Research Guides: Find: Images: Images

Images

This guide offers hints and tips to help you find images, as well as general rules for using them. Images and photographs are intellectual property. Reuse of images requires an understanding of copyright, attribution and citation.

Photo by Daniela Cuevas CC 0

CU Digital Library
Digital Public Library of America
Brings together the digitized images and media of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs
The digitized images from the Library of Congress includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters and architectural and engineering drawings.
NYPL Digital Collections
Items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.
Smithsonian Collections
Search across the diverse collection of Smithsonian Institute museums.
Ad * Access
This project by Duke University has digitized over 7000 advertisements that were printed in newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. They reflect main developments in American society, culture, business and technology.
Time Life Photo Archive
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920
Over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States

AP Newsroom (EBSCO)
Photos from the Associated Press, illustrating major news events and important figures over the last 160 years.

These image databases include images that can be freely reused. Images are made available under creative commons licenses, or because they are in the public domain. Learn more about rights, ownership and attribution.

Openverse
Browse through over 600 million items to reuse.
Wikimedia Commons
Database of millions of freely usable image and media files.
Creative Commons Search
Can search a variety of web databases for creative commons licensed content
Flickr Commons
Collection of openly available images.
Pixaby
All images and videos on Pixabay are released free of copyrights under Creative Commons CC0. You may download, modify, distribute, and use them royalty free for anything you like, even in commercial applications.
Unsplash
All photos published on Unsplash are licensed under an open license which means you can copy, modify, distribute and use the photos for free, including commercial purposes, without asking permission from or providing attribution to the photographer or Unsplash.

Find: Images

Images

Recommended