Graduate Guide for Japanese Studies

The "professional" version of the WorldCat. It allows for much more complex searches to discover materials. Can also automatically populate book data to make interlibrary loan requests. Subject Headings can guide you quickly to other materials on your topic of interest.

Simple to use database to search all books in North America and beyond. Includes a few Japanese institutions.

Pulls from the same data set as CiNii and produces different results. Simple straight-forward interface. Books only.

Another WebCat interface designed to be exploratory and help uncover new books. Search key words and use filters to see what books the system will recommend. Can also have useful information like a book's table of contents.

If you need the confirm the reading for a person or place name. Provides birth and death dates, various names a creator has, and source of how names are confirmed.

Best for locating older materials in the public domain. Has significant Japanese holdings. Those materials can be downloaded as PDFs. Includes full text access to *some* copyrighted materials.
Pros: Very often this will be the only database with full text access to a book. Public domain items will be downloadable.
Cons: Browsing and locating exact page numbers can be slow, especially if trying to flip through many pages. Scan quality can sometimes be poor.

Search for books, articles, theses & dissertations held/published in Japan.
- 📚 Books: Shows which libraries have a book. Best used for discovery, ask for book to be purchased for our collections, or do Interlibrary loan.
- 📃 Articles: A mix of open-access full-text and gated articles. Can be used to search an entire run of a Journal. Use for making interlibrary loan requests.
- 🎓 Theses: By Japanese law, all dissertations must be made available online. Most will be readily accessible.

Open access database of scholarly journal publications. Can filter according to academic discipline.

There are many reputable articles/books/primary sources/pdfs widely available on the web if you set effective parameters.
- 💬 Set language to Japanese
- 🌐 Set site or domain to .edu or .ac or .ac.jp
- 📂 Set file type to .pdf, another file extension, or leave blank.