The University Libraries provide a number of tools and methods for retrieving dissertations and theses authored at CU and beyond.
Try searching: department or author name AND "University of Colorado"
Per the University of Colorado Boulder Records Retention Schedule (opens a pdf file), departments are to retain thesis and dissertation records indefinitely; you may wish to contact the relevant department directly. Questions about changing or taking down a thesis or dissertation should be directed to the Graduate School and/or the degree-granting department.
Scanned copies of archival copies in RaD are only available when circulating copies are not available and the patron does not have access to Proquest copies, or Proquest does not have a copy. In such cases, the request for a copy falls under the protocol for scanning onto CU Scholar. RaD does not make PDF copies of dissertations or theses outside of the CU Scholar process.
Pre-1955
CU dissertations published prior to 1955 were retained as physical copies. Find materials by searching OneSearch. Use the ‘all filter’ option to limit to ‘source type: dissertation/ thesis.’Copies of print dissertations may be located in various libraries and collections on campus. Some items are available for use in the Rare and Distinctive Collections (RaD) Reading Room only and may require delivery from offsite storage facility, PASCAL (information about visiting and using RaD materials).
1954 – 2008
CU dissertations published between 1954-2008 may be available as physical or digital copies. Find materials by searching OneSearch. Use the ‘all filter’ option to limit to ‘source type: dissertation/ thesis.’ Copies of print dissertations may be located in various libraries and collections on campus. There are no archival copies in RaD.
For items available digitally, search ProQuest Dissertations or CU Scholar.
2008 - present
All dissertations produced at CU Boulder from 2008 to present are available digitally through ProQuest Dissertations. Authors may opt for an embargo period which may delay availability. Since 2012, authors may opt to deposit in CU Scholar in addition to ProQuest Dissertations. There are no archival copies of dissertations in RaD for this time-span.
*Doctor of Musical Arts dissertations do not have a circulating copy. Typically, they are available for use in the Rare and Distinctive Collections (RaD) Reading Room only and may require delivery from offsite storage facility, PASCAL (information about visiting and using RaD materials). They may be eligible for digitization and deposit in CU Scholar.
Up to 2008
CU thesis published prior to 2008 were retained as physical copies. Find materials by searching OneSearch. Use the ‘all filter’ option to limit to ‘source type: dissertation/ thesis.’ Copies of print theses and dissertations may be located in various libraries and collections on campus. Some items are available for use in the Rare and Distinctive Collections (RaD) Reading Room only and may require delivery from offsite storage facility, PASCAL (information about visiting and using RaD materials). Except in cases of loss, there should be circulating copies in the stacks and archival copies in RaD.
2008 - present
Dissertations produced at CU Boulder from 2008 to present are available digitally through ProQuest Dissertations. Authors may opt for an embargo period which may delay availability. Since 2012, authors may opt to deposit in CU Scholar. CU theses published since 2008 are not available from the archives.
Digitized theses in CU Scholar
Some theses prior to 2008 have been digitized when circulating copies are not available and are available in CU Scholar.
Theses published between 1959-2012 are available from the archives. Titles may be identified through the Finding Aid. These theses must be viewed in the RaD reading room.
Theses published between 2012-present are available through CU Scholar.
Digitized Thesis in CU Scholar
Some theses prior to 2012 have been digitized when circulating copies are not available. Honors theses are eligible for scanning and deposit to CU Scholar upon request.
Available through CU Scholar.
Questions and information email gradinfo@colorado.edu
Specifications for Preparation of Master’s Theses & Doctoral Dissertations
ProQuest ETD Administrator
Proquest publishing guide
CU Scholar
The University of Colorado Boulder Libraries host an Institutional Repository, CU Scholar. When submitting your thesis, you will have the option to include your work in this open access repository. If you agree to inclusion, your thesis will be publicly available via the CU Scholar website as soon as possible or at the end of the specified embargo period (if applicable).