Research Guides: Literatures in English: Journal Articles and Criticism

Ask A Librarian

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

Databases, Abstracts & Indexes

Databases, abstracts, and indexes are used to locate published journal articles, conference proceedings and papers, reports, scholarly research and patents. Use of these databases is subject to copyright laws and license limitations that restrict use to University Colorado Boulder members.

Search for Database by title:

Combine Search Words

AND link words by AND to search for all words in the same resource

OR link words by OR to search for one word or another (instead of both/all words)

NOT to eliminate results with a certain term

“Quotations” – add quotations to a group of two or more words to search for the exact phrase

Recommended Journal Article Databases by Genre

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Essential international index to works about language and literature, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Includes the following collection: MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Literature Online Core (ProQuest)
Collection of English and American poetry, drama, and literature, with criticism. From Old English to current literary works.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Comprehensive survey of current literary theory, including historical considerations, critics, schools, and movements.
Literary Reference Source (EBSCO)
Full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods. Includes synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers across disciplines and time periods. International in scope. Also includes citations for books, articles, and dissertations.
EBSCO Arts & Literature
Full-text articles and indexing of academic journals covering a broad range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ProQuest)
Literary and dramatic criticism published since 1920.
Humanities Source Ultimate (EBSCO)
Full-text articles and indexing of academic journals covering a broad range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences. Includes the following collections.
Arts & Humanities Database (ProQuest)
Hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Bloom's Literature Online (Infobase)
Contains reference essays and scholarly criticism examining great authors, and features streaming video of classic productions.
Project Muse
Collection of humanities and social sciences journals.
JSTOR
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Historic Literary Criticism (ProQuest)
Historical contemporary reviews, essays and commentary related to more than 500 influential authors from the 17th to early 20th century.

Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (ProQuest)
Database of work by and about Irish women poets writing between 1768 and 1842.
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period (ProQuest)
Collection of work by and about Scottish women poets writing in the 19th and 20th centuries.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Essential international index to works about language and literature, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Includes the following collection: MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Literature Online Core (ProQuest)
Collection of English and American poetry, drama, and literature, with criticism. From Old English to current literary works.

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Essential international index to works about language and literature, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Includes the following collection: MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Literature Online Core (ProQuest)
Collection of English and American poetry, drama, and literature, with criticism. From Old English to current literary works.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers across disciplines and time periods. International in scope. Also includes citations for books, articles, and dissertations.

Drama Online (Bloomsbury)
Drama Online introduces new writers alongside iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works, practical guides, audio and visual material.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (EBSCO)
Resources on all aspects of theatre and the performing arts.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
From 1864 to current.
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Database of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide since 1960
Film & Television Literature Index (EBSCO)
Bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Essential international index to works about language and literature, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Includes the following collection: MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Literature Online Core (ProQuest)
Collection of English and American poetry, drama, and literature, with criticism. From Old English to current literary works.

Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels (Alexander Street)
Collection of thousands of adult comic books and graphic novels. 200,000 pages of original material alongside interviews, commentary, criticism, and other supporting materials.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, Modules I & II, 19501975 (Adam Matthew)
Provides images of manuscripts and rare printed material, photographs, ephemera and memorabilia from the dynamic period of social, political and cultural change between 1950 and 1975.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Essential international index to works about language and literature, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Includes the following collection: MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Literature Online Core (ProQuest)
Collection of English and American poetry, drama, and literature, with criticism. From Old English to current literary works.

Finding Book Reviews

Readers' Guide (EBSCO)
Articles published in the popular press in the United States and Canada, 1890-present. Covers all aspects of American history and culture in the 20th century. Includes the following collections: Readers' Guide Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson), Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
Gale Literature: Book Review Index
A comprehensive guide to book reviews, including review citations as well as full-text reviews.
Book Review Digest (EBSCO)
A database of descriptive summaries of books and book reviews. Includes the following collections: Book Review Digest Plus (H.W. Wilson), Book Review Digest Retrospective: 1903-1982 (H.W. Wilson)
New York Review of Books (OpinionArchives): Online Access
Digitized issues of The New York Review of Books from 1963-Present.