Search multiple newspapers and news transcripts with one search using news aggregator databases. Each database offers slightly different title lists and interfaces for searching, viewing, and downloading articles. The database(s) you use will depend on your sample and database interface preferences.
Databases have limits on the number of articles you can download at a time and the number of articles you can download per session/day. The information below is the best to our knowledge, but features can change with little notice. Please get in touch if you have any questions.
Newspaper Aggregators AnalysisA library organization reviewed select news databases and compared their content and features. CU Boulder Libraries may not have access to all of these databases.
Recommended Databases for Recent News Articles
Access World News Research Collection (NewsBank) Title List: On the Access World News homepage, at the top, click on "A-Z Source List"
Date Coverage: As early as 1970s/1980s, but varies by publication
Formats: Text and images of newspapers, magazines, newswires, television news transcripts, videos, and web-only content.
Download limits: 20 articles at time in PDF format.
Nexis Uni Nexis Uni Title List: Scroll down to "Content Listing" and click on "View Content Listing"
Date Coverage: As early as 1980s/1990s, but varies by publication
Formats: Text of newspapers, magazines, newswires, and some television news transcripts
Download limits: 100 articles at a time in PDF, docx, or rtf formats. Select the articles you want, and go to another page of results, and select more articles. When you reach 100, download the articles.
Tip: You can also adjust the results to display up to 50 results. On the top right, there’s a “sort by” and “Relevance” in a drop-down box. Open the box and click on “Edit default order”. At the top of the page there’s a section called “Results Display Settings” and you can change the number of results to display per page to 50. Go back to your results.
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) Title List: On the US Newsstream homepage, at the top, click on "Publications"
Date Coverage: As early as 1980s/1990s, but varies by publication
Formats: Mostly text, but some images and videos of newspapers, magazines, and newswires
Download limits: 100 articles at a time in PDF, xls, rtf, and txt formats.
Can export a list of up to 20,000 search results (title of article, author, date published, publication, URL, etc.) by following the instructions in the article "How can I export all my search results in ProQuest". This is for exporting the list of results, not individual articles.
ProQuest News and Newspapers Title List: On the ProQuest News and Newspapers homepage, at the top, click on "Publications"
Date Coverage: As early as 1800s to present, but varies by publication. Large number of publications begins in 1990s/2000s.
Formats: Mostly text, but some images and videos of newspapers, magazines, and newswires
Download limits: 100 articles at a time in PDF, xls, rtf, and txt formats.
Can export a list of up to 20,000 search results (title of article, author, date published, publication, URL, etc.) by following the instructions in the article "How can I export all my search results in ProQuest". This is for exporting the list of results, not individual articles.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) Newspaper Source Plus Title List: Right side of the page, view as Excel or HTML
Date Coverage: As early as late 1990s, but varies by publication
Formats: Text and some scanned pages of newspapers, magazines, and newswires; some television news transcripts; photos
Download limits: No download limits, but can only batch download articles that are in HTML. PDFs need to be downloaded individually.
Information last updated October 2021
Additional Databases
A-Z Databases: Newspaper DatabasesA list of all of the Libraries' newspaper databases
GDELT ProjectThe GDELT Project monitors the world's broadcast, print, and web news from nearly every corner of every country in over 100 languages and identifies the people, locations, organizations, themes, sources, emotions, counts, quotes, images and events driving our global society every second of every day, creating a free open platform for computing on the entire world. Coverage begins in 1979.
Note: Doesn't appear full text articles are available, but users can create data visualizations with their data.
Stanford Cable TV News AnalyzerFrom the Internet Archive's TV News Archive, this dataset provides an analysis of transcripts from CNN, Fox News, and MSNBC between January 1, 2010 to present.
