Los Seis de Boulder: A Resource Guide: Books

The largest social movement by people of Mexican descent in the U.S. to date, the Chicano Movement of the 1960s and 70s linked civil rights activism with a new, assertive ethnic identity: Chicano Power! Beginning with the farmworkers' struggle led by César Chávez and Dolores Huerta, the Movement expanded to urban areas throughout the Southwest, Midwest and Pacific Northwest, as a generation of self-proclaimed Chicanos fought to empower their communities. Recently, a new generation of historians has produced an explosion of interesting work on the Movement. The Chicano Movement: Perspectives from the Twenty-First Century collects the various strands of this research into one readable collection, exploring the contours of the Movement while disputing the idea of it being one monolithic group. Bringing the story up through the 1980s, The Chicano Movement introduces students to the impact of the Movement, and enables them to expand their understanding of what it means to be an activist, a Chicano, and an American.

Describes the decades-long covert counterintelligence program code-named Cointelpro directed against socialists and activists in the Black and anti-Vietnam War movements. The operations revealed in the documents cited in this book many of them photographically reproduced provide an unprecedented look at the methods used by the FBI, CIA, military intelligence, and other U.S. police agencies.

This account of the Chicano movement in 1960s Denver reveals the intolerance and brutality that inspired and accompanied the organization known as the Crusade for Justice. The author, a former member of the Crusade, reveals the damaging effects of the authorities on ethnic liberation movements.

This book provides original source documents--from firsthand accounts to media responses to legislation--regarding the Chicano movement of the 1960s through 1970s. Readers will understand the key events, individuals, and developments of La Causa: Chicanos uniting to free themselves from exploitation. The 1960s was a time of the burgeoning black Civil Rights movement, when society and politics were divided over the war in Vietnam and public violence became "normal" in the form of police response to protests and assassinations of leaders. It was also a time that witnessed the beginning of a movement to secure justice and rights on behalf of Mexican-Americans and other Latinos. It was the Chicano movement. Documents of the Chicano Movement: Eyewitness to History presents some 50 primary historical documents, each prefaced by a succinct introductory essay. Because the Chicano movement comprised disparate groups and leaders from across the nation, the book will be divided into several sections that acknowledge these separate but connected efforts, each headed by its own introduction. Through its detailed coverage of approximately two decades, the book highlights key topics that include the fight of farm workers to establish a union; the so-called "Land-Grant Struggle" to reclaim areas of the Southwest ceded in the Treaty of Guadalupe Hildago; the establishment in New Mexico of the Crusade for Justice, an organization that promoted a nationalistic agenda; the growth of the urban Chicano student movement and its drive for educational reform; the Chicano Antiwar Moratorium protests; and the eventual rise of Chicano political power with the birth of the La Raza Unida Party. The breadth of primary documents include materials from archives, manuscript repositories, newspapers, government documents, public speeches and addresses, first-person accounts from individuals who participated directly in the Chicano movement, legal decisions, pamphlets, and essays. The documents not only tell a vivid, engaging story but also provide students and researchers with valuable resources for use in other works. Provides readers with original source documents that trace the origins and accomplishments of the Chicano movement--a national effort of a minority group to gain civil rights, to strive for political and social advancement, and to establish and take pride in their unique cultural identity Presents compelling insights into how numerous Chicano individuals during the turbulent era of the 1960s-1970s were inspired to stand up and fight against the social, cultural, and legal injustices suffered by Latinos in the United States for generations Offers historical documentation of how political activism and organization can not only challenge entrenched interests but sometimes succeed

This book furthers appreciation of key pieces in American literature from the Chicano Movement by placing them in the context of history, society, and culture. Part of Greenwood's new Historical Exploration of Literature series, this book provides teachers with ready-reference works that align language arts and social studies standards for secondary classes on the topic of the Chicano Movement. It will serve to help students better understand key pieces in American literature from the Chicano Movement by putting them in the context of history, society, and culture through historical context essays, literary analysis, chronologies, documents, and suggestions for discussion and further research. The book includes works such as Bless Me Última by Rudolfo Anaya (1972), This Migrant Earth by Tomás Rivera (1970), The Revolt of the Cockroach People by Oscar Z. Acosta (1973), and The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros (1984). The book also supplies additional information in the form of chronologies, historical context essays, and primary document excerpts that support understanding of the historical period, as well as materials such as activities, lesson plans, discussion questions, topics for further research, and suggested readings. Offers a one-stop reference work for teachers covering the Chicano Movement as well as their students Integrates and aligns material for American literature and social studies curriculum Focuses on innovative literary works that align with the ELA Common Core Standards Provides tools to support literary works--analysis, history, document excerpts, and discussion questions

In the 1960s and 1970s, an energetic new social movement emerged among Mexican Americans. Fighting for civil rights and celebrating a distinct ethnic identity, the Chicano Movement had a lasting impact on the United States, from desegregation to bilingual education. Rethinking the Chicano Movement provides an astute and accessible introduction to this vital grassroots movement. Bringing together different fields of research, this comprehensive yet concise narrative considers the Chicano Movement as a national, not just regional, phenomenon, and places it alongside the other important social movements of the era. Rodriguez details the many different facets of the Chicano movement, including college campuses, third-party politics, media, and art, and traces the development and impact of one of the most important post-WWII social movements in the United States.