Research Guides: Los Seis de Boulder: A Resource Guide: Primary Sources

Rare and Distinctive Collections

Classroom: Norlin N345

Reading Room: Norlin M350B

Primary Sources Documenting Los Seis de Boulder

The primary sources listed below include archival collections that document the events of and surrounding the May 1974 "Los Seis de Boulder" bombings, These collections are organized into two categories: those available in the CU Boulder Libraries Rare and Distinctive Collections and those that are available at other institutions or organizations. These archival collections contain unique, one-of-a-kind papers, photographs, organizational records, and films documenting Los Seis, as well as other events and individuals related to El Movimiento (the Chicano Movement) in Colorado.

Image credit: El Diario de la Gente, Volume III, Number 1, June 11, 1974, p. 2. Source: Colorado Historic Newspaper Collection

Primary Sources at the CU Boulder Libraries

Click on the links below to learn more information about these collections held at the CU Boulder Libraries. Contact rad@colorado.edu to access any of these collections in the RaD Reading Room in Norlin Library. We may also be able to provide you with PDF copies of collection materials if you are not able to visit us in person.

For more information on CU's Rare and Distinctive Collections, visit our website: https://libraries.colorado.edu/libraries-collections/rare-distinctive

CU Chicanx and Latinx History digital collection (CU Digital Library)
This digital collection on the CU Digital Library contains digitizd archival material from Rare and Distinctive Collections that documents the history of Chicanx and Latinx students, staff, and faculty at the University of Colorado Boulder. The first phase of the project includes materials documenting the rise of El Movimiento (the Chicano Movement) at the university between 1968-1974. The records included in this phase document the founding of the United Mexican American Students (UMAS) organization on campus in 1968; the development of the UMAS-Equal Opportunity Program (UMAS-EOP); the 1973-1974 financial aid crisis that culminated in UMAS leaders taking over UMAS-EOP offices in Temporary Building #1 (TB-1) in May 1974; and the deaths of “Los Seis de Boulder,” among other subjects.
El Diario de la Gente student newspapers collection (COU:2641)
El Diario de la Gente was an independent Chicano student newspaper that was published bi-weekly by the United Mexican American Students (UMAS) at the University of Colorado from 1972-1980.
Ernesto Vigil papers (COU:1639)
Ernesto B. Vigil (1948-), a Chicano Movement activist and educator in Denver, is a historian of the Chicano Movement in Colorado. His collection consist of Chicano newsletters, newspapers, books, articles and essays related to his research on Chicano experience, specifically in Denver, Colorado.
"Los Seis de Boulder" bombings law enforcement investigation records, 1974-2021 (COU:5039)
Records documenting local and federal law enforcement investigations of the "Los Seis de Boulder" car bombings of May 27 and 29, 1974 in Boulder, Colorado, which killed six men and women, five of whom were affiliated with the University of Colorado as students, alumni, or former employees. All of the victims were involved in El Movimiento (the Chicano social justice movement).
United Mexican American Students (UMAS) records (COU:3673)
Records of the UMAS (now UMAS y MECHA) student organization from its founding at the University of Colorado Boulder in 1968 to 2018.
University of Colorado Police Department (CUPD) records (COU:3991)
The University of Colorado Boulder Police Department was founded in September 1949 and it is responsible for the University of Colorado Boulder campus. This collection consists of slides, photographs, log books, reports, notes and newspaper clippings documenting the campus police department. It includes reference to Chicano activism, African American activism, student activism, anti war protests, campus fires among other incidents such as burglaries, assaults, and safety issues.

Other Primary Sources

The following archival and primary source collections are housed at other institutions. Click on the linked titles below for a description, or finding aid, to each collection. For access to these collections, please contact the repository listed on the finding aid.

Francisco E. Martínez Papers, 1966-1995 (Center for Southwest Research and Special Collections, University of New Mexico)
Papers of of Chicano activist attorney Francisco "Kiko" Martínez, including his research into deaths of Chicano activists Ricardo Falcón and "Los Seis de Boulder."
Juan Espinosa photographs collection, 1971-1974 (History Colorado)
Photographs taken by Juan Espinosa, a journalism student at CU Boulder from 1971-1974. While at CU, Espinosa photographed the events and people of the Chicano civil rights movement in Colorado, Arizona, Texas, and California, including the 1973-1974 financial aid protests, May 1974 occupation of TB-1, and the aftermath of the Los Seis de Boulder bombings at the university,
Juan Federico "Freddie Freak" Miguel Arguello Trujillo Chicano Movement collection, 1965-2009 (Colorado Chicano Movement Archives, Colorado State University-Pueblo)
The collection compiled by Chicano Movement activist Juan Federico “Freddie Freak” Miguel Arguello Trujillo contains materials relating to the Chicano Movement in Colorado, including at CU Boulder.
Latino History Project: Los Seis de Boulder bombing primary source set
The Latino History Project aims to correct the limited presence of local Latino history and culture in most Colorado histories and school curriculums.
Oral history interview with Augustine Eliseo Cordova, 2013
Augustine Cordova is retired as a programmer/software engineer at IBM and is also a musician. Among other topics, he talks about his participation in street theater and musical groups to publicize Chicano issues and describes what happened with the bombing of “Los Seis de Boulder.” He recites a song that he wrote about Los Seis de Boulder. This interview was recorded on July 31, 2013, for the Boulder County Latino History Project and the Maria Rogers Oral History Program. The interviewer is Margaret Alfonso. The interview was transcribed by Veronica Lamas.
Una Jaakola papers, 1974 (Colorado Chicano Movement Archives, Colorado State University-Pueblo)
This collection contains materials relating to student activist Una Jaakola and Los Seis de Boulder. Includes a bust of Una Jaakola, letters, fliers, and newspaper clippings.
United Mexican American Students records, 1967-2009 (Colorado Chicano Movement Archives, Colorado State University-Pueblo)
Records documenting the activities of the United Mexican American Students organization at CU Boulder, including minutes, correspondence, financial records, subject files and publications.