Research Guides: Financial Research: Commodities

Ask A Business Librarian

Call (303) 492-8367

Mergent Archives
CRB Yearbook. Mergent Commodity Yearbook Collection Includes worldwide supply/demand and production/consumption data for all the basic commodities and futures markets– from A(luminum) to Z(inc), including all the major markets in interest rates, currencies, energy, grains and stock index futures. Over 900 tables, graphs and price charts of historical data, many of which show price history dating back to 1939.

The CRB commodity yearbook by Commodity Research Bureau
Call Number: HF1041 .C56
Publication Date: 1985-
The Commodities Research Board Commodity Yearbook is released annually and provides analysis of the various commodities markets.

Commodities Future Trading Commission
The Commodities Futures Trading Commission (CFTC) is the regulatory body for all commodities trading in the United States. Their site provides access to filings, market reports, and all things relating to commodities. Their list of trading organizations can be useful in determining where to investigate further.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Primary Commodity Prices Webpage
Provides information on primary commodity market developments.
Search for commodities data at http://data.imf.org
World Bank Commodity Markets
Current commodity prices and quarterly forecasts.
FAOSTAT
This site from the Food and Agriculture Organization provides selected information on commodity balances and prices internationally.

OECD iLibrary
Use this source to search for International Trade by Commodity Statistics. The iLibrary provides reliable yearly data covering a wide range of statistics on the international trade of OECD countries and provides detailed data on commodities. Each of the first four volumes of International Trade by Commodity Statistics contains the tables for seven countries. The fifth volume contains the tables for the remaining six countries, as well as OECD Total and EU28-Extra. Journal issues date back to 1998.