Research Guides: Advertising, PR and Media Design: Market, Company & Consumer

Reports & Statistics

IBISWorld Industry Market Research
In-depth reports on industries, providing an overview of the industry, outlooks, products and markets, operations and key statistics.
Access note: Please click Log Out button at the top of page at the conclusion of your session.
Mintel Academic
Market research database for information on consumer trends, demographics, and brand share.
Statista
Statista aggregates statistics and studies from market researchers, organizations, specialist publications, and government sources.
Passport
Passport is a global market information database examining countries, consumers and industries. Passport offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, insightful market reports and interactive visualization tools.
EMIS Intelligence
Analysis and data for 145 emerging markets.

Articles

Google Scholar
Tool to search for scholarly documents across the web, with an added feature of CU Full Text links.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Comprehensive source for materials on all business topics.
ProQuest Central
Contains full-text dissertations, market reports from 40 countries, and newspapers.

PrivCo
Provides private company financials and revenues, private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, venture capital fundings, private equity deals, private and family ownership breakdowns, bankruptcies, restructurings, and more.
Access note: Log in required for some functions. Register for a free account with your colorado.edu email address. Individual accounts limited to 50 exports per month.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Comprehensive source for materials on all business topics. Also includes company profiles.
Mergent Online
Source for large public company information and data for selected large private companies. Create custom reports on multiple companies comparing factors such as debt and stock price.

Don't forget to review company websites. For public companies, look for the "investor relations" web page and SEC reports. You can find these by using a search engine to search [company name] investor relations.

Mintel Academic
Market research database for information on consumer trends, demographics, and brand share.
eMarketer
Insider Intelligence (eMarketer) provides market data, statistics and analysis on the Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies.
Statista
Statista aggregates statistics and studies from market researchers, organizations, specialist publications, and government sources. Conducts their own Statista surveys for data on consumers and brands.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Comprehensive source for materials on all business topics. Also includes company profiles.

Business Analyst Online (BAO) Guide
Business Analyst Online (BAO) is a web-based mapping application that combines geographic information systems (GIS) technology with extensive demographic, consumer spending, and business data for the entire United States. It is a source for consumer and business data.
Simmons Insights Guide
Data for creating in-depth analysis of the U.S. consumer and determining consumer product, media, and lifestyle preferences.
Access note: Access limited to 25 concurrent users.

Sports Market Analytics (SBRnet)
Provides analysis of statistical trends in major segments of the sports market.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals.

NCAA Research
Data and reports about student athletes conducted by NCAA.

Boulder Open Data Catalog
Open data sets generated by the City of Boulder

Social Explorer
Statistics about people, social characteristics, and the economy of the U.S., with Census data from 1790 to the present.

ERIC (Proquest)
The U.S. Department of Education sponsors this comprehensive database of education literature.

Inside Higher Ed
Online news website covering higher education
NCAA Research
Data and reports about student athletes conducted by NCAA.

Ask A Librarian

Make an appointment

Chat with a Librarian

Email libraries@colorado.edu

Off Campus Access

Good to Know

Mintel has tons of content about products and brands, but it may not the exact product your are researching. Start with Mintel or IBISWorld for the macro view, then look for trade articles or consumer survey data (Data-Planet or Simmons) for more specific data.

APRD, Communication, Journalism, and Media Studies Librarian

Stacy Gilbert

she/her

Email Me