Research Guides: University Libraries for First-Year Engineers: Career Development

Ask our Engineering, Math & Physics Librarians

Make an appointment

Chat, Call, Text

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

Gemmill Engineering, Math & Physics Library website

Engineering, Science and Design Librarian

Emily Dommermuth

she/her

Email Me

Engineering Career Development

Engineering Career Services

The Engineering Career Services team assist with exploring your career interests and strengths, learn about industries to pursue, and develop effective strategies to launch your engineering career. Services we provide include:

Exploring career and academic program options
Creating effective application materials (i.e. resumes, cover letters, and LinkedIn profiles)
Charting your internship and job search strategy
Preparing for career fairs, networking events, and interviews
Navigating offers and salary negotiations

Designing Your Life: How to Build a Well-Lived, Joyful Life

Engineering Your Future: A Brief Introduction to Engineering

Engineering Your Future: A Comprehensive Introduction to Engineering

Find Your Path: Unconventional Lessons from 36 Leading Scientists and Engineers

Innovation for Engineers : Developing Creative and Entrepreneurial Success

Learning Engineering Practice

Practical Career Advice for Engineers: Personal Letters from an Experienced Engineer to Students and New Engineers

She Engineers: Outsmart Bias, Unlock your Potential, and Create the Engineering Career of your Dreams

Unapologetically Dope: Lessons for Black Women and Girls on Surviving and Thriving in the Tech Field

Find Career Resources

Looking for career information, industry research, or company profiles? This guide provides an overview of resources available at the CU Libraries.

Professional News and Societies

Many CU Boulder engineering students are involved with chapters of professional engineering societies. Did you know these professional societies are a great source of information, in addition to offering networking and career resources? Often professional societies publish magazines, blogs, or newsletters with news, trends, and developments relevant to professionals working in the field. Here are some suggestions of professional news sources:

ENR: Engineering News Record Provides the engineering and construction news, analysis, commentary and data
IEEE Spectrum IEEE Spectrum Magazine, the flagship publication of the IEEE, explores the development, applications and implications of new technologies.
IEEE Women in Engineering Magazine The first magazine to focus on issues facing women who study or work in IEEE’s fields of interest.

Aerospace America Published by American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, covers critical aerospace technology and policy issues
Air & Space Published by Smithsonian
Ad Astra Published by the National Space Society
Aerospace Industries Association: Blog
IEEE Aerospace and Electronic Systems Magazine Publishes articles concerned with the various aspects of systems for space, air, ocean, or ground environments

Communications of the ACM ACM's flagship magazine. Covering computing technologies, as well as the latest discoveries, innovations, and research that inspire and influence the field.
Interactions Published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Intended for professionals interested in the connections between experiences, people and technology.
XRDS: Crossroads, The ACM Magazine for Students Established in 1994 and published quarterly, XRDS, formerly Crossroads, is the official Association for Computing Machinery magazine for student members. XRDS brings exciting research trends, interviews, columns, and career advice articles. The magazine also lists major conferences, calls for papers, grants and fellowships, and other useful information to help students make the most of their educational careers.

Biomedical Instrumentation & Technology Covers the development, use and maintenance of medical instrumentation, including testing, evaluation, and purchasing.
Medical Design News For design engineers, engineering managers, and related technical personnel who design, develop, and manufacture components and manufacturing equipment for the medical and biomedical industry.
Medical Design Technology Provides information for design engineers, R&D and technical personnel who work at medical device manufacturers, contract manufacturers, in-vitro diagnostic and pharmaceutical manufacturing firms.

CEP Magazine: Chemical Engineering Progress Published by AIChE, the American American Institute of Chemical Engineers
AIChE Newsletters Sign up for AIChE SmartBrief (weekly, free) and/or AIChExchange (monthly, members only) email newsletters published by AIChE, the American American Institute of Chemical Engineers
Chemistry World Published by the Royal Society of Chemistry
Chemical Engineering Published monthly for chemical engineers and professionals in the chemical process industries

ACS Publications Scholarly publications from the American Chemical Society.

Civil Engineering The magazine of the American Society of Civil Engineers
Water Environment & Technology From the Water Pollution Control Federation
Concrete Published by The Concrete Society

BuildingGreen Suite Articles focusing on healthy and sustainable design processes, construction strategies, materials and products, building science, case studies, and certifications such as LEED and WELL.
DETAIL Inspiration A full-text, image and reference database for architects in English and German sourced from DETAIL print magazine.

LD+A (Lighting Design & Application) From the Illuminating Engineering Society

Communications of the ACM ACM's flagship magazine. Covering computing technologies, as well as the latest discoveries, innovations, and research that inspire and influence the field.
IEEE Magazines IEEE publishes dozens of professional trade magazines. Browse all their titles here.
Electronic Design International technical information for design engineers and engineering managers. Electronic Design provides comprehensive coverage of the electronics industry. Electronic Design covers the technologies required for engineers to make the right design decisions at the right time – quickly & efficiently.
Solar Today Provides information in the area of solar energy for engineers, scientists, architects, educators, practitioners, researchers, and users including actual case histories and reviews of different technologies.

American Society of Engineering Management Blog The American Society for Engineering Management (ASEM) is a global professional society dedicated to the promotion and advancement of the engineering and technical management profession. Engineering Management, broadly defined, is the art and science of planning, organizing, allocating resources, and directing and controlling activities that have a technological or systems component. Engineers and other technical professionals, whose job requires them to assume management duties, must solve complex problems that require expertise and training in these principles.
MIT Sloan Management Review Articles on key issues that affect national and international senior management professionals, focusing on entrepreneurial technologies and business intelligence systems. Explores how leadership and management are transforming in a disruptive world. We help thoughtful leaders capture the exciting opportunities—and face down the challenges— created as technological, societal, and environmental forces reshape how organizations operate, compete, and create value.
McKinsey Quarterly A business magazine focused on management and organizational theory. It is written primarily by McKinsey consultants and alumni, with some guest authors. It also publishes research from the McKinsey Global Institute.
Inc. Successfully start, grow, innovate, and lead your business today: Ideas, resources, advice, support, tools, strategies, and real stories.

Using the Harvard Business Review
by Business Librarians Last Updated Jul 9, 2024 451 views this year

Advanced Materials & Processes Published by ASM International
ASM International Newsletters Sign up for any of the seven newsletters from ASM International
MRS Bulletin Published by the Materials Research Society
Materials Performance From the National Association of Corrosion Engineers
CEP Magazine: Chemical Engineering Progress Published by AIChE, the American American Institute of Chemical Engineers

Mechanical Engineering Magazine Published by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. Delivers an interdisciplinary view into engineering trends and breakthroughs, giving readers a roadmap to better understand today's technology and tomorrow's innovations.
Machine Design Covers product design, materials specification, design analysis, machine components, engineering management. comprehensive technical resource for mechanical engineers providing the technical essentials of advanced design and manufacturing. Our content team, engineers who have worked in the trenches, provides in-depth, precise technical information on a full spectrum of products, markets and technologies.
Popular Mechanics Features information on the latest innovations in science and technology, and educates with informative 'how-to' stories on automotive, home and digital technology.

This list is not exhaustive so I encourage you to browse the websites of other professional societies, or check to see what information sources your membership provides access to.

Searching in a databases that includes professional magazines can give you news from multiple sources at one time:

SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) Provides full-text to science and technology scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications. Includes the following collections: Natural Science Collection, Technology Collection

There are many other sources of news relevant to engineering, and science and technology more broadly, so seek out more sources! Also consider following researchers and professionals on social media to learn about news and trends.