Research Guides: Company Research: Profiles & Histories

Ask A Business Librarian

Make an appointment

Chat with a Librarian

Call (303) 492-8367

Email buslib@colorado.edu

Top Databases for Public Company Profiles

Mergent Online
Best source for information about large companies and their executives (officers, directors, and committees). Search by company name or ticker and use the tabs to navigate the content. This database is the only one that allows you to view company performance by executive leadership, or to view an executive's career performance over time and across different companies. Create custom reports on multiple companies comparing factors such as debt and stock price. For a less comprehensive profile for private companies, be sure to check the box for "D&B Private Company Database."
S&P NetAdvantage
Best for US-based public companies. Use the box at the top to search by company name or ticker symbol.
D&B Hoovers
In-depth company profiles on international companies, including key executives and detailed financial information. Covers large companies and their foreign parents and subsidiaries. Resource previously known as OneSource.
Access note: Please clear browser cache before use.
Subscription does not include access to Business Contact credits (direct dial and email addresses).
Gale Business: Insights
Company and industry profiles with links to relevant trade articles, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and rankings. To find company histories, go to the "Companies" tab and choose "Company histories" from the drop down menu. Results come from the International Directory of Company Histories and Notable Corporate Chronologies.
Nexis Uni
Search for company information and news in the search box, or find the "company dossier" by choosing "Menu > Company Dossier."

Top Databases for Private Company Profiles

PrivCo
Privco is the best source for information on larger private companies (e.g., a restaurant franchise with multiple locations or a manufacturer of nationally distributed products).

CU-Boulder students, faculty and staff may access by setting up an account with a valid Colorado.edu email address. Non-CU patrons will need to ask a librarian for access (Mon-Fri 8-5).

Reference Solutions
Best for US-based public companies. Under the "Companies" tab you will see the option to search company profiles.
PitchBook
Provides private market data by industry and financing history. Includes startups, VC and PE-backed companies, as well as mature private and public firms.
Access note: Log in required to access full content. Register for a free account with your colorado.edu email address. Users are limited to 10 downloads per day and 25 downloads per month. (1 download = 1 row of data on an excel file).
Nexis Uni
Search by company name or ticker in the "Get Company Info" portal. The profile includes data from a variety of sources such as Dun & Bradstreet, Standard & Poor's, and Morningstar.

Sources for Local (Boulder/Colorado) Company Profiles

Reference Solutions (linked above) probably has a profile for even the smallest local businesses, but it may not have the information you need. Below are a few company sources specific to northern Colorado and Boulder.

BizWest
Business news, analysis, data, and statistics for Boulder, Broomfield, Larimer, and Weld counties. Econowatch, is a series that highlights the latest economic statistics and demographic reports.Access the library's subscription content using the link above for full-text articles, or browse headlines at the BizWest website.
BizWest Book of Lists
This annual reference book (available at the Business Library) is a compilation of all the lists printed in BizWest throughout the year.

Denver Business Journal: Online Access
This resource also contains the Denver Business Journal Book of lists. This lists rankings of businesses in the Denver Metropolitan Area. The Denver Business Journal also produces an annual Giving Guide, which lists Colorado non-profits, cultural organizations, and foundations.