Research Guides: ENVD 4052: Graphic Communication for Design Professionals (Hemsi): Home

Get Started

Use the CU Boulder Libraries OneSearch to find books, journals, newspaper articles and more.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (ProQuest) Comprehensive database of architecture articles.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) Interdisciplinary resources on human impact to environment.
BuildingGreen Suite Articles focusing on healthy and sustainable design processes, construction strategies, materials and products, building science, case studies, and certifications such as LEED and WELL.
DETAIL Inspiration A full-text, image and reference database for architects in English and German sourced from DETAIL print magazine.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index (ProQuest) Articles on the applied arts and design.
Bloomsbury Design Library Bloomsbury Design Library provides international and scholarly coverage of design and crafts, from 1500 BCE to the present day.
Art and Architecture Archive (ProQuest) Primary source collection that spans the spectrum of arts and the history of architecture, including fine and applied arts, interior and industrial design, landscape gardening, and restoration.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies The Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources focuses on the physical, social, and economic aspects of environmental issues.
O'Reilly-Safari eBooks Ebooks about computer programming languages, databases, software and hardware, human-computer interaction, networking, and related topics. Access Note: Public users - Please ask for assistance at a research desk. Public user login page.
Web of Science, Web of Science database Interdisciplinary index that provides citations for high impact journals. Useful for forward citation searching. Includes some indexing and full-text linking for ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Please contact the Center for Research Data & Digital Scholarship for assistance setting up the Web of Science API.

Art and Architecture Collection

The Art & Architecture Collection is located in the north wing of Norlin Library. The collection houses one of the most comprehensive art library collections in the Mountain West. The Art & Architecture Collection contains approximately 100,000 volumes of reference works, monographs, exhibition catalogues. We subscribe to well over 200 journals and serials.

A call number is a combination of letters and numbers which identifies the location and subject matter of books. Think of a call number as an address for a book on the library shelf. Books on similar subjects will appear next to each other.

Call number ranges potentially relevant to your learning in this course include:

N Fine Arts
- NC Drawing. Design. Illustration
  - NC997-1003 Commercial art. Advertising art
  - NC845-915 Graphic arts materials
- NK Decorative Arts
  - NK1160-1590 Decoration and ornament. Design
- NA Architecture
Z Books, Libraries, Information Science
- Z116.A3 Book design
T Technology
- TR Photography
- TT Handicrafts. Arts and crafts
  - TT500 Fashion

Rare and Distinctive Collections

Rare and Distinctive Collections (RaD) at the CU Boulder Libraries includes: rare books and manuscripts, the archives, government information, and the map collection. Contact RaD at rad@colorado.edu.

Rare Books houses rare works and contemporary artworks such as medieval manuscripts, contemporary artists’ books, and a signature photobook and photography collection.