Research Guides: Engineering: Original Research Articles

Find Original Research

Engineering research findings and new technological developments are presented in scholarly journal articles, and at engineering conferences. You can find many articles by searching OneSearch and the databases below. Technical reports and dissertations and theses are also good sources for new engineering research and developments.

Find Articles and Conference Proceedings

You can find articles and conference proceedings in databases listed below and by searching OneSearch.

Technical Reports

You can find many technical reports by searching OneSearch as well as by searching these databases listed below.

National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) One of the world's largest repositories of U.S. Government-sponsored research results, with unclassified and publicly available materials from federal sources, Canada, Japan, the former Soviet Union, and both Western and Eastern European countries. Access note: Must use VPN to access this database from off campus.
NASA Technical Reports Server Publicly available scientific and technical information from the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA).
Technical Report Archive and Image Library (TRAIL) Federal technical reports issued prior to 1975.
EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements (ProQuest) Source for finding plain-language EIS summaries, which are designed to inform decisionmakers and the public about projects that will impact environmental quality.

Dissertations and Theses

A dissertation or thesis is written as a requirement for the Doctor of Philosophy degree, and presents the research a Ph.D candidate did as part of their work to obtain their degree.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global Collection of dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day, with simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Contains both full-text and abstract only. Some indexing of Dissertations and Theses content included in Web of Science.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses at The University of Colorado Boulder Information about theses and dissertations from The University of Colorado Boulder and the University of Colorado System.

Ask A Gemmill Librarian

Make an appointment

Chat with a Librarian

Call (303) 492-5396

Email libraries@colorado.edu

Engineering, Science and Design Librarian

Emily Dommermuth

she/her

Email Me

Combine Search Words

AND link words by AND to search for all words in the same resource

OR link words by OR to search for one word or another (instead of both/all words)

NOT to eliminate results with a certain term

“Quotations” – add quotations to a group of two or more words to search for the exact phrase

Interlibrary Loan

When we do not have a source, you may use our Interlibrary Loan services to request it! Place your request using ILLiad, and we do our best to get the source for you from another library. Interlibrary Loan is free for registered faculty, staff, and students and other authorized users at the Boulder Campus.

Scholarly Communication

CU Open Access Open access (OA) is a way of publishing your research that enables it to be freely accessible to the public and usually has limited copyright restrictions. This method of publishing provides people with greater ability to access, view, build upon, and cite research. We can help you make your work openly accessible.
Measure Impact Use this guide to find information about how to measure the impact of your scholarly research. These tools are useful to: quantitatively evaluate your academic productivity and the impact of your work on the discipline; find the top tier journals in the field; demonstrate the impact of your research to funders and employers; find top researchers within a given field.