Skip to Main Content

HIST 1061, The Rise and Fall of Ancient Rome (Jobin) Special Collections: A Roman Foundation: Virgil's Aeneid

Virgil's Aeneid

 

Virgil's Aeneid, Book VII, 139-198, Italy, c, . 1350, MS 12, James Hayes Collection

Special Collections, CU Boulder Libraries

Writing c. 19 BCE during the rule of Caesar Augustus (27 BCE-CE 14), Virgil draws a parallel between Aeneas, the Trojan founder of Rome, and Augustus, founder of a new Rome and heir to Aeneas and the goddess Venus.   The story recounts the flight of Aeneas and fellow Trojans from their destroyed city to Rome. 

Special Collections' leaf of Book VII (c. 1350), shown above, displays the annotations and doodles characteristic of a heavily used manuscript.  The glosses to Book XII shown in the text below, printed in the late fifteenth century, are entirely printed.

    

Virgil's Aeneid, Book XII, Italy, late 15th Century, MS 112, James Hayes Collection

Special Collections, CU Boulder Libraries

Special Collections' etchings, several of which are included below, are part of a bound volume of Virgil's Aeneid, that offers of pictorial view with a previous owner's hand-written descriptions of Aeneas' encounters from Troy, Carthage, and Italy.  Although there is no signature, the etchings appear to be those of Pietro Santi Bartoli, who worked in the late seventeenth century. 

For a full text English translation of Virgil's Aeneid, see the Internet Classics Archive, MIT. 

    

                                                    

          

[Pietro Santi Bartoli]?,  Engravings to Illustrate the Works of Virgil,  Books 1, 4, 5, 7, 9, 12, late 17th century?

       Special Collections, CU Boulder Libraries

Fall 2021: Libraries hours, service updates

All five campus libraries are now open. Read about open hours and other important service updates.