Research Guides: Mathematics: Stay Informed

Ask our Engineering, Math & Physics Librarians

Make an appointment

Chat, Call, Text

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

Gemmill Engineering, Math & Physics Library website

New Math Books

History Of Math

MacTutor History of Mathematics Archive

Newest Books from the Engineering, Math and Physics Popular Science Reading Collection

Doppelganger: A Trip into the Mirror World

The Art of Avoiding Burnout: A Quickstart Guide from Exhaustion to Empowerment: Boosting Resilience and Productivity while Reducing Stress for Lasting Well-being

The Practice of Groundedness: A Transformative Path to Success That Feeds--Not Crushes--Your Soul

Numbers Don't Lie: 71 Stories to Help Us Understand the Modern World

Solvable: How We Healed the Earth, and How We Can Do It Again

The Hank Show: How a House-Painting, Drug-Running DEA Informant Built the Machine That Rules Our Lives

City Limits: Infrastructure, Inequality, and the Future of America's Highways 2024

Extremely Online: The Untold Story of Fame, Influence, and Power on the Internet

To Infinity and Beyond: A Journey of Cosmic Discovery

Women of Science: 100 Inspirational Lives

Women Discoverers: Top Women in Science

Forces of Nature: The Women who Changed Science

Code Dependent: Living in the Shadow of AI

Is Math Real?: How Simple Questions Lead Us to Mathematics’ Deepest Truths

Quantum Supremacy: How the Quantum Computer Revolution Will Change Everything

Weird Math: A Teenage Genius and His Teacher Reveal the Strange Connections Between Math and Everyday Life

Weirder Maths: At the Edge of the Possible

Weirdest Maths: At the Frontiers of Reason

The Cartoon Introduction to Calculus

The Possibility of Life: Science, Imagination, and Our Quest for Kinship in the Cosmos

Alien Earths: The New Science of Planet Hunting in the Cosmos

In a Flight of Starlings: How Nature Unlocks the Wonders of Physics

Too Big for a Single Mind: How the Greatest Generation of Physicists Uncovered the Quantum World

Quanta and Fields: The Biggest Ideas in the Universe

The Parrot and the Igloo: Climate and the Science of Denial

Neuroqueer Heresies: Notes on the Neurodiversity Paradigm, Autistic Empowerment, and Postnormal Possibilities 2021

The Singularity Is Nearer: When We Merge with AI

Scattered Minds: The Origins and Healing of Attention Deficit Disorder

She, DISRUPTS: A Black Woman’s Journey in the STEM and AI Industries

Crossings: How Road Ecology Is Shaping the Future of Our Planet

The Six: The Untold Story of America's First Women Astronauts

The New Guys: The Historic Class of Astronauts That Broke Barriers and Changed the Face of Space Travel

Space Shuttle Stories: Firsthand Astronaut Accounts from All 135 Missions

A City on Mars: Can we settle space, should we settle space, and have we really thought this through?

Challenger: A True Story of Heroism and Disaster on the Edge of Space

The Coming Wave: Technology, Power, and the Twenty-first Century's Greatest Dilemma

Gemmill Popular Science Reading Collection

Find more titles from the Gemmill Popular Science Reading Collection.

Explore Math Journals with Browzine

Professional News and Societies

Professional societies are a great source of information and offer networking opportunities and career resources. They often publish magazines, blogs, or newsletters with news, trends, and developments relevant to professionals in the field.

Here are some suggestions of professional news sources for mathematics:

The AWM Newsletter Published by The Association for Women in Mathematics. Contains informative articles, book reviews, and announcements of upcoming events of interest, as well as a broad range of ads including job announcements from academic, industry, and government organizations
Chance Published by the American Statistical Association. Designed for anyone who has an interest in using data to advance science, education, and society. Highlights applications that demonstrate sound statistical practice.
Math Horizons The undergraduate magazine of the Mathematical Association of America
Significance Published by the Royal Statistical Society (RSS) and the American Statistical Association (ASA). Explains how and why statistics helps in life, science and commerce. Written by statisticians for anyone with an interest in the analysis and interpretation of data. Challenges myths, provide a unique perspective on the stories of the day, and use statistics to answer society's most difficult questions.

SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) Provides full-text to science and technology scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications. Includes the following collections: Natural Science Collection, Technology Collection

There are many other sources of news relevant to math, and STEM more broadly, so seek out more sources! Also consider following researchers and professionals on Twitter and LinkedIn to learn about news and trends.