RLST 3820 / JWST 3820 Dreams: Divination, Healing, & Prophecy (Lillie)

An annotated bibliography is a specific type of bibliography that is a "helpful tool for critically reading and understanding the existing academic literature on your chosen topic." (Lillie, Syllabus 2025) Your annotated bibliography will support your final paper. A bibliography is a list or collection of resources  - books, journal articles, other sources, such as media or internet resources, selected by you on a specific topic, subject, or theme that interests you.

A bibliography, also known as a Reference List or Works Cited, will contain bibliographic information: 

• Author(s) name 
• Title of work 
• Publisher 
• Date of publication 
• Other relevant information depending on the type of source

You will select resources that discuss your subject and critically evaluate them in your annotations. Annotations are short summaries and evaluations of the source. You are required to find 7-10 scholarly sources through the CU library and summarize each one in 200 - 250 words. One source may be from the syllabus (Lillie, Syllabus 2025). 

Here are a few questions to get you started on how to critically evaluate your sources: 

• How does your source contribute to a larger understanding in the field?
• What context is the source written from? Is it intervening into existing conversations? Is it doing something new?—this does not need to be exhaustive, nor do you need to know everything about the field it comes from, but use cues from the text).
• The analysis should show how the source will contribute to your research (Lillie, Syllabus 2025)

Purdue OWL provides a great overview of annotated bibliographies and more reflection questions for you to get started writing annotations. 

Your annotated bibliography is due Friday, March 14, 2025.