Research Guides: BCOR 1030 Communication Strategy: Case Competition

Ask A Business Librarian

Make an appointment

Chat with a Librarian

Call (303) 492-8367

Email buslib@colorado.edu

Find Industry and Consumer Research

IBISWorld Industry Market Research
In-depth reports on industries, providing an overview of the industry, outlooks, products and markets, operations and key statistics.
Access note: Please click Log Out button at the top of page at the conclusion of your session.
Mintel Academic
Market research database for information on consumer trends, demographics, and brand share.
Statista
Statista aggregates statistics and studies from market researchers, organizations, specialist publications, and government sources.
eMarketer
eMarketer provides market data, statistics and analysis on the Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies. It is useful for understanding the growth and impact of the Internet, and for keeping abreast of new trends, such as social networking and mobile marketing.

Find Articles & Cases

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
Covers business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, and management techniques, as well as competitive and product information, both in the U.S. and internationally. Includes the following collections: ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Business Source Ultimate (EBSCO)
Comprehensive source for materials on all business topics. Also includes company profiles.
Denver Business Journal: Direct Subscription
Current and historical issues of the Denver Business Journal and Annual Book of Lists. Access to American City Business Journals from 42 additional markets.
Access note: Log in required. Register for a free account with your @colorado.edu email address. Resource only available for current CU Boulder faculty, staff, and students. Access limited to 25 concurrent users.
Must use VPN to access this database.
SAGE Business Cases
A digital collection of business cases on subjects such as entrepreneurship, accounting, healthcare management, leadership, social enterprise, and more.

Government-Provided Demographic Data

U.S. Census
The U.S. Census web page provides demographic data that can be sorted by geographic location. This website allows you to build maps and tables to look at some lifestyle and financial information about U.S. residents. There are many guides available through the website and on YouTube to help you get the most out of these tools.
Open data from City of Boulder
Demographic and other data from the City of Boulder.
Open Data from Broomfield
The City of Broomfield provides financial, demographic, and geographic data.
Louisville Community Profile
Demographic and financial data for Louisville, CO.
Superior, CO data
Demographic data for the town of Superior. Be sure to look at the very bottom of the page for navigation to additional data.

Databases with Consumer Information

It can be difficult to find consumer information (for example, which age group purchases the most yogurt?), and the databases below are your best bets.

Mintel Academic
Market research database for information on consumer trends, demographics, and brand share.
MRI-Simmons Catalyst
Data for creating in-depth analysis of the U.S. consumer and determining consumer product, media, and lifestyle preferences.
Access note: Access limited to 25 concurrent users.
Passport
Passport is a global market information database examining countries, consumers and industries. Passport offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, insightful market reports and interactive visualization tools.
Statista
Statista aggregates statistics and studies from market researchers, organizations, specialist publications, and government sources.
eMarketer
eMarketer provides market data, statistics and analysis on the Internet, e-business, online marketing, media and emerging technologies. It is useful for understanding the growth and impact of the Internet, and for keeping abreast of new trends, such as social networking and mobile marketing.
SBRNet
Provides analysis of statistical trends in major segments of the sports market. This might provide insights into how various demographics interact with social media to engage with community groups like sports teams.
Reference Solutions
Access to data for both private and public companies, including businesses that have closed in the past five years. Also includes Consumers & Lifestyles and US Jobs/Internships. This is helpful for identifying both competitor/collaborator businesses, and for identifying potential customers. Access note: Please clear browser cache before use.