The Engineering, Math and Physics Popular Science Reading Collection is a collection of best-selling and recommended books on STEM topics. I created this collection to add books written for a wider audience about STEM topics to the collection, in order to inspire interest, engagement, and new ideas.
Come browse this collection in the Engineering Math and Physics Library, on the western side of the main level. On this guide you can virtually browse the entire Engineering, Math and Physics Popular Science Reading Collection, in subject (or call number) order. I've also created a few curated lists of titles including:
The CU Boulder Libraries has other popular reading titles and guides to recommended reading.
Find more titles from the Gemmill Popular Science Reading Collection.
Beyond: The Astonishing Story of the First Human to Leave Our Planet and Journey into Space by 
Edison by 
Endurance: A Year in Space, A Lifetime of Discovery by 
Escaping Gravity: My Quest to Transform NASA and Launch a New Space Age by 
Every Tool's a Hammer: Life is What you Make It by 
Feynman by 
Fighting for Space: Two Pilots and Their Historic Battle for Female Spaceflight by 
Galileo and the Science Deniers by 
Go for Orbit: One of America's First Women Astronauts Finds Her Space by 
Handprints on Hubble: An Astronaut's Story of Invention by 
Hawking by 
Hedy's Folly: The Life and Breakthrough Inventions of Hedy Lamarr, the Most Beautiful Woman in the World by 
The Imitation Game: Alan Turing Decoded by 
Lab Girl by 
A Lab of One's Own: One Woman's Personal Journey Through Sexism in Science by 
Life on Other Planets: A Memoir of Finding My Place in the Universe by 
Losing the Nobel Prize: A Story of Cosmology, Ambition, and the Perils of Science's Highest Honor by 
Lucean Arthur Headen: The Making of a Black Inventor and Entrepreneur by 
Madame Chien-Shiung Wu: The First Lady of Physics Research by 
Making Contact: Jill Tarter and the Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence by 
My Remarkable Journey: A Memoir by 
A Passion for Space: Adventures of a Pioneering Female NASA Flight Controller by 
The Perfect Predator: A Scientist's Race to Save Her Husband from a Deadly Superbug: A Memoir by 
A Quantum Life: My Unlikely Journey from the Streets to the Stars by 
Radioactive: Marie & Pierre Curie, a Tale of Love & Fallout by 
Sally Ride: America's First Woman in Space by 
The Shape of a Life: One Mathematician's Search for the Universe's Hidden Geometry by 
Shuttle, Houston: My Life in the Center Seat of Mission Control by 
Starstruck: A Memoir of Astrophysics and Finding Light in the Dark by 
Stephen Hawking: A Memoir of Friendship and Physics by 
Tesla: Inventor of the Modern by 
The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage by 
The Woman Who Smashed Codes: A True Story of Love, Spies, and the Unlikely Heroine Who Outwitted America's Enemies by 
Zwicky: The Outcast Genius Who Unmasked the Universe by 
The Climate Book by 
Cobalt Red: How the Blood of the Congo Powers Our Lives by 
The Disordered Cosmos: A Journey into Dark Matter, Spacetime, and Dreams Deferred by 
Fables and Futures: Biotechnology, Disability, and the Stories We Tell Ourselves by 
Fear of a Black Universe: An Outsider's Guide to the Future of Physics by 
The Fight for Privacy: Protecting Dignity, Identity, and Love in the Digital Age by Fighting for Space: Two Pilots and Their Historic Battle for Female Spaceflight by 
Galaxy Girls: 50 Amazing Stories of Women in Space by 
Geek Girl Rising: Inside the Sisterhood Shaking up Tech by 
Hacking Diversity: The Politics of Inclusion in Open Technology Cultures by Hawking by 
Headstrong: 52 Women Who Changed Science-and the World by 
Hidden Figures: The Untold Story of the African American Women Who Helped Win the Space Race by 
Holding The Knife's Edge: Journeys of Black Female Scientists by The Imitation Game: Alan Turing Decoded by Lab Girl by A Lab of One's Own: One Woman's Personal Journey Through Sexism in Science by Life on Other Planets: A Memoir of Finding My Place in the Universe by Lucean Arthur Headen: The Making of a Black Inventor and Entrepreneur by 
Making Black Scientists: A Call to Action by My Remarkable Journey: A Memoir by 
NASA and the Long Civil Rights Movement by 
No One is Too Small to Make a Difference by 
Oak Flat: A Fight for Sacred Land in the American West by 
The Poisoned City: Flint's Water and the American Urban Tragedy by 
A Portrait of the Scientist As a Young Woman by A Quantum Life: My Unlikely Journey from the Streets to the Stars by 
Race After Technology: Abolitionist Tools for the New Jim Code by 
She Engineers: Outsmart Bias, Unlock your Potential, and Create the Engineering Career of your Dreams by Starstruck: A Memoir of Astrophysics and Finding Light in the Dark by Stephen Hawking: A Memoir of Friendship and Physics by 
Superior: The Return of Race Science by 
Technically Wrong: Sexist Apps, Biased Algorithms, And Other Threats of Toxic Tech by 
Unapologetically Dope: Lessons for Black Women and Girls on Surviving and Thriving in the Tech Field by 
X + Y: A Mathematician’s Manifesto for Rethinking Gender by Oak Flat: A Fight for Sacred Land in the American West by The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage by 
The Dialogues: Conversations about the Nature of the Universe by 
How To: Absurd Scientific Advice for Common Real-World Problems by 
Thing Explainer: Complicated Stuff in Simple Words by 
What If? 2: Additional Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions by The Imitation Game: Alan Turing Decoded by Feynman by Hawking by Radioactive: Marie & Pierre Curie, a Tale of Love & Fallout by 
Engineering in Plain Sight: An Illustrated Field Guide to the Constructed Environment by 
Moonbound: Apollo 11 and the Dream of Spaceflight by A Lab of One's Own: One Woman's Personal Journey Through Sexism in Science by The Disordered Cosmos: A Journey into Dark Matter, Spacetime, and Dreams Deferred by The Woman Who Smashed Codes: A True Story of Love, Spies, and the Unlikely Heroine Who Outwitted America's Enemies by 
Code Girls: The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II by 
Back to Earth: What Life in Space Taught Me About Our Home Planet--And Our Mission To Protect It by 
The Radium Girls: The Dark Story of America's Shining Women by Hedy's Folly: The Life and Breakthrough Inventions of Hedy Lamarr, the Most Beautiful Woman in the World by The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage by 
The Women of the Moon: Tales of Science, Love, Sorrow, and Courage by Holding The Knife's Edge: Journeys of Black Female Scientists by Headstrong: 52 Women Who Changed Science-and the World by Hidden Figures: The Untold Story of the African American Women Who Helped Win the Space Race by My Remarkable Journey: A Memoir by 
Broad Band: The Untold Story of the Women Who Made the Internet by 
Proving Ground: The Untold Story of the Six Women Who Programmed the World’s First Modern Computer by 
The Glass Universe: How the Ladies of the Harvard Observatory Took the Measure of the Stars by A Portrait of the Scientist As a Young Woman by Starstruck: A Memoir of Astrophysics and Finding Light in the Dark by Life on Other Planets: A Memoir of Finding My Place in the Universe by Making Contact: Jill Tarter and the Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence by Madame Chien-Shiung Wu: The First Lady of Physics Research by Radioactive: Marie & Pierre Curie, a Tale of Love & Fallout by Lab Girl by Geek Girl Rising: Inside the Sisterhood Shaking up Tech by Unapologetically Dope: Lessons for Black Women and Girls on Surviving and Thriving in the Tech Field by She Engineers: Outsmart Bias, Unlock your Potential, and Create the Engineering Career of your Dreams by Escaping Gravity: My Quest to Transform NASA and Launch a New Space Age by Fighting for Space: Two Pilots and Their Historic Battle for Female Spaceflight by A Passion for Space: Adventures of a Pioneering Female NASA Flight Controller by Galaxy Girls: 50 Amazing Stories of Women in Space by Sally Ride: America's First Woman in Space by Go for Orbit: One of America's First Women Astronauts Finds Her Space by Handprints on Hubble: An Astronaut's Story of Invention by 
Rise of the Rocket Girls: The Women Who Propelled Us, From Missiles to the Moon to Mars by Cobalt Red: How the Blood of the Congo Powers Our Lives by Holding The Knife's Edge: Journeys of Black Female Scientists by 
The Complete Guide to Absolutely Everything (Abridged): Adventures in Math and Science by 
How to Stay Smart in a Smart World: Why Human Intelligence Still Beats Algorithms by 
The Innovators: How a Group of Hackers, Geniuses, and Geeks Created the Digital Revolution by 
The Biggest Number in the World: A Journey to the Edge of Mathematics by Build a Mathematical Mind - Even If You Think You Can't Have One: Become a Pattern Detective. Boost Your Critical and Logical Thinking Skills by 
The Joy of Abstraction: An Exploration of Math, Category Theory, and Life by Starstruck: A Memoir of Astrophysics and Finding Light in the Dark by Life on Other Planets: A Memoir of Finding My Place in the Universe by A Quantum Life: My Unlikely Journey from the Streets to the Stars by 
On the Origin of Time: Stephen Hawking's Final Theory by The Climate Book by 
Why Am I Taller?: What Happens to an Astronaut's Body in Space by 
Time to Think Small: How Nimble Environmental Technologies Can Solve the Planet's Biggest Problems by 
When the Heavens Went on Sale: The Misfits and Geniuses Who Put Space Within Reach by 
Four Battlegrounds: Power in the Age of Artificial Intelligence by The Art of Avoiding Burnout: A Quickstart Guide from Exhaustion to Empowerment: Boosting Resilience and Productivity while Reducing Stress for Lasting Well-being by 
The Possibility of Life: Science, Imagination, and Our Quest for Kinship in the Cosmos by 
The Little Book of Exoplanets by 
A City on Mars: Can we settle space, should we settle space, and have we really thought this through? by 
Your BuffOne Card or photo ID will serve as your library card.
Current CU students, staff and faculty: most items up to 6 months
View all information about loan periods
The Libraries have other Popular Reading Collections and guides that recommend reading on specific topics.
