Research Guides: FYSM 1000: Saving the World, Museums and Archives Collections (Brylowe): Visual Studies

Ask A Librarian

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

There are a vast array of resource for visual studies and images, both through the library and on the open web. For more information, please see the Libraries' guide to finding images or visit the guide for art history.

Ways of Seeing by John Berger
Publication Date: 1972
Visual Studies by James Elkins
ISBN: 9780415966818
Publication Date: 2003
In his latest book, James Elkins offers a road map through the field of visual studies, describing its major concerns and its principal theoretical sources. Then, with the skill and insight that have marked his successful books on art and visuality, Elkins takes the reader down a side road where visual studies can become a more interesting place.

Visual Studies
Published by the International Visual Sociology Association.
InVisible Culture: An Electronic Journal for Visual Studies
Published by the University of Rochester.

Wellcome Collection
Wellcome Collection is a free museum and library that aims to challenge how we all think and feel about health. Try searching "physiology" under "Explore Digital Collections."
Historical Medical Library
The College of Physicians of Philadelphia Digital Library is a searchable image database and exhibition platform dedicated to celebrating and communicating the history of medicine.
National Library of Medicine: Historical Anatomies on the Web
Images have been selected from the following anatomical atlases in the National Library of Medicine's collection. Each atlas is linked to a brief Author & Title Description, which offers an historical discussion of the work, its author, the artists, and the illustration technique.

ARTstor
Database of over one million high-quality images, useful not only for the fine arts but as a general image resource.
Digital Public Library of America
Brings together digital materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States.

Art, Design & Architecture Collection (ProQuest)
A comprehensive collection of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. Includes the following collections: ARTbibliographies Modern, Arts & Humanities Database, Design & Applied Arts Index, International Bibliography of Art
Oxford Art Online
Visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Includes the Grove Dictionary of Art, the best source for encyclopedia entries on artists, styles, periods, materials or techniques. Entries include extensive lists of sources.
Access note: Limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Art and Architecture Archive (ProQuest)
Primary source collection that spans the spectrum of arts and the history of architecture, including fine and applied arts, interior and industrial design, landscape gardening, and restoration.