Research Guides: Medieval Art: Home

Ask A Librarian

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

Contact:

alex.watkins@colorado.edu

JSTOR
JSTOR is an online archive of scholarly materials and it searches articles through the full text, unlike many other databases. However JSTOR includes fewer journals on any specific subject than the subject databases does, and is lacking the most recent 5 years of articles.

Search the library's books and articles across discplines.

Library Catalog
A more focused database with just the library's books and ebooks.

The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Robert E. Bjork
ISBN: 9780198662624

The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages is a reference resource for all key aspects of European history, society, religion, and culture from circa 500 CE to circa 1500 CE. During this time, neighboring areas of Asia and North Africa greatly influenced and helped shape the civilization of the West. Relevant aspects of the Byzantine Empire, the Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples such as the Avars and the Mongols are also included in this work.

Oxford Art Online
Visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the present day. Includes the Grove Dictionary of Art, the best source for encyclopedia entries on artists, styles, periods, materials or techniques. Entries include extensive lists of sources.
Access note: Limited to 6 simultaneous users.

Brepolis Medieval & Early Modern Bibliographies

Secondary sources on the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500).
Iter Bibliography (EBSCO)

Interdisciplinary literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index

Index covering journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.

Index of Medieval Art
This collection includes images and descriptive data related to the iconography of works of art produced between late Antiquity and the sixteenth century.
ARTstor
Database of over one million high-quality images, useful not only for the fine arts but as a general image resource.