The Romance Language derived from the Vulgar Latin, which was spoken by the Roman Empire. While all Romance languages countries have their own unique cultures and phonetic landscapes, Romance languages share a distinctive closeness that allow people to identify vocabulary similarities across these languages.
CU students, staff and faculty may request materials from any CU location, including the PASCAL off site facility. You may also request materials we don’t own that are checked out, lost or missing.
All you need to manage your account is your identikey username and password and an internet enabled device. You may then log-in to My Library Account. Learn more below. To check-out materials have your BuffOne card ready.
When you check out materials from the University Libraries, you will be able to renew and extend your check-out time in most cases. Refer to the information below to learn more.
There are more than 30 group study rooms throughout the University Libraries. Some are funded with Student Computing Initiative (SCI) fees and are only available to registered CU-Boulder students.
Graduate student study carrels are available in Norlin Library. The third floor suite has first-come, first-served desks and reserved shared desks. Secured storage cabinets are also available.
There are more than 30 study rooms as well as numerous open study areas throughout the University Libraries.
We’re happy to explore the possibility of purchasing titles not already held by the University Libraries.
Learn how to connect to resources off campus! You must be a CU-Boulder student, faculty member or employee with an active CU IdentiKey.
CU-Boulder has a robust computing and networking environment used by members of the campus community to create, discover, and share information electronically.
The University Libraries provide access to print and scan stations as part of the campus-wide printing and scanning initiative. You may print from University Libraries' computers as well as your own personal devices.
While on campus and in the University Libraries, you have access to the CU Wireless Network. Learn more.
Looking to add content accessible to the CU community through course management systems or web platforms? Follow these instructions to create durable links.
Through a library catalog, you can find all the materials owned by the library in all formats. Databases specialize in areas of knowledge. You can have a database of images (photography, paintings, architecture,) a database of videos and audiovisuals, and news articles worldwide. Many databases contain full-text scholarly articles.
Scholarly articles are published in Academic Journals. They are considered secondary sources because they provide commentary and analysis about primary sources. Primary sources relate to first-hand creations such as films, archival papers, photography, manuscripts, government papers, diaries, or things in our Special Collections & Archives. In other words, primary sources refer to original sources.
Essential international index to works about language and literature, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Includes the following collection: MLA Directory of Periodicals.
For more information see:
Strategy: Get Started - Search Terms - Considering Format and Sources - Selecting a Search Tool - Managing your Sources - Literary Review
Images and Photos made available under a creative commons license are free to use, with varying restrictions. Creative Commons licenses are not an alternative to copyright. They work alongside copyright and enable owners to modify copyright terms to best suit their needs.
You can search most image databases for creative commons licensed images.
Images by Creative Commons - Creative Commons, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=20727292
To “use” a copyrighted work, you must either have the copyright holder’s permission, or you must qualify for a legal exception such as “fair use.” Fair Use is the legal, unauthorized use of copyrighted material, allowable under certain circumstances. Many educational and classroom use falls under fair use, but there are many images use cases that can be fair.
Fair use (Section 107 of the U.S. Copyright code) provides parameters for the legal use of copyrighted material without the permission of the copyright holder.
Four factors for determining fair use eligibility:
Images in the Public Domain are no longer under copyright protection and can be used freely. In general images published before 1923 are in the public domain in the United States.
There are four common ways that works arrive in the public domain:
Scholarly articles are subjected to evaluation by reviewers, who are considered experts on a subject. This process guaranties quality and authoritativeness.
This page highlights CU Boulder's faculty who have enriched the academic literature from a librarianship and scholarly conversation approach on topics related to Latin American, Latinx, and Indigenous studies.
Indigenous Materials in Libraries and the Curriculum by 
Disrupting Savagism: intersecting Chicana/o, Mexican immigrant, and Native American struggles for self-representation by 
The Shadow of el Centro by 
Resistance and Abolition in the Borderlands by 
Border Thinking by 
Global Latin(o) Americanos: transoceanic diasporas and regional migrations by 
The Lynching of Mexicans in the Texas Borderlands by 
Women and the Cuban Insurrection by 
Teaching Gender Through Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Texts and Cultures by 
Impossible Domesticity by 
Playful Protest by 
Decolonizing Latinx Masculinities by 
Teaching Gender Through Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Texts and Cultures by 
Bandit Narratives in Latin America by Looking for more information on the topics covered in these books? These subject terms will help you enlarge your search and find related sources:
Hispanic Americans -- Ethnic identity
Immigrants -- Violence against -- Mexican-American Border Region -- History -- 21st century
Latin Americans -- Ethnic identity
Latin American literature -- Study and teaching
Mexican Americans -- Violence against -- Texas -- History -- 20th century
North America -- Mexican-American Border Region
