Skip to Main Content
Literatures in English: Background Research
Books and eBooks
Journal Articles and Criticism
Writing and Citing
Core Online Reference Sources
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
Comprehensive survey of current literary theory, including historical considerations, critics, schools, and movements.
Oxford Reference Online
Collection of high quality reference works and dictionaries.
Indexes the contents of print and electronic reference works. Good for names, events, keywords, and obscure terms.
Database of encyclopedia articles and other specialized reference resources from a variety of disciplines.
Literary and Critical Theory (Oxford Bibliographies Online)
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies and short encyclopedia entries on the subject of Literary and Critical Theory.
American Literature (Oxford Bibliographies Online)
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies and short encyclopedia entries on the subject of American Literature.
British and Irish Literature (Oxford Bibliographies Online)
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies and short encyclopedia entries on the subject of British and Irish Literature.
Victorian Literature (Oxford Bibliographies Online)
Peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies and short encyclopedia entries on the subject of Victorian Literature.
Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography
Encyclopedia of critical and biographical information about individuals in every literary field, from the Middle Ages to the present.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Standard biographical work on figures who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century.
American National Biography Online
Biographical profiles of people from all eras who have influenced and shaped American history and culture.
Biography Reference Center (EBSCO)
Provides access to full-text biographies, including the complete full text of Biography and Biography Today.
Literary Reference Center (EBSCO)
Full-text literary database covering all genres and time periods. Includes synopses, critical essays, book reviews, literary journals and author biographies, plus full-text classic novels, short stories and poems.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Historical dictionary covering words from across the English-speaking world by tracing word usage through quotations from a range of international English language sources.
Dictionary of Old English: A to I
Defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600-1150) of the English language.
Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE)
Reference work identifying, mapping, and defining American regional expressions and local slang.
Ask A Librarian
Make an appointment
Chat with a Librarian
Books and eBooks >>
University of Colorado Boulder Libraries
Literatures in English
Nov 3, 2023 9:53 AM
Guide Editors Login