Research Guides: FYSM 1000: Saving the World, Museums and Archives Collections (Brylowe): Medical Humanities

Ask A Librarian

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

Humanities in Medicine

Please see this comprehensive guide by the University of South Carolina School of Medicine Library for an overview and more in-depth information about the Humanities in Medicine.

Journals

AMA Journal of Ethics
Our editorial mission is to help medical students, physicians, and all health care professionals make sound ethical decisions in service to patients and society. Founded in 1999, the AMA Journal of Ethics explores ethical questions and challenges that students and clinicians confront in their educational and practice careers.
Journal of Medical Humanities
Publishes original interdisciplinary studies of medicine and medical education. Research findings emerge from three areas of investigation: medical humanities, cultural studies, and pedagogy. Medical humanities covers literature on history, philosophy, and bioethics as well as social and behavioral sciences that have strong humanistic traditions.
Medical Humanities
Medical Humanities presents the international conversation around medicine and its engagement with the humanities and arts, social sciences, health policy, medical education, patient experience and the public at large.

Books

The Edinburgh Companion to the Critical Medical Humanities by Anne Whitehead (Editor); Jennifer Richards (Associate Editor); Jane Macnaughton (Associate Editor); Sarah Atkinson (Associate Editor); Angela Woods (Editor)
ISBN: 9781474400046

Publication Date: 2016

A field-defining collection of original critical engagements at the intersection of the biomedical sciences, arts, humanities and social sciences.
Medical Humanities in Theory and Practice by Andrzej Kapusta
ISBN: 9781443886185

Publication Date: 2017

This volume explores the social, historical and cultural dimensions of medicine and promotes a multifaceted approach towards health, illness, healthcare and body.

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)

Multidisciplinary index to thousands of peer-reviewed scholarly journals. Also includes video content from the Associated Press.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets
JSTOR

Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
MEDLINE (ProQuest)
Index to medical literature.
Project Muse
Collection of humanities and social sciences journals.
PsycINFO (ProQuest)

Useful for human computer interaction. Covers psychology and psychological aspects of medicine, psychiatry, anthropology, business, law, and similar disciplines.
BMJ Journals
Health information and research from the British Medical Journal, British Journal of Sports Medicine, Journal of Medical Ethics, and Journal of Medical Genetics.
International Encyclopedia of Ethics
Provides definitions and explanations of all areas of ethics including topics, movements, arguments, and key figures.