Street art image by LenaLenson.
Graphic Novels by
Adding graphic novels to your library collection is a surefire way to boost circulation and build customer loyalty. But with thousands of graphic novels being published annually and no sign of a slowdown, how do you determine which graphic novels to purchase, and which to recommend to teen and adult readers? This guide is intended to help you start, update, or maintain a graphic novel collection and advise readers about the genre. It covers more than 2,400 titles, including series titles, and organizes them according to genre, subgenre, and theme-from super-heroes and adventure to crime, humor, and nonfiction. Reading levels, awards/recognition, and core titles are identified; and tie-ins with gaming, film, anime, and television are noted. Grade 6 through adult. In addition, it will cite resources for learning more about the genre, and provide information on awards. Hundreds of images illustrate the guide.
Comic Books and Comic Strips in the United States by
Comics have become icons of U.S. popular culture familiar throughout the world. This huge bibliography, one of four compiled by Lent to cover all parts of the world, cites many publications in various writing styles, formats, time periods, and languages. This volume is introduced by famed cartoonists Mort Walker (Beetle Bailey) and Jerry Robinson (The Joker). The genres of comic art have had a phenomenal growth in recent years; the literature has grown with these developments, making this volume of interest to scholars of popular culture and fans alike. Featured are sections on resources, including an annotated directory of 128 comic art-related periodicals; comics collecting; portrayals of comics in movies, television, and radio; and relationships of comics with art, education and children, eroticism, ethnicity, humanism, the professions, violence, and war. Other parts deal with historical, business, legal, and technical aspects of comics. Two hundred and ninety-one comics-related personnel are singled out for special consideration, as well as 143 individual comic strip characters and 48 comic book titles under 13 genres. The foreword by Mort Walker deals with comics over the years and the topic of political correctness, and the introduction by Jerry Robinson gives a history of comic art. The indices are conveniently divided by authors, cartoonists, characters and titles, periodicals, and subjects. The other three books in this international series cover animation, caricature, gag, magazine, illustrative, and political cartoons in the United States and Canada; comic art of Europe; and comic art of Africa, Asia, Australia and Oceania, and Latin America and the Caribbean.
Comic Art in Africa, Asia, Australia, and Latin America Through 2000 by
This work is the most comprehensive bibliography of the comic art of these regions and all its dimensions. It contains 10,200 easy to use citations, organized by region, country, and identifying characteristics. This volume brings together both mainstream and fugitive materials relating to animation, caricature, comic books, political cartoons, and other types of animation. This exhaustive bibliography contains special sections on continental and inter-country perspectives as well as a directory of comic related periodicals of the different regions. Featured among the 87 countries is Japan, whose manga and anime have an impact on how comics and animation are perceived and produced worldwide. This comprehensive and thoroughly researched bibliography will greatly advance the study of international comic art.
The Library of Congress classification under which most comics and graphic novels can be found is the PN 6700 through PN 6790 range. These titles are, for the most part, located in the Norlin Library in the 3rd floor stacks. Note that some books may be located in oversized areas. Manga and other material related to comics in Asia are located in the Asian Studies Collection on the 2nd floor of Norlin.
We are expanding access to eBook versions of comics and graphic novels as well. Try searching below for any specific titles you may be looking for.
Partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of public domain titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Some comics have been serialized in newspapers. See below for more information about finding historic and contemporary newspapers online.
This is just a small sampling of the many publishers, large and small, that focus on comics and graphic novels.
