Research Guides: Art of Latin America: Indigenous Cultures

Ask A Librarian

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

Florentine Codex by Bernardino de Sahagun
Call Number: Online and Reference -- F1219 .S1319
ISBN: 9781607811565
History of the Indians of New Spain by Toribio Motolinia
Call Number: F1219.M922
Yucatan before and after the conquest by Diego de Landa
Call Number: Online | F1435.3.S7 L3613
The history of the Indies of New Spain by Diego Duran
Call Number: F1219.73.D8713
Book of the Gods and Rites and the Ancient Calendar by Diego Duran
Call Number: F1219. D9513
History and Mythology of the Aztecs: the Codex Chimalpopoca One of the great documents of colonial Mexico, the Codex Chimalpopoca chronicles the rise of Aztec civilization and preserves the mythology on which it was based. Its two complementary texts, Annals of Cuauhtitlan and Legend of the Suns, record the pre-Cortesian history of the Valley of Mexico together with firsthand versions of that region's myths. Of particular interest are the stories of the hero-god Quetzalcoatl, for which the Chimalpopoca is the premier source. The precise, readable translation not only contributes to the study of Aztec history and literature but also makes the codex an indispensable reference for Aztec cultural topics, including land tenure, statecraft, the role of women, the tribute system, warfare, and human sacrifice.
Call Number: F1219.56 .C62
The First New Chronicle and Good Government by Felipe Guaman Poma de Ayala
Popol Vuh
Call Number: Norlin Stacks - F1465 .P813
ISBN: 9781903816530

JSTOR
JSTOR is an online archive of scholarly materials and it searches articles through the full text, unlike many other databases. However JSTOR includes fewer journals on any specific subject than the subject databases does, and is lacking the most recent 5 years of articles.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures by David Carrasco (Editor)
Presenting the most up-to-date coverage on our knowledge of this society, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures is the first comprehensive and comparative reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, Colonial, and modern Mesoamerica.

Gale eBooks
Database of encyclopedia articles and other specialized reference resources from a variety of disciplines.
eHRAF World Cultures
In-depth information organized by cultures. Focuses mainly on pre-industrial cultures from around the world and on North American immigrant groups.
eHRAF Archaeology
Collection of archaeology texts organized by region and archaeological tradition.

Handbook of Middle American Indians
Call Number: Reference - F1434 .H3
Core resource with essays on all aspects of Mesoamerican indians as well as the contact period.

JSTOR
Digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
Hispanic-American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
Spanish-language journal articles from and about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Latinx people in the United States.
Bibliografa Mesoamericana
Mesoamerican Anthropology, Art, Architecture, Archaeology

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Searchable annotated bibliography of sources about Latin America.

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (EBSCO)
Index of works about American Indians from 1500 to the present.

FAMSI
Website with many research resources for mesoamerican art. Most importantly has digital reproduction of many key codices.
Mesolore
Presents digitized primary sources including codices and Spanish documents.

Studies in pre-Columbian art and archaeology
This series of books, published by Dumbarton Oaks, has many useful titles and publications for the study of pre-contact societies in Latin America.