Encyclopedias and other guides are useful starting places to learn more about specific topics, including the history of comics and graphic novels. You might also consider looking for encyclopedias related to the historical time period, region, society, or culture in which a comic or graphic novel was set (or written). Use the search box below to find other encyclopedias that may be specific to your area of interest.
Try searching: "your topic keyword" AND encyclop*
You may also try searching dictionary, handbook, or guide.
Understanding Comics by
"You must read this book." --Neil Gaiman The bestselling international classic on storytelling and visual communication. Praised throughout the cartoon industry by such luminaries as Art Spiegelman, Matt Groening, and Will Eisner, Scott McCloud's Understanding Comics is a seminal examination of comics art: its rich history, surprising technical components, and major cultural significance. Explore the secret world between the panels, through the lines, and within the hidden symbols of a powerful but misunderstood art form.
American Newspaper Comics by
From its earliest appearance in the 1890s, the newspaper comic strip has told the story of America, from the Irish ghetto of the Yellow Kid to flappers, war heroes, hippies, and today's office drones and soccer moms. American Newspaper Comicsis the first comprehensive, authoritative reference work to document this fascinating history, listing over 7,000 different comic strip and cartoon features from American newspapers. While previous books have typically concentrated on the most popular comic strips and panel cartoon series, American Newspaper Comicsis designed to be all-inclusive, providing detailed information on important but previously overlooked artists and features. The result of more than twenty years of meticulous research, American Newspaper Comicsprovides the most complete picture to date of the evolution of newspaper cartoon features and corrects misinformation that has circulated for years in other references. American Newspaper Comicsoffers a wealth of information, including the start and end dates of features, their format, frequency, creators, and distribution companies. The book also includes handy cross-indexes and a guide to book-length compilations of newspaper cartoons and comics. In addition, the book includes a CD with samples of more than 2,000 cartoon features, including some that may be new to even the most ardent fan or collector.
Encyclopedia of Comic Books and Graphic Novels by
The most comprehensive reference ever compiled about the rich and enduring genre of comic books and graphic novels, from their emergence in the 1930s to their late-century breakout into the mainstream. * Includes over 330 entries on comic books and their creators * Presents the work of 80 contributors--accomplished academics and librarians who are also fans of comic books and graphic novels * Offers selected bibliographic listings with the entries * Provides a comprehensive index of artists, writers, works, characters, genres, and themes
The Encyclopedia of Superheroes on Film and Television by
It's a bird! It's a plane! It's a complete guide to over 50 years of superheroes on screen! This expanded and updated edition of the 2004 award-winning encyclopedia covers important developments in the popular genre; adds new shows such as Heroes and Zoom; includes the latest films featuring icons like Superman, Spiderman and Batman; and covers even more types of superheroes. Each entry includes a detailed history, cast and credits, episode and film descriptions, critical commentaries, and data on arch-villains, gadgets, comic-book origins and super powers, while placing each production into its historical context. Appendices list common superhero conventions and cliches; incarnations; memorable ad lines; and the best, worst, and most influential productions from 1951 to 2008.
