Tools: Google Scholar

Google Scholar tries to locate full access materials. When available, access links are labelled [PDF] or [HTML] and appear to the right of the search result.

Some full text materials are only available with subscription or license rights. When you are on a campus network, access links automatically direct you to subscribed versions of articles provided by the University Libraries. When off campus,  you may select a link and be prompted to pay for access. STOP. As a member of the CU Boulder Libraries community, you may be able to access the material through our subscriptions. To do so you’ll need to indicate to google that you are a member of CU Boulder Libraries.

Connecting CU Full Text with Google Scholar will help you access the full text. Imagine these scenarios:

• Your professor suggests a reading in the syllabus
• You locate some interesting sources in the works cited of another paper
• You wish to locate a source mentioned in a lecture, talk, or other setting

Copy and paste those details in Google Scholar to quickly connect to the full-text through CU Libraries subscriptions. Follow instructions in the video below to connect Google Scholar and CU Full Text.

Still not finding what you need? Ask a librarian for assistance. We may be able to help you request the material from another library, if we don't have a copy in our collection.

Are you using Google Scholar from a distance?

Follow these steps to access materials licensed through the CU University Libraries.

​

1. Go to Google Scholar 
2. Choose Sign In option
3. Sign in with your Google account
4. Choose the hamburger menu
5. Choose the gear icon
6. Choose library links
7. Search University of Colorado Boulder
8. Select 'University of Colorado Boulder - CU Full Text'
9. Save

When you search google scholar, you'll now see CU Full Text and will be able to access CU Libraries licensed content without encountering a payment screen.

View Google Scholar Help Documentation