent of the row reached by the column. Higher percentages of the horizontal means your the item in the row is made up of more people from your target audience. 
    • Of all the respondents who eat Muller yogurt, 73.9% are women.
  • Index: The likelihood of the target to meet a specified criteria, expressed in relation to the base (100=average).
    • Women are 43% more likely to have eaten Muller yogurt in the last 30 days.
Any data with a * next to it means the data is unreliable. Check with your instructor to see if you can use the data.

3C. Focus on the Index

The index shows the likelihood of the target to meet a specified criteria which is the row when compared to the base. 

  • Find your target audience data and click on Index to sort the indices from largest to smallest.
  • Numbers closer to 100 means the the target audience is average to the base. 
    • In this example, the base was empty so we are comparing the target audience is the average American adult.
  • Any number over 110 means the target audience is more likely to exhibit the behavior in the corresponding row than the base. The higher the index, the more likely the target exhibits the row. The index can also be expressed as a percent by subtracting 100 from the index.
  • Any number below 90 means the target audience is less likely to exhibit the behavior. The lower the index, the less likely the target exhibits the row. 

Example

  • Column: Women
  • Row: Muller yogurt eaten most often in the last 30 days
  • Index: 143
  • How to write the data: Women are 43% more likely to have eaten Muller yogurt most often in the last 30 days than the U.S. adult population overall.

 

3D. Highlight and Filter Data

To color-code data or filter data, above the rows, click on the funnel with a plus sign.

Screen shot of icon to highlight and filter

Download Data for Excel

  • On the left, click on Export 
  • and select either .XLS for an Excel file or .CSV for non-Excel data software

Save Data to Use in Simmons

  • If you want to save your data to use in Simmons at a later date, on the left, click on Export and select the .SPC file. 
  • When you return to Simmons, upload the file by clicking on Open and then Import .SPC file.

 

Fall 2021: Libraries hours, service updates

All five campus libraries are now open. Read about open hours and other important service updates.