Research Guides: Object Research: Primary Sources

Recent Newspapers

ProQuest News and Newspapers
Current and historical coverage of major U.S. newspapers.
Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)
Database of journal, newspaper and magazine articlesfrom hundreds of international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Covers 1991-present. For 1969-1990, see Alternative Press Index Archive.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest)
Periodicals of ethnic and minority presses. Articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people.
Access World News Research Collection
Online access to major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles. Also includes newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
Nexis Uni
Comprehensive source for local, regional and national newspapers in the United States, plus some international sources. Strong source for legal, company (including private), and country research.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Major U.S. newspapers covering 1764-2016, depending on the paper. Includes New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, and dozens more.
Alternative Press Index Archive (EBSCO)
A guide to articles from alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage spans1969 through 1990.
America's Historical Newspapers
Chronicles the evolution of American culture and daily life.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)
Content from numerous 19th-century American urban and regional newspapers.
Times Digital Archive 1785-2019 (Gale)
Articles from the Times of London, widely considered to be the world's "newspaper of record." Access content from 1785-2019.

Readers' Guide (EBSCO)
Articles published in the popular press in the United States and Canada, 1890-present. Covers all aspects of American history and culture in the 20th century. Includes the following collections: Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson), Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
Periodicals Index Online (ProQuest)
Index to articles published around the world, from 1790 to 1919.
JSTOR
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Art Full Text + Art Index Retrospective (EBSCO)
Essential art history index for finding scholarly articles dating as far back as 1923. Covers all periods and art media. Includes the following collections: Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson), Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson)

Gale Primary Sources
Offers cross-searching of Gale digital archives for primary source documents. Includes the following collections:
C19: Nineteenth Century Index (ProQuest)
American periodicals from 1770 to 1919.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
Covers every aspect of in 17th- and 18th-century American life.

Internet Archive Texts
Collection of over 8 million digitized texts.
Europeana
An internet portal that acts as an interface to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised.

Early English Books Online (ProQuest)
Books, pamphlets, and broadsides printed in Britain and its possessions or in the English language 1473-1700.

Getty Research Portal
Access digitized art history publications, rare books, and related literature.

You'll notice some changes as we work.

Archives of American Art
Extensive digitized archives of american artists, dealers, and others in the art world.
Documents of the Accademia di San Luca, c. 1590–1635
Brings together a body of largely unpublished notarial records from the Trenta Notai Capitolini (TNC) found in the Archivio di Stato di Roma (ASR)
Medici Archive Project
Digital portal to early modern Europe from the perspective of Grand Ducal Tuscany. BIA allows for advanced searches into the epistolary collection of the Grand Ducal Medici Family. Requires Sign-up

Remember when searching you often need to use the language of the time, not modern terms.

Historical thesaurus of the OED
Use this database to find different ways concepts have been referred to over time.

Find Newspapers
by Learning & Engagement Team Last Updated Apr 27, 2023 690 views this year
Find Photographs
by Learning & Engagement Team Last Updated Dec 21, 2022 65 views this year
Find Primary Sources
by Learning & Engagement Team Last Updated Mar 29, 2023 157 views this year