Research Guides: Ethnic Studies: Home

Ask A Librarian

Make an appointment

Chat, Call, Text

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

Librarian

Katerina Allmendinger

she/her

Email Me

Guide Collaborators

Kathryn Randall

Native American and Indigenous Studies Librarian

Kathryn.Randall@colorado.edu

Katerina Allmendinger

Ethnic Studies Librarian

katerina.allmendinger@colorado.edu

Getting Started

This guide suggests research methods and offers recommendations for identifying Ethnic Studies research materials. Note: Many historical documents use terminology that is culturally inappropriate or insensitive in reference to African Americans, Asian Americans, Latino/a Americans, and Native Americans and other Indigenous cultures. These terms may still be in use in cataloging systems. Please be aware that you may find harmful and pejorative terminology across sources.

Race, Ethnicity and Post-Colonial Studies Commons
From the Digital Commons Network, find more than 19,000 articles written from 2009-present, all freely available to read online without subscription or CU login. Includes works in the research areas of African American Studies, Indigenous Studies, Ethnic Studies, Chicano/Latinx Studies, Asian American Studies.
Ethnic Studies Collections - CU Archives
Collections available in the CU Archives that relate to Ethnic Studies, including oral histories, student newspapers, photographs, and more.

Asian American Experience (ABC-CLIO)
Research database providing a variety of primary sources, including images, audio clips, documents, and video, covering multiple dimensions of Asian American history and culture, along with scholarly perspectives on issues of enduring importance to the Asian American community and Asian Studies researchers.
ProQuest Black Studies
Collection of primary and secondary sources that record and illuminate the Black experience, from ancient Africa through modern times. Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience is featured in the collection.
Chicano Database (EBSCO)
Covers Latinx in the U.S., including Mexican Americans, Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central Americans.
Ethnic Diversity Source (EBSCO)
Collection of Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and primary sources, supporting Ethnic Studies.

Journals

American Indian Culture and Research
In print since 1971, the American Indian Culture and Research Journal (AICRJ) is an internationally renowned multidisciplinary journal designed for scholars and researchers. The premier journal in Native American and Indigenous studies, it publishes original scholarly papers and book reviews on a wide range of issues in fields ranging from history to anthropology to cultural studies to education and more. It is published three times per year by the UCLA American Indian Studies Center.
Journal of Asian American Studies
JAAS is the official publication of the Association for Asian American Studies. The Journal of Asian American Studies (JAAS) explores aspects of Asian American and Pacific Islander experiences through original articles detailing new theoretical developments, research results, methodological innovations, public policy concerns, and pedagogical issues. The Journal also publishes book, media, and exhibition reviews. As a much-needed outlet for the increasing volume of scholarship in the field, JAAS provides an avenue for a quick and lively exchange of ideas.
Latin American and Caribbean Ethnic Studies
Latin American and Caribbean Ethnic Studies (LACES) is a cross-disciplinary venue for quality research on ethnicity, race relations, and indigenous peoples. It is open to case studies, comparative analysis and theoretical contributions that reflect innovative and critical perspectives, focused on any country or countries in Latin America and the Caribbean, written by authors from anywhere in the world. In a context in which ethnic issues are becoming increasingly important throughout the region, we are seeing the rapid expansion of a considerable corpus of work on their social, political, and cultural implications. The aim of the Journal is to play a constructive role in the consolidation of this new field of studies and in the configuration of its contours as an intellectual enterprise.
Latino Studies
Latino Studies is an international, peer-reviewed journal. Its principal aim is to advance interdisciplinary scholarship about the lived experience and struggles of Latinas and Latinos for equity, representation, and social justice. Sustaining the tradition of activist scholarship of the founders of Chicana and Chicano Studies and Puerto Rican Studies, we critically engage the study of the local, national, transnational, and hemispheric realities that continue to influence the Latina and Latino presence in the United States.
Journal of Race, Ethnicity, and Politics
The Journal of Race, Ethnicity, and Politics (JREP) is the official journal of the Race, Ethnicity, and Politics section of the American Political Science Association. JREP highlights critical and timely research into the multiple junctures between politics and issues of race, ethnicity, immigration, and indigeneity, as well as their intersections with other axes of identity and marginalization. The journal publishes work that broadly focuses on racial and ethnic politics, from scholars across all subfields of political science and allied disciplines. The key distinguishing feature of the journal is its focus on politics, whether in a single country, across countries, or transnationally.JREP is open with respect to areas of substantive focus, with methods and approaches ranging from political theory and critical studies, to qualitative, statistical, and experimental approaches.
American Indian Quarterly
American Indian Quarterly has earned its reputation as one of the dominant journals in American Indian studies by presenting the best and most thought-provoking scholarship in the field. AIQ is a forum for diverse voices and perspectives spanning a variety of academic disciplines. The common thread is AIQ’s commitment to publishing work that contributes to the development of American Indian studies as a field and to the sovereignty and continuance of American Indian nations and cultures. In addition to peer-reviewed articles, AIQ features reviews of books, films, and exhibits.

Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
200+ news publications. Articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)
Current issues of The Atlantic.
New York Times: Online Access
Access note: Log in required. Register for a free account with your colorado.edu email address. Students will have access until graduation date; staff and faculty must renew account every 364 days.

Not finding the article you're looking for? Magazines may sometimes publish content in print which is not available through our online subscriptions. Try requesting the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Critical Ethnic Studies by Critical Ethnic Studies Editorial Collective
ISBN: 9780822374367
Publication Date: 2016-04-15
Building on the intellectual and political momentum that established the Critical Ethnic Studies Association, this Reader inaugurates a radical response to the appropriations of liberal multiculturalism while building on the possibilities enlivened by the historical work of Ethnic Studies. It does not attempt to circumscribe the boundaries of Critical Ethnic Studies; rather, it offers a space to promote open dialogue, discussion, and debate regarding the field's expansive, politically complex, and intellectually rich concerns. Covering a wide range of topics, from multiculturalism, the neoliberal university, and the exploitation of bodies to empire, the militarized security state, and decolonialism, these twenty-five essays call attention to the urgency of articulating a Critical Ethnic Studies for the twenty-first century.

kweliTV
An interactive streaming platform that shares the African Diaspora experience through documentaries, films, web shows, children’s programming, news and more.
Access note: Click "Skip" to access kweliITV directly.
Asian Film Online (Alexander Street)
Repository of documentaries, feature films and shorts that provides a first-hand perspective into contemporary Asian issues through the voices of Asian filmmakers and content producers.
Black Studies in Video (Alexander Street)
Collection of documentaries, interviews, and previously unavailable archival footage surveying the black experience. The collection contains 500 hours of film covering African American history, politics, art and culture, family structure, gender relationships, and social and economic issues.
Border and Migration Studies Online (Alexander Street)
Primary source documents, archives, films, and ephemera related to significant border areas and events from the 19th to 21st centuries.
Caribbean Studies in Video: The Banyan Archive (Alexander Street)
Streaming video collection highlighting the oral and visual history of the culture, society, and identity of the Caribbean people.
Contemporary Global Issues in Video (Alexander Street)
This collection offers a comprehensive look at worldwide challenges with coverage across a broad range of topics, including environmental crises, social justice, and political conflicts.
Docuseek
Independent, documentary, and social issues films. Also includes a selection of international feature films.
Docuseek2 Complete Collection (Alexander Street)
Independent, documentary, and social issues films.
Ethnographic Video Online (Alexander Street)
Contains documentaries, feature and short films made by and for indigenous people and communities. Topics include climate change, sustainability, history, cultural change, and storytelling.
Food Studies Online (Alexander Street)
Includes rare and hard-to-find archival content with visual ephemera, text, and video. Spanning social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications relating to food studies.
Kanopy
Kanopy offers over 8,500 streaming films, documentaries, educational and training videos from an array of producers and distributors including BBC Active and Criterion Collection/Janus films. All videos work on PCs with Flash, iPads, iPhones, and mobile devices.
Latin America in Video (Alexander Street)
This collection offers original language documentaries about Latin American issues such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education and religion.

Land Acknowledgement

CU Boulder's Land Acknowledgement
The University of Colorado Boulder, Colorado’s flagship university, honors and recognizes the many contributions of Indigenous peoples in our state. CU Boulder acknowledges that it is located on the traditional territories and ancestral homelands of the Cheyenne, Arapaho, Ute and many other Native American nations. Their forced removal from these territories has caused devastating and lasting impacts. While the University of Colorado Boulder can never undo or rectify the devastation wrought on Indigenous peoples, we commit to improving and enhancing engagement with Indigenous peoples and issues locally and globally.

We will do this by: Recognizing and amplifying the voices of Indigenous CU Boulder students, staff and faculty and their work. Educating, conducting research, supporting student success and integrating Indigenous knowledge. Consulting, engaging and working collaboratively with tribal nations to enhance our ability to provide access and culturally sensitive support and to recruit, retain and graduate Native American students in a climate that is inclusive and respectful.
more...less...
Land acknowledgments honor the contributions, histories and place-based knowledge of Indigenous peoples with historic and contemporary ties to lands across what is today known as the United States. Land acknowledgments also recognize the devastating and lasting impacts of the forced assimilation and forced removal of Indigenous peoples from their traditional territories and ancestral homelands, including the lands that are now part of Colorado and the University of Colorado Boulder.

CU Boulder, founded the same year Colorado became a state in 1876, recognizes that it sits on the traditional territories and ancestral homelands of the Arapaho, Cheyenne, Ute and many other Native American nations. Recognizing the history of the state, the university and the campus’s origin story, however difficult, and the histories and experiences of the Indigenous peoples who have lived in these territories for millennia aligns with the campus’s academic and research missions as Colorado’s flagship public research university.

CU Boulder’s land acknowledgment is an iterative work in progress and is expected to evolve over time. While it is not a requirement, students, faculty and staff may read the land acknowledgement during campus meetings and use it in email signatures and on campus websites to show their support for the success and well-being of Indigenous students, faculty and staff at CU Boulder, for Native American communities in Colorado and nationwide, and for First Peoples worldwide.

Ethnic Studies at CU Boulder

One of only four departments in the U.S. to offer a PhD in Ethnic Studies, the Department of Ethnic Studies at the University of Colorado Boulder has a long history. With the establishment of the African American Program and the Mexican American Program in the late 1960s and early 1970s, and through the continued action and scholarship of students and faculty, the proposed department of Ethnic Studies was established in 1996.

Related Guides

Subjects

Ethnic Studies Collections - CU Archives
by University of Colorado Boulder Libraries Rare and Distinctive Collections Last Updated Jul 15, 2024 3 views this year
Indigenous Research & Knowledges in North America
by Kathryn Randall Last Updated Jan 14, 2025 334 views this year
Indigenous Film Guide
by Kathia Ibacache Last Updated Sep 26, 2024 12 views this year
Religious Studies: Start Here
by Ask a Librarian Last Updated Oct 25, 2024 8 views this year
Indigenous Created Books and Films
by Kathia Ibacache Last Updated Dec 19, 2024 14 views this year
Women & Gender Studies: Start Here
by Ask a Librarian Last Updated Oct 25, 2024 11 views this year
History Research
by Frederick Carey Last Updated Jul 15, 2024 8 views this year
Cinema Studies
by Alex Watkins Last Updated Jan 8, 2025 48 views this year
Sociology
by Allan Van Hoye Last Updated Aug 5, 2024 99 views this year
Center for African and African American Studies Research Guide
by Katerina Allmendinger Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 15 views this year