Research Guides: ARCH 2100: Foundations of Architecture Studio: Images

Ask A Librarian

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

Images

You are likely to come across images in the books and articles you find. However, we have a number of image databases that may also be worth searching to find additional images of your building.

ARTstor
Database of over one million high-quality images, useful not only for the fine arts but as a general image resource.
DETAIL Inspiration
A full-text, image and reference database for architects in English and German sourced from DETAIL print magazine.
Birkhauser Building Types
Database containing 750 architectural case studies each including technical drawings and photographs of the exterior and interior. Architectural plans including vector-based plans available for download. Includes multiple buildings types such as residential, office buildings, industrial complexes, museums, schools and other building types.

Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes Survey
Documents achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States. It records America's built environment in multiformat surveys comprising measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for historic structures and sites dating from Pre-Columbian times to the twentieth century.

Archivision Digital Research Library (CU Digital Library)
Library of architectural images that spans the globe and all time periods, with each module offering a mix of historic and contemporary material.
Access note: Must use VPN to access this database from off campus.

archINFORM This database includes information over more than 71000 built and unrealized projects from various architects and planners. The architecture of the 20th century is the main theme of this database.