Research Guides: JRNL 2401 Media Coverage of Diverse Populations (Chuang): Alternative / Ethnic Media

Ask A Librarian

Make an appointment

Chat, Call, Text

Email: libraries@colorado.edu

APRD, Communication, Journalism, and Media Studies Librarian

Stacy Gilbert

she/her

Email Me

Below is a selection of mostly current alternative/ethnic news media organizations with a focus on print and internet sites that create text articles. See a problem with the list? Contact Stacy [email].

Descriptions of the publications come from the database SRDS or the publication or resources' "about us" section. The publication often supplies its description to SRDS.

Current Alternative / Ethnic Print and Internet News Sources

Current Newspapers

Current Magazines

Current Internet News Sites

Black Girl Nerds
Black Voice News
Blavity
For Harriet Website has not been updated since 2018. For Harriet is an online community for Black women that seeks "to provide a thoughtful, collaborative alternative to mainstream media representations of Black womanhood" (For Harriet's Mission Statement, Jan. 2018).
The Grio
HelloBeautiful HelloBeautiful.com is where Black women go to talk about themselves shamelessly. We share, confess, indulge, encourage and celebrate each other — while indulging our guilty pleasures.
MadameNoire MadameNoire is a sophisticated lifestyle publication that gives African-American women the latest in fashion trends, black entertainment news, parenting tips and beauty secrets that are specifically for black women.
News One
The North Star *Requires a subscription. The North Star is a grassroots media company meaning that we will be whatever the community helps us become. We certainly have a vision for where we want to go. Our goal is to deliver rich, nuanced, colorful stories to a broad audience through a podcasting network, nightly news broadcasts, and a news website with original journalism and commentary from some of the top thinkers of our day.
The Root
Shondaland Shondaland.com operates as a part of the Hearst Digital Media Network and is an inclusive destination which features in-depth interviews, emotional and relatable essays, and smart unexpected culture coverage.
Andscape Covers sports, culture, and race
Zora by Medium Zora exists to provide thought-provoking content for and about women of color, contributed to by new and seasoned voices. It is a space where our grace, grit, spirit, and experiences are celebrated and valued.

Current Newspapers

AsAm News
Pacific Citizen
Rafu Shimpo The Rafu Shimpo is a Japanese American newspaper based in Los Angeles. It first began publishing in 1903.

Current Magazines and Internet News Sites

Hyphen Magazine
India Currents India Currents is an award-winning, nonprofit, nonpartisan, ethnic media organization focused on the Indian American community.
KoreAm
Mochi Magazine
NextShark
Zora by Medium Zora exists to provide thought-provoking content for and about women of color, contributed to by new and seasoned voices. It is a space where our grace, grit, spirit, and experiences are celebrated and valued.

Current Newspapers

Current Magazines

LGBT Magazine Archive (ProQuest) A searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBTQ+ interests, dating from the 1950s through to recent years.

The Advocate "A national gay and lesbian newsmagazine providing news, features, and arts and entertainment coverage"
Bitch Ceased publication but articles are still available. Magazine covering political events and pop culture with a feminist perspective
Ms. Ms. is an American liberal feminist magazine co-founded by second-wave feminists and sociopolitical activists Gloria Steinem and Dorothy Pitman Hughes. Its founding editors were Letty Cottin Pogrebin, Mary Thom, Patricia Carbine, Joanne Edgar, Nina Finkelstein, and Mary Peacock. (Wikipedia, 2/21/2019)
Out Magazine LGBT fashion, entertainment, and lifestyle magazine

Current Newspapers

Bay Area Reporter "The Bay Area Reporter is a free weekly newspaper serving the LGBT communities in the San Francisco Bay Area. It is one of the largest-circulation LGBT newspapers in the United States, and the country's oldest continuously published newspaper of its kind" (Wikipedia, 2/21/2019).

Current Internet News Sites

AfterEllen "AfterEllen works the lesbian/bi pop culture beat"
BUST "BUST provides an uncensored view on the female experience. BUST tells the truth about women's lives and presents a female perspective on pop culture."
Bustle "Bustle provides a fresh spin on news, entertainment, fashion, beauty, lifestyle, books, and any and all subjects that concern women."
Everyday Feminism "Everyday Feminism strives to end the everyday violence, discrimination, and marginalization used against people due to their gender, sexual orientation, race, and class by providing insights, articles and training to apply self-determination and feminism to everyday life."
Feministing A community website written by and for feminists
For Harriet Website has not been updated since 2018. For Harriet is an online community for Black women that seeks "to provide a thoughtful, collaborative alternative to mainstream media representations of Black womanhood" (For Harriet's Mission Statement, Jan. 2018).
Gay Mag by Medium
Human Parts by Medium
Instinct Instinct (ISSN 1096-0058) is a gay men's lifestyle magazine which was published from 1997 to 2015.
Jezebel "Jezebel is celebrity, fashion, and sex without the airbrushing. The site gives down and dirty details about celebrity, fashion and sex through uninhibited conversation in an alluringly witty tone."
LGBTQ Nation
The Lily The Lily was the first U.S. newspaper edited by and for women (Wikipedia, 2/21/2019)
The Mary Sue "The Mary Sue sits at the nexus of pop culture and the uncharted universe. It is an inclusive community of people who promote, watchdog, extoll, and celebrate women in venues where there are often too few."
OUT FRONT Founded in 1976, OUT FRONT is the nation’s second-oldest queer media company. We are dedicated to providing news and features content to and about LGBTQ folks, both in Colorado and worldwide.
Outsports Outsports is a sports news website focusing on LGBT issues and personalities in amateur and professional sports. The company was founded in 1999 by Cyd Zeigler, Jr. and Jim Buzinski.
Pride.com
Queerty Online magazine and newspaper covering gay-oriented lifestyle and news
Ravishly "A community for sharing what makes us tick and what ticks us off. We laugh. We cry. We do it all together. Because life is easier when you're not alone" (Ravishly, 2/21/2019).
Shondaland Shondaland.com operates as a part of the Hearst Digital Media Network and is an inclusive destination which features in-depth interviews, emotional and relatable essays, and smart unexpected culture coverage.
them them, a next-generation community platform, chronicles and celebrates the stories, people and voices that are emerging and inspiring all of us, ranging in topics from pop culture and style to politics and news, all through the lens of today’s LGBTQ community.
Towleroad Towleroad began in 2003 and is now a leading online news source offering a broad range of information on politics, pop culture, gay culture, media, entertainment, photography, fashion, technology, men, music, and travel.
Zora by Medium Zora exists to provide thought-provoking content for and about women of color, contributed to by new and seasoned voices. It is a space where our grace, grit, spirit, and experiences are celebrated and valued.

Current Newspapers

AL DÍA News Published in Philadelphia
El Nuevo Día Published in Puerto Rico
El Nuevo Herald Published in Southeast Florida
El Nuevo Heraldo Published in Browsville, Texas
La Opinión Published in Los Angeles

U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) Includes U.S. Hispanic Newsstream collection.

Current Magazines

Latina

Current Internet News Sites

HipLatina
Kweli Journal Online literary journal
Latina Lista
Latino Rebels
Latino USA from Futuro Media Futuro Media creates multimedia content for and about the new American mainstream in the service of empowering people to navigate the complexities of an increasingly diverse and connected world.
Remezcla
Zora by Medium Zora exists to provide thought-provoking content for and about women of color, contributed to by new and seasoned voices. It is a space where our grace, grit, spirit, and experiences are celebrated and valued.

Current Newspapers

Jewish Telegraphic Agency (JTA) Jewish & Israel News Chronicles modern Jewish history through news service articles dating from 1923 to the present.

The American Israelite
Florida Jewish Journal Covers South Florida's Jewish community
Intermountain Jewish News Covers the Jewish communities of the Front Range
The Jewish Advocate A weekly Jewish newspaper serving Greater Boston and the New England area
The Jewish Exponet Covers Philadelphia's Jewish community
The Jewish Journal of Greater Los Angeles A weekly newspaper serving the Jewish community of greater Los Angeles
The Jewish Week Covers the Jewish community in greater New York City

Current Internet News Sites

Forward

Current Newspapers

Ak-Chin O'odham Runner Paper from the Ak-Chin Indian Community, Maricopa, AZ
Char-Koosta News Official publication of the Flathead Indian Nation
Cherokee Phoenix
Chickasaw Times Official publication of the Chickasaw Nation
The Circle: Native American News and Arts
Hopi Tutuveni Newspaper Newspaper from the Hopi Tribe, Hopitutskwa, AZ
Indian Country Today
Indianz.Com Native American news, information and entertainment. Owned and operated by Ho-Chunk Inc., the economic development corporation of the winnebago tribe.
Lakota Times Newspaper from the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation, SD
National Native News
Native American Times
Native News Online
Navajo-Hopi Observer Serves the Navajo and Hopi Nations
Navajo Times
News from Native California News from Native California is a quarterly magazine published by Heyday and devoted to the vibrant cultures, art, languages, histories, social justice movements, and stories of California’s diverse Indian peoples.
Osage News Newspaper from Osage Nation, Pawhuska, OK

Radio

Native America Calling Native America Calling is a live call-in program linking public radio stations, the Internet and listeners together in a thought-provoking national conversation about issues specific to Native communities. Each program engages noted guests and experts with callers throughout the United States and is designed to improve the quality of life for Native Americans.
Native Voice One Native American Radio Network

Current Newspapers

Denver Voice
International Network of Street Papers Information on street papers and find street papers around the world
Street Roots News Covering Portland, Oregon
Streetwise Covering Chicago

Mainstream News' Ethnic and Minority Voices Section

CNN Latino
Fox News Latino
HuffPost: Asian Voices
HuffPost: Black Voices
HuffPost: Judaism
HuffPost: Latino Voices
HuffPost: Queer Voices
HuffPost: Religion
HuffPost: Women
New York Times: Hispanic-America News about Hispanic-Americans, including commentary and archival articles published in The New York Times. Hit a paywall? Create a NY Times account through our subscription.
New York Times: Race/Related Hit a paywall? Create a NY Times account through our subscription.
Washington Post: About Us Hit a paywall? Try to find the article through Factiva.

Newspaper Databases

Newspaper aggregators are databases that allow you to search a topic in multiple newspapers. The resource below have news and documentaries by underrepresented groups.

Ethnic NewsWatch (ProQuest) Periodicals of ethnic and minority presses. Articles written primarily by Black, Indigenous, Latinx, Asian & Pacific Islander, and Jewish people.
Ethnic Diversity Source (EBSCO) Collection of Scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, and primary sources, supporting Ethnic Studies.
Alternative Press Index (EBSCO) Database of journal, newspaper and magazine articlesfrom hundreds of international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Covers 1991-present. For 1969-1990, see Alternative Press Index Archive.
Access World News Research Collection (NewsBank) Online access to major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles. Also includes newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.

Independent Voices Collection (JSTOR) Collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals. Sub-collections includes Black American, Campus Underground, Feminist, GI Press, LGBT, Latino, Little Magazines, Native American, and Right-Wing.

Videos and Documentaries

Kanopy Kanopy offers over 8,500 films, documentaries, educational and training videos from an array of producers and distributors.
Alexander Street (Alexander Street) A search interface that provides access to audio, video, and text resources from Alexander Street Press.
Docuseek2 Complete Collection (Alexander Street) Independent, documentary, and social issues films.