Being the stewards of the RaD archival collections is our primary goal. This means deciding the best use of our resources and aligning our goals to the Library and the University's mission of education and access. To do this sometimes we need to be selective in what we collect. Review the two following tabs to get a sense of our holdings and where we plan to grow the collections. All of these collecting areas contain photographic materials.
| In partnership with CU Boulder’s College of Music, the Archives co-manages collections documenting classical, popular, and traditional American music, including the Glenn Miller collection and the history of popular music in Colorado. | |
| Atomic West | Collections documenting nuclear and anti-nuclear activity in the Rocky Mountain West after World War II. |
| Colorado politics and politicians | Collections documenting the professional and personal lives of Colorado politicians in the 20th and 21st centuries, especially those with affiliations to the University of Colorado Boulder. |
| Experimental Film and Video | Collections of personal papers, production documentation, and audio-visual materials relating to the history of American experimental film production, centered around the history of experimental filmmaking at CU Boulder and its influence nationwide. |
| Innovations in Jewish Life | In partnership with CU Boulder’s Program in Jewish Studies, the Innovations in Jewish Life (IJL) collections examine Judaism and Jewish American life and innovation from the aftermath of World War II to the present. The IJL material sheds light on postwar, innovative religious, cultural, and social developments among American Jews and Judaism, along with the various philosophies of Judaism and Jewish organizations that inform those developments. In particular, the IJL documents innovative ritual life, Jewish Renewal, Jewish social justice movements, Jewish farming and camping movements, progressive Jewish figures, and activist Jewish student groups across North America. These collections examine Jewish life in the Rocky Mountain Region and the U.S. west more broadly. |
| History of Natural Science and the Environment | Collections documenting research and scholarship about natural science, climate, and the environment, especially in Colorado and the Rocky Mountain West. |
| Rocky Mountain Counterculture and Social Change | Collections documenting social movements and change in the Rocky Mountain West, with a special focus on Colorado, from the 1960s to the present day. |
| Rocky Mountain labor and labor rights | Collections primarily documenting mining, oil, chemical, and atomic work in the Rocky Mountain West, as well as labor rights and labor organizations in these areas. |
| University of Colorado Boulder History and Records | Acting as the unofficial institutional repository for the university, the Archives may collect, some records of campus offices, departments, and student organizations, with a special emphasis on materials that document the history of the U.S. Navy Japanese Language School. The Archives also collects some faculty and alumni papers. |