Research Guides: EPOD 3105: Design Thinking (Felderman): Research Strategies

Books and References

Search for books and ebooks in the CU Boulder Libraries Collections with OneSearch.

Keyword Strategies: Broad terms.

The ebook collection below contains books and reference sources relevant to design. Specific ebook databases allow full text searching, so you can find specific chapters or sections of books.

Keyword Strategies: Narrow, specific terms.

Bloomsbury Design Library Bloomsbury Design Library provides international and scholarly coverage of design and crafts, from 1500 BCE to the present day.

Articles

The databases below contain articles from design and architecture magazines and journals

Keyword Strategies: Narrow, specific terms.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ProQuest) Comprehensive database of architecture articles.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index (ProQuest) Articles on the applied arts and design.

User Group Research

Claritas 360 Zip Code Lookup The Zip Code Lookup tool provides information about who lives in a given neighborhood and what they like. Note: only some of the data is freely available.

PsycINFO (ProQuest) Useful for human computer interaction. Covers psychology and psychological aspects of medicine, psychiatry, anthropology, business, law, and similar disciplines.
Social Sciences Full Text (EBSCO) Scholarly articles in the fields of addition studies, anthropology, criminology, economics, family studies, gerontology, ethnic studies, political science, psychology, social work, and urban studies. Includes the following collections: Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson), Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 (H.W. Wilson)

Market Research Reports

Market research reports contain industry information, demographic data, and an analysis of a market. They are written and edited by analysis employed buy the publisher/database vendor.

Keyword Strategies: Broad industry or demographic terms. Browse.

Mintel Academic Market research database for information on consumer trends, demographics, and brand share.

Search Strategies: Browsing in addition to searching - use the category and trend drivers filters

Passport Passport is a global market information database examining countries, consumers and industries. Passport offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, insightful market reports and interactive visualization tools.

Search Strategies: Browsing "industries" in addition to searching

Market Research Reports: Research Guide From CU Boulder Business Librarians. Different market research report databases have reports with different foci, so if you aren't finding anything in the databases above, we have others you can try. Find them here.