Research Guides: FYSM 1000: Saving the World, Museums and Archives Collections (Brylowe): History of Anatomy

Ask A Librarian

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

You can look at the history of anatomy through a variety of disciplinary lenses: medicine, psychology, social sciences, visual art, and more. Check out the University of Rhode Island's Human Anatomy and Physiology resource guide as well as CU Boulder Libraries' guide to resources for Integrative Physiology; you may also want to peruse History resources and History of Science guide through CU Boulder Libraries.

Teaching and Learning Anatomy: a 500 Year History from the Historical Medical Library
This journey through 500 years of teaching and learning anatomy begins with the controversy over dissection, and examines an essential question: of what value is the human body in learning about anatomy?
National Library of Medicine: Historical Anatomies on the Web
Images have been selected from the following anatomical atlases in the National Library of Medicine's collection. Each atlas is linked to a brief Author & Title Description, which offers an historical discussion of the work, its author, the artists, and the illustration technique.

Gray's Anatomy for Students by Richard Drake; A. Wayne Vogl; Adam W. M. Mitchell
ISBN: 9780702051319
Publication Date: 2014
Now in its 3rd edition, this completely revised medical textbook continues its focus on just the core information you need for your anatomy courses, presenting everything in an easy-to-read, visually appealing format that facilitates study.
Anatomy: Exploring the Human Body by Phaidon Editors
ISBN: 9780714879888
Publication Date: 2019
Through 300 remarkable works, selected and curated by an international panel of anatomists, curators, academics, and specialists, the book chronicles the intriguing visual history of human anatomy, showcasing its amazing complexity and our ongoing fascination with the systems and functions of our bodies.
Bergman's Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Human Anatomic Variation by R. Shane Tubbs (Editor); Mohammadali M. Shoja (Editor); Marios Loukas (Editor)
ISBN: 9781118430682
Publication Date: 2016
With both new and updated entries, and now illustrated in full color, the encyclopedia provides an even more comprehensive reference on human variation for anatomists, anthropologists, physicians, surgeons, medical personnel, and all students of anatomy.

Gale eBooks
Database of encyclopedia articles and other specialized reference resources from a variety of disciplines.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. It provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960s.
Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences
Published lectures on a variety of topics related to the biomedical and life sciences.
Zoological Record (Web of Science)
Leading taxonomic reference and database of animal biology with backfiles to 1864.

JSTOR
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text (EBSCO)
Covers the history of the world (except for the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
Early English Books Online (ProQuest)
Books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in Britain and its possessions or in the English language 1473-1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale)
Books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in Britain and its possessions or in the English language 1701-1800.

Science and Technology Resources
Digitized archival primary sources in STEM: a selected webliography

IsisCB Explore
The online portal to the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science, covering publications in the history of science from 1974 to the present.