Research Guides: Psychology and Neuroscience: Find

Introduction

This page provides resources and guidance to support your discovery of research and other information sources for study, learning, teaching, or research in the Department of Psychology and Neuroscience.

Check for Access to a Known/Cited Article

Enter the article title to search for access through the Libraries.

Find Articles

These databases are frequently helpful for initial searches for articles related to research in psychology and neuroscience.
Expand your search with the databases listed under the Additional Databases tab.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Multidisciplinary index to thousands of popular and scholarly journals, including engineering trade journals, from 1975 to current.
PsycINFO + PsycArticles (ProQuest)
Search the PsycINFO and PsycArticles databases together.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCO)
A collection of psychology journal articles.
PubMed
Database provided by U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 17 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles dating back to the 1950s.
Web of Science, Web of Science database
Interdisciplinary index that provides citations for high impact journals. Useful for forward citation searching. Includes some indexing and full-text linking for ProQuest Dissertations and Theses.
Access note: To access the API, set up your account and select "Web of Science API Lite" at Step 3 “Subscribe to an API.” For research support using the API, please contact the Center for Research Data & Digital Scholarship.

Biological Science Database (ProQuest)
Access to materials related to the biological sciences from 1946 to the present. Includes the following collections: Agricola, Toxline
Biosis Citation Index (Web of Science)
Database useful for biotech and biochemical engineering that includes life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
Cochrane Library
Collection of databases in the field of healthcare.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO)
Resource for materials about marriage, family, and society.
Gale Health and Wellness
Full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, and multimedia resources. Provides authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets
Gale OneFile: Psychology
Provides access to research in all fields of psychology abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.
PTSDPubs (ProQuest)
Includes citations to literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations. Offers both current and retrospective coverage.
Psychiatry Online
Books, journals, practice guidelines and patient education resources from the American Psychiatric Association. Includes the DSM-5 and previous editions of DSM.
SciFinder-n
Comprehensive chemical database accessing chemistry and medical literature.
Access note: Log in required. Register for a free account with your colorado.edu email address. Must use VPN to register from off campus. Walk-in users please ask a librarian for help logging in.
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
References and abstracts to current research in social work.

What are "peer reviewed" or "refereed" articles?

Learn more from the video Peer Review in Three Minutes (NCSU Libraries)
A database may allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles from refereed/peer reviewed journals. Look for this limit in the database's search screen.

How can I determine if a journal is "peer reviewed" or "refereed"?

Search for the journal by name, in the Libraries' Ulrichsweb database.

Find Books

WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
Most comprehensive database of worldwide library holdings. Limited to 40 simultaneous users across the state of Colorado.
WorldCat.org
Most comprehensive database of worldwide library holdings.

DSM-V
Online version of the standard diagnostic tool used by mental health professionals. Each psychiatric disorder is accompanied by a set of diagnostic criteria and descriptive details.

JoVE Core
Hundreds of foundational biology concepts are explained through high-impact animations and real-life experimentation.

New Libraries Books: Psychology and Neuroscience

Find Additional Resources

AP Newsroom (EBSCO)
Photos from the Associated Press, illustrating major news events and important figures over the last 160 years.
ARTstor
Database of over one million high-quality images, useful not only for the fine arts but as a general image resource.

Social Explorer
Statistics about people, social characteristics, and the economy of the U.S., with Census data from 1790 to the present.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
Current statistics.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Statistics 1878-2012.
Statistical Insight
Comprehensive index for local, state, national, and international statistics. Contains interdisciplinary data and reports, and indexes older statistical publications held on microfiche (1973-present).

The Libraries' Statistics and Data guide provides additional resources.

Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) (EBSCO)
Provides access to information on questionnaires, interviews, checklists, scales, tests, and other measurements in the health fields and psychosocial sciences.
Mental Measurements Yearbook (EBSCO)
Information for evaluating tests, including descriptions, reviews, and references.
APA PsycTests (ProQuest)
A database of psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments, as well as descriptive information about each test and its development and administration.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses at The University of Colorado Boulder
Information about theses and dissertations from The University of Colorado Boulder and the University of Colorado System.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
Collection of dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day, with simple bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637. Contains both full-text and abstract only. Some indexing of Dissertations and Theses content included in Web of Science.

The Libraries' Find Dissertations & Theses Guide provides additional information.

One Search

Streaming Video

Psychology and Counseling (Alexander Street)
Video and text-based therapy sessions, documentaries, interviews, keynote presentations, transcripts, client narratives and psychological experiments.
Alexander Street (Alexander Street)
A search interface that provides access to audio, video, and text resources from Alexander Street Press.
Docuseek2 Complete Collection (Alexander Street)
Independent, documentary, and social issues films.
Kanopy
Kanopy offers over 8,500 streaming films, documentaries, educational and training videos from an array of producers and distributors including BBC Active and Criterion Collection/Janus films. All videos work on PCs with Flash, iPads, iPhones, and mobile devices.

Find Newspapers and News
The University Libraries provide access to newspapers online and in print. You may locate local, global, and historic news resources by following the links and instructions on this guide.

Ask A Librarian

Make an appointment

Chat with a Librarian

Email libraries@colorado.edu

Health & Human Sciences Librarian

Merinda McLure

She/Her

Contact:

merinda.mclure@colorado.edu

303-735-6968