Research Guides: Engineering: How-to, Methods and Standards

Ask our Engineering, Math & Physics Librarians

Make an appointment

Chat, Call, Text

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

Gemmill Engineering, Math & Physics Library website

Engineering, Science and Design Librarian

Emily Dommermuth

she/her

Email Me

How-To

Knovel Library Scientific and technical reference ebooks from professional societies and various publishers.
O'Reilly-Safari eBooks Ebooks about computer programming languages, databases, software and hardware, human-computer interaction, networking, and related topics. Access Note: Public users - Please ask for assistance at a research desk. Public user login page.
Springer E-Books Scientific, technical, business, economics, medical, and humanities eBooks.
AccessEngineering Engineering and technical reference ebooks, including handbooks, manuals, subject overviews and videos explaining key engineering concepts.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology Reference articles on chemical substancesincluding their properties, manufacturing, and uses. Also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed.

Journal of Visualized Experiments Takes advantage of video technology to capture and transmit the multiple facets and intricacies of life science research.
SAGE Research Methods Online Information about writing a research question, conducting a literature review, choosing a research method, collecting data, and writing up the findings. Coverage spans the full range of research methods used in the social and behavioral sciences, plus a wide range of methods used commonly in sciences, health sciences, and humanities.

Nature Methods

Web of Science, Web of Science database Interdisciplinary index that provides citations for high impact journals. Useful for forward citation searching. Includes some indexing and full-text linking for ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Access note: To access the API, set up your account and select "Web of Science API Lite" at Step 3 “Subscribe to an API.” For research support using the API, please contact the Center for Research Data & Digital Scholarship.

O'Reilly-Safari eBooks Ebooks about computer programming languages, databases, software and hardware, human-computer interaction, networking, and related topics. Access Note: Public users - Please ask for assistance at a research desk. Public user login page.

Codeacademy Online courses for lots of programming languages, lets you share your progress with others and allows you to earn badges based on your progress.
LinkedIn Learning An online library of high-quality video tutorials, created by industry professionals teaching a wide variety of software tools and skills.
w3schools Self-paced tutorials for programming languages for web design and server work, like PHP.
Khan Academy Self-paced video tutorials for many programming languages, including JavaScript and SQL.

Sometimes other people are the best resource. These sites can help you find answers in the community of programmers.

GitHub Open source community where programmers can share code on a wide variety of topics including machine learning to video game design
Stack Overflow Collaboratively edited question and answer site for programmers

Auto Repair Source (EBSCO) A collection of car service and repair manuals from MOTOR.
Small Engine Repair Source (EBSCO) A collection of engine repair manuals from Clymer.
Chiltonlibrary.com (Gale) Authoritative automotive repair information for thousands of year, make and model combinations covering the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, plus additional coverage of specialty models.

Home Improvement Source (EBSCO) Database featuring full-text content from leading home improvement magazines and books.

Standards

What are Technical Standards?

Guidelines for processes, materials and products that ensure quality, safety and interchangeability of parts
Usually written by industrial/professional organizations, business groups, and government bodies
There are both national and international standards

How to Find Standards?

Do you have the standard title or number?

If you have a standard title:

Search in the CU Library Catalog to see if the library owns the standard.
If you cannot find the standard, request assistance from a librarian by sending us an email.

If you have a standard number:

Go to the website of the issuing organization to find a title.
Search in their catalog by keyword or number to find a title.
Once you find a title, search the CU Library Catalog to see if the library owns the standard.
If you cannot find the standard, request assistance from a librarian by sending us an email.

Do you need to find a standard for a topic (but have no title or standard number)?

Search the internet for standards on your topic to see which issuing organizations may be appropriate. If you'd like assistance, please send us an email.
Go to the website of the appropriate issuing organization.
Search in their catalog by keyword or number for a title.
Once you find a title, search the CU Library Catalog to see if the library owns the standard.
If no copy of the standard is available, request assistance by sending us an email.

Find more information about standards at:

Find Standards and Codes
by Emily Dommermuth Last Updated Aug 22, 2024 665 views this year

Building Codes

What are Building Codes?

Rules for the construction of buildings and structures to protect safety and health
Address fire, safety, structure, plumbing, electrical and mechanical aspects of buildings
Codes are established by local municipalities but are often based on national recommendations

Find Building Codes

1. Search Local Municipality for Building Codes

Building codes are generally based on the International Code Council’s (ICC) model codes, but every state and municipality has its own code adoption process and may choose to modify codes to meet local needs.
Conduct an internet search of local and state building codes and related information for your building site.

2. Search for International Code Council (ICC) codes in MADCAD.

MADCAD
Includes International Building Code, Fire Code, Mechanical Code, Gas Code, Plumbing Code, Residential Code, and others. From 1988-2018.

3. Search for municipal codes for thousands of U.S. Cities in Municode Library.

Municode Library

4. Other Important Guidelines for Building Design and Construction

ADA Accessibility Guidelines The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) has ADA Accessibility Guidelines that designers/builders must take into consideration. These requirements are often not addressed in building codes and are subject to legal action by individuals if not incorporated into design.
Fair Housing Rights and Obligations The Federal Fair Housing Act also has Fair Housing Rights and Obligations for meeting the needs of people with disabilities.
Fair Housing Act Design Manual The Fair Housing Act Design Manual provides assistance in meeting the accessibility requirements of the Fair Housing Act.

USGBC LEED Reference Guide for Green Building Design and Construction Detailed information on the process for achieving LEED certification, with complete credit and prerequisite information

Some important codes--such as fire and plumbing codes--are often not addressed specifically in building codes and may not be checked for when building plans are submitted for review. They may be discovered during physical inspection, so it is important to incorporate them into planning and design.

Engineering: How-to, Methods and Standards