Skip to Main Content

ITAL 4290: Italian Culture Through Cinema(Ardizzoni): Find Academic Sources

Library Databases

Through a library catalog, you can find all the materials owned by the library and all formats. Databases specialize on areas of knowledge. You can have a database of images (photography, paintings, architecture,) a database of videos and audio visuals and a database of news articles around the world. Many databases contain full text scholarly articles.

For our purpose, you will look at databases that include images, audio visuals and journal articles related to Film Studies and Italy.

 

Cartoon inspector with green jacket and hat holding a magnifying glass as it looks at a red question mark

Image by GraphicMama-team taken from Pixabay

Scholarly articles are published in Academic Journals. They are considered secondary sources because they provide commentary and analysis about primary sources. Primary sources relate to first hand creations such as films, archival papers, photography, manuscripts, government paper, diaries or things you might find in our Special Collections & Archives. In other words, primary sources refer to original sources.

 

 

Sources Covered Today

We will cover:

 Kanopi, flickr, ARTstor, and JSTOR.

Recommended Databases

Fall 2021: Libraries hours, service updates

All five campus libraries are now open. Read about open hours and other important service updates.

Combine Search Words

AND  link words by AND to search for all words in the same resource

OR  link words by OR to search for one word or another (instead of both/all words)

NOT  to eliminate results with a certain term

“Quotations” – add quotations to a group of two or more words to search for the exact phrase 

Working Off-Campus

Begin for the libraries homepage. Click on a library database or resource, follow the log-in screen instructions.

Access licensed resources  with your

identikey username and password.

authentication screen

Consider downloading a browser plugin for quick access to CU Library resources, wherever you are on the web.

Learn more about off-campus access.