Research Guides: Archival Sources for Media Production: Other area archives

Rare and Distinctive Collections

Classroom: Norlin N345

Reading Room: Norlin M350B

A number of other institutions in the Front Range area hold collections of archival media, photographs, and historical documents that may be relevant to your research or creative work. See the links below for information on searching, accessing, and using their material.

Denver Public Library
The Denver Public Library holds over 6,000 collections of archival material related to the city of Denver and the Rocky Mountain Region, including the collections of the Blair Caldwell African American Research Library. Topics in their collection also include the 10th Mountain Division of the U.S. Army, the history of environmental conservation movements, and Colorado tourism.
History Colorado
Formerly the Colorado Historical Society, History Colorado's Stephen H. Hart Research Center in Denver holds expansive collections of material related to the history of the state of Colorado, including historic maps, oral histories, newspapers, and television news footage collections, in addition to films from and about Colorado from 1915 to the present.
University of Denver
Archival collections held at the University of Denver include the Beck Archives of Rocky Mountain Jewish History, the Dance Archive collections related to folk dance traditions, and the personal collections of local literary and artistic figures.
Barco Library at the Cable Center
The Barco Library at Denver's Cable Center holds a large collection of materials related to the cable industry and media history. Their audio-visual materials include recordings of 1980s cable television programming and extensive interviews, conference proceedings, and other recordings related to the communications industry.
Colorado State University
The Archives at Colorado State University in Fort Collins specialize particularly in the history of agriculture, natural resources, and water resources in Colorado and the American West.
Denver Museum of Nature and Science
The Archives and Image Archives at the Denver Museum of Nature and Science documents the history of the Museum, though it includes a wide array of material related to the history of anthropology, geology, paleontology, and zoology.
University of Wyoming
The American Heritage Center at the University of Wyoming, in Laramie, contains more than 3500 collections of historical records related to many topics in Western American history, including women's suffrage, Native Americans, ranching, transportation, mining, natural resources, and the environment. They also hold material related to entertainment, media, and journalism industries.

Additional archival collections may be found at: