AND link words by AND to search for all words in the same resource
OR link words by OR to search for one word or another (instead of both/all words)
NOT to eliminate results with a certain term
“Quotations” – add quotations to a group of two or more words to search for the exact phrase
Think about your topic. Who is interested in it? For example, if you are studying a new green energy technology, you might look for articles in Environmental Engineering or Chemical Engineering databases. If you want to know who might buy this new technology, start your article search with Business, Marketing, or Advertising databases. Find article databases by topic or start with some favorites below.
Comprehensive source for materials on all business topics. Also includes company profiles.
Comprehensive database of scholarly literature in engineering and other applied sciences.
Interdisciplinary index that provides citations for high impact journals. Useful for forward citation searching. Includes some indexing and full-text linking for ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.
Access note: To access the API, set up your account and select "Web of Science API Lite" at Step 3 “Subscribe to an API.” For research support using the API, please contact the Center for Research Data & Digital Scholarship.
When you're using Google Scholar off campus, follow the steps below to ensure links to the Libraries' full text is showing up. Don't ever pay for an article while you're a student! Always contact a librarian first!
Step 1. Go to the Settings option in Google Scholar.
Step 2. Go to Library Links and search for University of Colorado. You want to make sure the option with CU Full Text is selected. The rest don't really matter. Click Save.
Step 3. When you search, look for links to CU Full Text or free PDF and HTML full text over on the side.
