Research Guides: Theatre & Dance: Plays & Monologues

Ask A Librarian

Make an appointment

Chat, Call, Text

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

Monologues

Non-Binary Monologues
Monologues written for non-binary actors.

Full-Text Plays

Contemporary World Drama (Alexander Street)
This collection examines contemporary theatre and drama from a global context, bringing together work from both new and established and playwrights from around the world. At completion, the collection will include 1,000 contemporary plays, from 2000 to present day.
American Drama (ProQuest)
American dramatic works from 1714 to 1915.
Asian American Drama (Alexander Street)
Collection of more than 250 plays, along with related biographical, production, and theatrical information.
Black Drama Third Edition (Alexander Street)
More than 1200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
Drama Online (Bloomsbury)
Drama Online introduces new writers alongside iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works, practical guides, audio and visual material.
English Drama (ProQuest)
Collection of plays in verse and prose tracing the development of drama in English, from the medieval mystery cycles to Oscar Wilde.
Literature Online Drama (ProQuest)
Combination of plays with criticism and reference resources.
North American Indian Drama (Alexander Street)
Collection of plays representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century.
North American Women's Drama (Alexander Street)
This collection includes full text of 1,500 plays, both published and unpublished, written from Colonial times to the present by more than 100 women from the United States and Canada.
Shakespeare in Performance (Adam Matthew)
Shakespeare in Performance showcases rare and unique prompt books from the world-famous Folger Shakespeare Library. These prompt books tell the story of Shakespeares plays as they were performed in theatres throughout Great Britain, the United States and internationally, between the seventeenth and twentieth centuries.
Twentieth-Century Drama (ProQuest)
Collection of English-language drama covering theatrical performance from the 1890s to the present.
Twentieth Century North American Drama (Alexander Street)
Collection of North American drama covering theatrical performance from the late 1800s to the present, including many rare and previously unpublished works.
Bloom's Literature Online (Infobase)
Contains reference essays and scholarly criticism examining great authors, and features streaming video of classic productions.