Research Guides: SCAN 2202 / Raggio 2024: Databases for Viking Research

Ask A Librarian

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

Email Me

JSTOR language & literature Includes a range of journals in literary criticism, across many countries and languages.
Humanities Source Ultimate (EBSCO) Full-text articles and indexing of academic journals covering a broad range of subjects in the humanities and social sciences. Includes the following collections. 
Web of Science, Web of Science database Interdisciplinary index that provides citations for high impact journals. Useful for forward citation searching. Includes some indexing and full-text linking for ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Access note: To access the API, set up your account and select "Web of Science API Lite" at Step 3 “Subscribe to an API.” For research support using the API, please contact the Center for Research Data & Digital Scholarship.
Google Scholar Tool to search for scholarly documents across the web, with an added feature of CU Full Text links.

Use separate rows for each search term (click + row to get a new row in most databases)
Use quotation marks to keep terms together and in a specific order ("climate change")
Use filters to focus search results (date, language, etc.)
Try a variety of terms; different scholars may use different words to describe a given idea
If you need more ideas for search terms, look at the words listed as "keywords" or used in the abstract or introduction at any "good" article you can find on your topic

Unlike Google, library databases require you to identify specific search terms or "keywords" to search for articles or resources.
Search terms should be as specific and short as possible and each one should refer to only one idea.
Examples: "viking culture," "gender," "media representation," "colonial race discourses, " "social media"

If the database you have selected does not have articles related to your interest, try a different database.

A warning: if you do not identify appropriate keywords, you may miss a great deal of content in any given database.

If you are struggling, contact your librarian for help.

Critical Media Practices
by Alex Watkins Last Updated Sep 30, 2024 266 views this year
Media Studies
by Stacy Gilbert Last Updated Oct 2, 2024 31 views this year